LTA, please clarify whether ERP 2.0 OBU power consumption is too high??

wwenze

This OBU is as hot as my phone playing high graphics settings games. I really dunno what the heck is the OBU doing......... The coding or hardware must be super inefficient. Hope a brave soul will tear down the insides.
Solution: Don't put under sunlight

See LTA so smart!!!!!?

sinwah

Posted here https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...u-installed-it-take-up-battery-power.7134898/

Summarize here for awareness.

Just want to share what happened after I installed my OBU at Vicom.
  • 30 June: Installed the OBU.
  • 7 July: My 1.5-year-old battery died suddenly. Car couldn’t start, had to call roadside assistance for a jump. Workshop said I needed a new battery and diagnostic reset for all the “Christmas lights” on my dashboard.
  • 11 July: Went back to Vicom worried something wasn’t right. IU inspection technician discovered the previous installer had simply tapped the OBU wiring onto my dashcam power line (instead of the fuse box). Technician removed the wrong wiring and reconnected the OBU properly. An incident report was filed to LTA.
From there, I wrote to LTA to seek compensation. Took 51 days, spoke to 5 different CSOs, and only after multiple escalations did the case start moving after involving their higher echelon.

Progress Updates:
  • 27 Aug: After pushing harder, finally got a reply + follow-up call.
  • 28 Aug: LTA officer called, spent 50 mins verifying details, promised to expedite.
  • 29 Aug: Officer asked me to bring the vehicle back to Vicom for further checks.
  • 1 Sept: Big surprise — 10 people from LTA, Mitsubishi, and Vicom inspected my car together. They confirmed my concerns, and Mitsubishi even corrected the earlier poor wiring job. All acknowledged my case was valid. Still waiting for official report.
  • 3 Sept: LTA replied by email (no formal letter/report). Their stance:
    • In theory, OBU sharing power with other devices shouldn’t drain the battery, but this is not part of the approved training/manual.
    • Direct fuse box connection remains the only approved and tested method.
    • Acknowledged the Vicom installer didn’t follow procedure.
    • Recommended Vicom compensate me (which they eventually did).
My take:
  • Root cause: installer error + poor supervision (Vicom) + procedural oversight (LTA).
  • LTA’s theory about shared power not causing drain isn’t backed by real-life testing, so long-term effects on battery lifespan are still unknown.
  • What worries me more is how many other cars may have been wired wrongly — this can cause flat batteries, or worse, electrical shorts/fire risks.
Final outcome: Vicom reimbursed me. But honestly, the whole experience showed:
  • Inadequate pre-installation checks
  • Lack of installer competency
  • Slow handling and poor communication
  • Weak accountability until I escalated to higher management
ERP 2.0 is a national project. For it to succeed, all parties (installers, Vicom, LTA) need to take their roles seriously and make sure every OBU is installed safely and correctly.

If you’ve already installed your OBU, maybe check during your next inspection to make sure it’s wired directly to the fuse box. Better safe than sorry.

kuti

If installed incorrectly, will it catch fire?

Got safety risk or not?

Mystyque

And for motorbike don't put it under the rain. The obu got 13 holes facing up. :s22:

Guess that’s another reason why it isn’t robust enough to install inside cars… won’t work if car flooded :crazy:

Toiletpaper80

Posted here https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...u-installed-it-take-up-battery-power.7134898/

• 7 July: My 1.5-year-old battery died suddenly. Car couldn’t start, had to call roadside assistance for a jump. Workshop said I needed a new battery and diagnostic reset for all the “Christmas lights” on my dashboard.
  • 11 July: Went back to Vicom worried something wasn’t right. IU inspection technician discovered the previous installer had simply tapped the OBU wiring onto my dashcam power line (instead of the fuse box). Technician removed the wrong wiring and reconnected the OBU properly. An incident report was filed to LTA.
From there, I wrote to LTA to seek compensation. Took 51 days, spoke to 5 different CSOs, and only after multiple escalations did the case start moving after involving their higher echelon.

Progress Updates:
  • 28 Aug: LTA officer called, spent 50 mins verifying details, promised to expedite.
  • 29 Aug: Officer asked me to bring the vehicle back to Vicom for further checks.
  • 1 Sept: Big surprise — 10 people from LTA, Mitsubishi, and Vicom inspected my car together. They confirmed my concerns, and Mitsubishi even corrected the earlier poor wiring job. All acknowledged my case was valid. Still waiting for official report.
    • In theory, OBU sharing power with other devices shouldn’t drain the battery, but this is not part of the approved training/manual.
My take:
  • Root cause: installer error + poor supervision (Vicom) + procedural oversight (LTA).
  • LTA’s theory about shared power not causing drain isn’t backed by real-life testing, so long-term effects on battery lifespan are still unknown.
  • What worries me more is how many other cars may have been wired wrongly — this can cause flat batteries, or worse, electrical shorts/fire risks.
ERP 2.0 is a national project. For it to succeed, all parties (installers, Vicom, LTA) need to take their roles seriously and make sure every OBU is installed safely and correctly.

If you’ve already installed your OBU, maybe check during your next inspection to make sure it’s wired directly to the fuse box. Better safe than sorry.
If u wan LTA to react faster, need to post on social media, to gain traction

yaoxiukia

Funfact, yaoxiukia was in the other bidding team for ERP2. Our tender price double of the current winner but that is because we follow the tender specs closely where it dictate OBU will be exposed to sunlight and heat and deeming it as a mini computer, it should be able to withstand. We and our partners from germany, austria, america source for materials and come out with the design, yes those partners are powerhouse in computing, industrial computing, road tolling design and submit the bid. When we see the final release price, we know for sure the awarded competitor cut corners, it can never be so cheap fulfiling all that requirements. I know some will say their awarded tender price of 500m is not cheap, but if any one of you read the specs, will know for sure 500m confirm can't do it. How many cars are there in singapore and not to forget the cost of getting car workshops to install the OBU at a fast pace to speed up the deployment and the network infrastructure behind. The project is doom to fail right from the start. Those scholars who kick off this back then, well they are already promoted and happily either retire by now or in some high rank somewhere.

anchoraz

If cpu too hot, wait burn whole car hw?

Mayb ur coe is 30k last time buy, then kena burn. Will they pay u another new car with 100k coe?

Less likely and will blame ur car underlying condition. Better dun risk.

U r driving the world's most expensive car jus like driving a gold bar around.

Asphodeli

How come mine got that SG60 ndp splash screen?

It got ota downloading capabilities?
bruh the minute LTA says the OBU can recieve real time traffic update means got some sort of SIM card insai liao lor...of course can download info

dev_stg_prd

Progress Updates:
My take:

how much they compensation you>

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.