How come so double standard? Food for thought. Lai discuss

IAmChiobu12M

Must be chiobu then can think of such things. If not, then how to even food for thought? :X
Not chiobu. Nor have many suitors. Just that this topic has been getting louder in my head. And I'm legit curious what's the opinions of others.

priore

I quote:
"In life we are always told that we need to have variations and cannot be too narrow minded.

Yet when comes to romantic relationship/marriage, we suddenly have to be loyal to one (some even believe till death do us part)"

The mistake you made in your argument is lack of context. U made the assumption that" in life we are always told we need to variations" and u extend that to every context - and str8 up assuming ur statement was correct in the first place.

Who's the "we"? Someone told u = everybody was told = universal life principle?

No one told me "we need variations" in life though. But I was told "change is the only constant" , in the context of work.

---

Here's an example:

in life, I'm always told food is food. U eat to sustain life. I buy coffee at $1, why can't chicken rice also be $1? It's invariably food right? Why I go Tim Ho wan the menu cannot everything be $1? It's all. "food" isnt it?

---

U see how lack of context makes my argument sounds ridiculous?

Godeau

I think it's the same as well for expectations of men vs women... Some people are stuck in old ways but ironically expect the other party to bend over to their western values

coolhead

I need clarity.
It was common for our parents generation to stay at one job.

If one partner is not good enough for you, how many do you need? I think from the pov that you don't intend to have kids, the world suddenly presents you with many opportunities.

IAmChiobu12M

I quote:
"In life we are always told that we need to have variations and cannot be too narrow minded.

Yet when comes to romantic relationship/marriage, we suddenly have to be loyal to one (some even believe till death do us part)"

The mistake you made in your argument is lack of context. U made the assumption that" in life we are always told we need to variations" and u extend that to every context - and str8 up assuming ur statement was correct in the first place.

Who's the "we"? Someone told u = everybody was told = universal life principle?

No one told me "we need variations" in life though. But I was told "change is the only constant, in the context of work.

---

Here's an example:

in life, I'm always told food is food. U eat to sustain life. I buy coffee at $1, why can't chicken rice also be $1? It's invariably food right? Why I go Tim Ho wan the menu cannot everything be $1? It's all. "food" isnt it?

---

U see how lack of context makes my argument sounds ridiculous?
Not bad at least someone really counter with something worth discussing.

IAmChiobu12M

It was common for our parents generation to stay at one job.

If one partner is not good enough for you, how many do you need? I think from the pov that you don't intend to have kids, the world suddenly presents you with many opportunities.
True, maybe ultimately my question only means 2 thing.

1. I have never experienced healthy good romantic relationship that allows me to want to commit and believe it will work.

2. I just don't have the capacity or interest in relationships and money is the only thing that matters to me. Which I'm seriously lacking.

trd_charlie

Not really how humans inherently think but how we are being mentally conditioned and reinforced by social constructs since birth. Monogamy, law, moral values, capitalism etc. If a baby is brought up with the society accepting polygamy as the norm, baby will grow up to believe polygamy is the right thing. We are subconsciously being shaped by society everyday without us realising it.

lampano

In life we are always told that we need to have variations and cannot be too narrow minded.

Yet when comes to romantic relationship/marriage, we suddenly have to be loyal to one (some even believe till death do us part)

And it seems like this idea is very shocking to many.

In reality, even work alone, you have different coworkers for different functions. Personal life, you have different passion, or friends too.

A simple example, you won't expect your hairstylist to be able to be your fitness instructor, your beautician to be a doctor to give you mc when you sick.

Yet when suddenly when you are with someone, this person has to commit to you fully, emotionally, mentally, physically, financially etc.

Suddenly both of your life has to come together as one.

Not finding excuses for men to cheat. But as a female I too think is impossible to only have 1 person. And in before, people will say stay with one, not suitable break properly then move on. Not wrong. But just curious and let's discuss.

Same for work, you won't expect your boss to only groom you alone right? So long he's giving you good enough to continue your career you will not care how he treat other people right? Or as a boss, you also won't expect your employee only commit to your project and give you 100% forever right?

In before very transactional. But since when life is about relationships, and how many times relationship ends well?
you many thoughts and really complicated leh. hahahaha.
think too much:o

这样下去不行啦

Southern Lights

In life we are always told that we need to have variations and cannot be too narrow minded.

Yet when comes to romantic relationship/marriage, we suddenly have to be loyal to one (some even believe till death do us part)

And it seems like this idea is very shocking to many.

In reality, even work alone, you have different coworkers for different functions. Personal life, you have different passion, or friends too.

A simple example, you won't expect your hairstylist to be able to be your fitness instructor, your beautician to be a doctor to give you mc when you sick.

Yet when suddenly when you are with someone, this person has to commit to you fully, emotionally, mentally, physically, financially etc.

Suddenly both of your life has to come together as one.

Not finding excuses for men to cheat. But as a female I too think is impossible to only have 1 person. And in before, people will say stay with one, not suitable break properly then move on. Not wrong. But just curious and let's discuss.

Same for work, you won't expect your boss to only groom you alone right? So long he's giving you good enough to continue your career you will not care how he treat other people right? Or as a boss, you also won't expect your employee only commit to your project and give you 100% forever right?

In before very transactional. But since when life is about relationships, and how many times relationship ends well?
Now I know why you still single. I hope you don't end up like 🦆 👀.

IAmChiobu12M

Married the right one just stay true to one can liao. Simple life. Y make thgs so complicated with more ppl?
Why more means more complicated? 1 is more complicated isn't it?

This sole one human must be right in so many ways with you. Suddenly expectations and stakes become so high.

IAmChiobu12M

you many thoughts and really complicated leh. hahahaha.
think too much:o

这样下去不行啦
Maybe now brain power ram running at maximum speed. Let's hope it slows down or just explode sua. But really is think a lot meh. To me is just simple thoughts that I'm legit curious.

IAmChiobu12M

Not really how humans inherently think but how we are being mentally conditioned and reinforced by social constructs since birth. Monogamy, law, moral values, capitalism etc. If a baby is brought up with the society accepting polygamy as the norm, baby will grow up to believe polygamy is the right thing. We are subconsciously being shaped by society everyday without us realising it.
So what do you believe?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.