News| ‘Have a life besides driving’: Death of private-hire driver a wake-up call, say those in industry

Muthucurry5678

Last time when uber was still here and have fare wars, chiong 15 hours a day think can get u about 12 to 15k pm

But for now, u chiong like this dont know can get 6 8k it not

This 1 really bo bian, grab is something u do then have momey. U coverting time to money

Last time i did grab part full time, means i after ft job, go drive grab FT
Dont think sit inside ac car, just drive very easy
Is shag like ****. I ever drive halfway and sleep with the passenger inside in expressway

Zinna

Freelance with no fixed hours is like that. Many think that can work another hour to get ~$30, then go work another hour until the day no more hours

Compared to other freelance with fixed hours, like those sing songs at gig, mostly work during evenings, or those freelance banquet mosrly work during meal times

MyWill

Blue collar also got split in to got skill and no skill one. You see those crane operators can earn 5 figures consistently. Tipper truck driver, cement driver, commercial diver all can earn a lot. If you do grab those are no skill set needed kind of blue collar work with low barriers to entry. Of course won’t earn a lot.
Are u sure on tipper truck and cement driver? 5 figures? I see them all south asian. U sure coy can hire so many many 5-figure salary workers?

TiedInsurer

Blue collar also got split in to got skill and no skill one. You see those crane operators can earn 5 figures consistently. Tipper truck driver, cement driver, commercial diver all can earn a lot. If you do grab those are no skill set needed kind of blue collar work with low barriers to entry. Of course won’t earn a lot.
You joking? Crane operator consistently 5 figures? If it's true i still waste so much time studying accounting for what lol. Will job hop now.

Anyway crane operator is about $4k.
https://sg.jobstreet.com/career-advice/role/crane-operator/salary

PikaPika33

Are u sure on tipper truck and cement driver? 5 figures? I see them all south asian. U sure coy can hire so many many 5-figure salary workers?
5 figures not sure

but class 4 and above pay better than class 3

Ethan_

thot this kinda thing, ppl would know automatically to not over exert themselves

but to some, they are still thinking of making more money to make ends meet

telling themselves nvm, they can take that extra hours w/o adequate rest

🤷‍♂️
Think impression from some, when it first started, it used to be that many can make a decent living driving normal. The extra hours are just for extra money. Can really earn a decent living.

But then later think the platform go change the income structure, reducing the earning, somewhat splitting the earning between base and incentives. Putting quite a heavy focus on incentives.

So, in order to make the same people have to work longer hours in order to hit the incentives, so that the combined income then look decent enough.

Not to mention the escalating cost of living, without much rise in income. Many then have to work more than before, in order to maintain a certain living standard.

Multiversal

And what u expect gahmen to do out of people who just insist on living in a gig economy because "its my dream." Who is the gahm

Use gun force companies to offer full time contracts? Gahmen dun run the companies. Companies bid for and gun for whoever has the best voice, lowest quote, best antics. This is real life private sector competition and it's always a race to the bottom.

wanna live hand to mouth being a satki emcee, then better start thinking how to value add ur portfolio during the days when you are not hosting!
These types of oppies will always blame the government for every thing and tell the whole wide world that we must vote PAP out.

And they voted the WP in to supposedly speak up for them, but when the LOTO is silent about this, he is also silent about that. He shant say, vote WP out. Not even if they told lies when they weren't quite so quiet.

On the part about emceeing and doing GRAB, both are jobs which have a great deal of freedom, not bound to fixed working hours, fixed working days. It's pretty much OTOT, and pays well per assignment, and there are people who want this kind of life. Can they save? Will they meet the Basic Retirement Sum when the time is due to join CPFLife? Never mind, if they don't have enough CPF, just blame PAP.

Maihiam

Impose a limit - full time driver not more than 12 hrs, part time not more than 6 hours of fare earning driving per day. Once limit is reached, driver cannot take any more calls. Imagine each hour of driving yields $20 net earnings, a full time driver can still earn up to $240 a day or more than $6K a month with some rest days included.

alvincy

Vicious cycle.

All drivers think high pay, own boss, OTOT, got car.......all chiong in to drive PHV...... then realized not so good but suck thumb liao signed contract so LL........... rental companies see wah rice bucket keep bidding for COE.........so now COE $100k...........then rental also high high, driver again LL suck thumb must drive longer hours.........

Racking2322

thot this kinda thing, ppl would know automatically to not over exert themselves

but to some, they are still thinking of making more money to make ends meet

telling themselves nvm, they can take that extra hours w/o adequate rest

🤷‍♂️
Think it's the red bull as well besides long hours

Racking2322

Impose a limit - full time driver not more than 12 hrs, part time not more than 6 hours of fare earning driving per day. Once limit is reached, driver cannot take any more calls. Imagine each hour of driving yields $20 net earnings, a full time driver can still earn up to $240 a day or more than $6K a month with some rest days included.
I know europe got this limit. Grab should adopt

khratit

Do health check regularly, eat healthier, exercise regularly and stay away from cigarettes
Health check up, loctor chop carrot - high blood

Eat healthy, ownself cook no time drive - no money

Stay away fr cigarettes, other people still smoke - drift downwards to your hdb

mcylo

This guy siao one. How can everyday drink 3 cans of red bull? He never learn in school meh? High sugar, high caffeine.
Maybe he drink sugar free version. Red Bull got less sugar and sugar free version now

mcylo

Really need to start reviewing all these incentives, and assess if it's unwittingly pushing drivers.

Just like playing game, the harder the challenge, the more chiu wanna push yourself to win, so that you can reap the rewards and maybe brag about it. 🤔
In the end he game over

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.