Are S’poreans losing jobs to outsourcing? Most seem to think we’ve lost our regional edge

Asphodeli

the people i know, in the entire group, there are 50% of them opposite from your observations. many rely on 1 skill, and think that the skill can feed them till they retire, and want to leech company benefits till gao gao
can you imagine a mother tell me company benefit outpatient 1200 a year, she say not enough, she go and demand more from the boss....
and another mum will be proudly discussing chinese period drama in WA group during official working hours, and say cos she WFH so she can finish the entire chinese period drama in 3 days

there is another group of 50% who are damn hardworking, but some are just suay and picked the wrong career path..
siao ehs i WFH chiong game and go orchard road shopping also nv declare in my coy WA group siol...

106gunner

Dear all,

I hope every one are clear minded. Apparently there are many retailers and shops closing. There are many business relocating the operations and Jet star is one of those.

In simplicity, Singapore is getting expensive for everyone, including the businesses.

Where do these money flows?

COL is rising, cost of doing business is rising, but where do these money go?

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead... Let us take Singapore forward together.
Thank you.

Yes and with high cost and & upcoming RTS, the situation likely will worsen

Holytyphoon

I read some edmwers say before

Foreigners come here work to get trained then they go back to their countries and then compete against Singapore
Well, if the breaking point is not going to happen within the minister cycle of portfolio period, who cares, jus import more ft and hit the kpi, take money take bonus and hoard.
When it eventually collapse, its not them who gonna suffer anyway. They already hoard huge stash.

grevq80o

https://mustsharenews.com/singaporeans-losing-jobs/

The reason is that their technical ability and language skills are apparently on par with Singaporeans, while their cost is only one-third that of a worker in Singapore.

A Reddit user agreed, saying they once worked at a company where Malaysians comprised 90% of the staff before the company eventually outsourced the roles overseas.

We at edmw hv been talking abt tis for ages. With users sharing experiences of their companies n trends.

With costs soaring in sg. Alot of companies now outsource some depts to other countries n just keep a small office presence in sg. Or totally shift there.

Plus some bosses realised. In sg also employ Malaysians. Higher costs etc. Y not go there n hire them n pay them lower in rm? Save millions annually😂

N the education part. Sg education is rated better n uni rankings r higher. But y then those supposedly from lousier education n lower rankings uni on par with sg workers?

N always say sg no talents. Sg education fail?
Sg education for KPI only. Simi times higher education ranking etc... ish for reputation.

Reality of long term employment goes more than ur degree. Ish a lot to do with gov policies.

VEF888

what edmw will focus on is when a couple of these companies shift or downsize. they see one move and think the whole hub is doomed. no sense the broader ecosystem

eg, many edmw-ers might think the lifescience and biotech hub is a flop, but those who are aware know the effort edb put in to bring in the pioneers. from just a handful to now dozens, have seen so many local directors in one firm rise to md roles in another.

waters, thermo fisher, affymetrix, illumina, revvity, biorad. they're all here. these companies don't just set up shop. they do r&d, build instruments that sell for 50k each and up.

to be a biotech hub, you need more than buildings. it takes years of aligned policy, investing in research, training scientists, shaping uni courses to fit industry needs. this isn't something you replicate in 5 or even 10 years.

same story for aerospace bah, if you know you know. if you don't, you don't.

misterGomez

BTW TS, what edge do we have?? We used to have that edge of having a 'free' access for companies but HK did it better cos of zero tax, now SG is a very expensive place to rent or do business

AndroidComa

Sg education for KPI only. Simi times higher education ranking etc... ish for reputation.

Reality of long term employment goes more than ur degree. Ish a lot to do with gov policies.
sg schools is rely on tuition teachers one
2 bil dollar industry leh
sg school u send the kids there teachers are basically baby sitters

Chunchunmaru

Singaporeans have lost the iron and hunger that hauled this country out of third world within 30 years when it was first formed.

And it isn't just the younger generation. Even mine, those in their 40s and 50s.

We are effectively fighting a losing war at this stage. As the prices of things creep up, so do our salaries in a desperate attempt to manage costs. And the more expensive labour and rental here gets, the easier the decision for companies to shift out of SG.

I'd put half the blame on globalization and the other half on individuals not willing/unable, for whatever personal reasons, to climb higher up the food chain in terms of skillsets. Because there's only so much you can do in a personal capacity versus the golden era of technology.

All I can say is, find and learn a skill that makes you indispensable; something the regionals won't be able to replicate. Or migrate with what skillsets you have that are valuable to other countries.

Because our locals may very well one day face the same levels of discontent we're seeing in Korea, China, Hong Kong and to a certain extent, Taiwan. Outpriced of everything, unable to afford entry level homes, stagnated salaries, too many white collar graduates for too few jobs. The writing has been on the wall for a long time in this city state.

Failing which, live simply, save well, and plan your retirement in Malaysia.

1st sinkies lose out to influx of fts

then now lose out to ji-long-zai as many jobs outsource toyin-dor

in the near future sinkies and all humans will lose out to lobuts...... aka ai

Joe Mahmood

Answer to your question - YES.

We are losing every bit of all jobs! Soon we have to eat grass or West North Wind...

Too costy and expensive for operation costs in sg...

Other neighbouring countries are catching up. is a fact ok
The first big mistakes that SG Government did was thinking SG no need to have farm land. "A country without its own food is a poor country". Now SG imported practically everything from food to manpower. We will grow hungry when the food stop coming to SG. You can't eat the paper SGD to feed the nation.

The second is the value of SGD is too high. Back then when SGD & RM was same value until mid 80s SG was doing very well too. Plenty of foreign Investors because Singaporeans back then too are considered by foreign investors as well educated hence attracted many foreign investments. The population was only 2.5 million.

dambio

actually as long as biz decide to outsource some functions to other countries, doesnt only affect singaporeans. but anyone including prs n foreigners that are working in the company.
D earlier pr grp not affected much as they alr rich, made their money, got alot of cpf. Some alr shaking leg back in their motherland while collecting rent in sg.

Akky85

to serve the people in office is the highest honor and privilege that transcends personal money 💵 concerns - how can our government leaders be so money 💵 hungry/minded then how to trust them?
I think some amount should be a norm but not at our current level. It's nearing obscenity.

Whimsica

15-20 years of sinkies hiring foreigners.

The damage is too deep.

Good luck to their children and grandchildren, who are already speaking with "youtube" accent and prefer their maids or laoshi than their own laopeh laobus.

Ubi-Warrior

Unfortunately I don't see their policies as pro singaporeans

Paying companies to come is the policy , however at some point shouldnt they be producing a Singapore Company or two to go global.

Especially services where you dont need any manufacturing.

Why couldnt Singapore produced their own?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.