News| ‘Have a life besides driving’: Death of private-hire driver a wake-up call, say those in industry

fandango

Redbull: Ning lao hia. Nobuttie ask u drink our drink everyday. Dun simi sai also blame us ok. :mad:
This reminded me last time I BMT got one bunk mate. He always insist must drink 1 can of redbull before 2.4km IPPT run. Knn, he still run 15mins.

mcylo

Health check up, loctor chop carrot - high blood

Eat healthy, ownself cook no time drive - no money

Stay away fr cigarettes, other people still smoke - drift downwards to your hdb
Saw many texsi 佬 and Phver smoking…..死字不会写

mcylo

This reminded me last time I BMT got one bunk mate. He always insist must drink 1 can of redbull before 2.4km IPPT run. Knn, he still run 15mins.
He never train lah….drink red bull got wat use

coolmyth

In the end he game over

Unlike games, there is no save point or reset button in life.

Just read the driver no insurance also. At least from the PHV side. Hope to know more about how his family is coping. :(

starrynite138

Over work? If he drive 15 hours.. mean he have 9 hours of time to rest... I doubt is the driving that cause him this..

I see alot of hawker wake up 2 3 am to prepare close shop about 3 4pm.. then they ok?

I don't want to say things I don't know.. but 15 hours drive.. I doubt he don't rest in between..
Driving is different from hawker.
When one drive, have to be very focused and full concentration thru out the many hours. Situations change constantly and reflex has to be quick which is very tiring on the mind. Driving is also sitting down in the same position which make the body sore.
Hawker every day repeat the same steps over and over, mind is more relax and body is moving around.

Teyemittisi

thot this kinda thing, ppl would know automatically to not over exert themselves

but to some, they are still thinking of making more money to make ends meet

telling themselves nvm, they can take that extra hours w/o adequate rest

🤷‍♂️
Making ends meet sound too extreme for me. At least in sgp, we can survive without too much money. But the issue I believe is unfulfilled dreams .. since we are brought up in a generation to dare to dream.. yet realised all is too far away .. that’s what most of us are doing , slogging away to have that little bit more to fulfil whatever remaining bits parts of our dreams

TiedInsurer

Making ends meet sound too extreme for me. At least in sgp, we can survive without too much money. But the issue I believe is unfulfilled dreams .. since we are brought up in a generation to dare to dream.. yet realised all is too far away .. that’s what most of us are doing , slogging away to have that little bit more to fulfil whatever remaining bits parts of our dreams
He got two kids bro. You can survive without too much money, only if you BBFA.
When you become PHV driver, you've already accepted that your dreams are dead and buried. It's a dead end job with low earnings and no prospects.

reiser

This guy siao one. How can everyday drink 3 cans of red bull? He never learn in school meh? High sugar, high caffeine.
It’s to keep himself awake. I also drink 3 cups of coffee to keep myself awake every day.

Teyemittisi

He got two kids bro. You can survive without too much money, only if you BBFA.
When you become PHV driver, you've already accepted that your dreams are dead and buried. It's a dead end job with low earnings and no prospects.
I disagree. You can survive in sgp even with 2 kids. Just don’t expect enrichments or tuitions. His wife also can work part time. Tough ones are those with 5-6 kids

TiedInsurer

I disagree. You can survive in sgp even with 2 kids. Just don’t expect enrichments or tuitions. His wife also can work part time. Tough ones are those with 5-6 kids
Grab driver who don't exert themselves likely earn $4k approx (this is on a 60hr workweek, mind you). You try to survive on $4k, caring for 2 kids, paying housing loan out of pocket because no CPF, while still saving up a nest egg for retirement because no CPF.

Wife part time earn how much? $1k/mth already steal laugh. Maintain herself nia.

starrynite138

Deceased is a single father.
I think he could also be very lonely as don't a spouse to chit chat with after long hours of driving. Loneliness makes the heart ache.

Elfblade

The death of 49-year-old private-hire driver Gavin Neo from a stroke in May was a “wake-up call” for those in the industry looking to cash in on working long hours, some drivers say.

Friends said Mr Neo often spent up to 15 hours behind the wheel to provide for his teenage son and daughter.

Private-hire drivers CNA spoke to said that while they have the freedom to choose the number of hours they work, incentive structures set up by ride-hailing platforms - offering cash bonuses for completing more trips - can push them beyond their limits, and should be reviewed.

Other said however that it was also up to the individual to know their physical limits and not blindly chase after cash rewards.

Working long hours for more incentives was precisely what Mr Lincoln Khoo did when he joined ride-hailing platform Grab in January last year.

“For me it was very simple, the motivation to drive long hours is only one thing: Money, income,” said the 40-year-old, who drives part-time and does emceeing and hosting gigs as well.

“The more you drive, you will earn much more."

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...r-death-grab-gojek-tada-working-hours-5168916
Got money no health also jialek, have to strike a balance between both. RIP Mr Gavin Neo.

TiedInsurer

question we should all be concerned is why must he over work to support his 2 kids.

working normal hours, eg 40hrs/week not enough?

:( :( :(
40hrs/week, monthly earnings afetr expenses will be about $2.5k/mth, and no CPF.
Nowhere near enough.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.