Are S’poreans losing jobs to outsourcing? Most seem to think we’ve lost our regional edge

dambio

Whose fault is it lol? COL here so high due to this landlord economy we are living in, don't raise our pay expect us to live paychecks-to-paychecks without accumulating savings for rainy days meh?

In the 1st place, if COL not so high then we can make do with less pay but with how high it is cannot be don't raise our pay accordingly. After all, we supposed to live and retire here thus need to buy house and be prepared for old-age when our body functions slow down and require healthcare more extensively.

Insurance Premiums keep on rising , almost everywhere also charging for parking, etc.

The expats (e.g upper management/HODs, etc.) from the MNC/Big Banks' HQ also cause more to subsidize, since monthly condo and car-rentals, etc. also skyrocketing now alongside with office space rental costs.

Let them all move out, then may one day will see beggars flood the entire streets. Perhaps our million-dollar salaries ministers and their cronies will wake up their ideas.

At the rate things are going, perhaps 1 day become similar to China where labour market becomes like a gig economy. University graduates shifting in-between contract roles, or just full-time platform workers (e.g Grab, etc.)
Gov will say go upskill in skills future, got cpf payout when old, can use ur hdb as retirement asset which means downgrade n sell to d next sarker.

Joe Mahmood

Whose fault is it lol? COL here so high due to this landlord economy we are living in, don't raise our pay expect us to live paychecks-to-paychecks without accumulating savings for rainy days meh?

In the 1st place, if COL not so high then we can make do with less pay but with how high it is cannot be don't raise our pay accordingly. After all, we supposed to live and retire here thus need to buy house and be prepared for old-age when our body functions slow down and require healthcare more extensively.

Insurance Premiums keep on rising , almost everywhere also charging for parking, etc.

The expats (e.g upper management/HODs, etc.) from the MNC/Big Banks' HQ also cause more to subsidize, since monthly condo and car-rentals, etc. also skyrocketing now alongside with office space rental costs.

Let them all move out, then may one day will see beggars flood the entire streets. Perhaps our million-dollar salaries ministers and their cronies will wake up their ideas.

At the rate things are going, perhaps 1 day become similar to China where labour market becomes like a gig economy. University graduates shifting in-between contract roles, or just full-time platform workers (e.g Grab, etc.)
Too bad its too late now to revert the situation if not...

1. SG need to grow its own food so other country will not be able to control our economy.

2. I can see even if SGD and RM same value there will be plenty of foreign investments in SG to stay here for a long time. However, its too late now. I don't think SG Gov want to "LOSE FACE" by bringing down the sgd value...BIG MALU for them.

dambio

Sg education for KPI only. Simi times higher education ranking etc... ish for reputation.

Reality of long term employment goes more than ur degree. Ish a lot to do with gov policies.
Not forgetting d millions annually they give out in scholarships to foreigners. N hence depriving a local born a place in our own uni too. Then tis local borns went abroad to study n some nv came back.

wongwings

PAP has run out of ideas. They always rinse and repeat, the scholars and ministers only care about the dollar sign. Giving out vouchers, frequent upgrading and importing cheap foreign labour to churn the economy is all they know.

Ubi-Warrior

Not forgetting d millions annually they give out in scholarships to foreigners. N hence depriving a local born a place in our own uni too. Then tis local borns went abroad to study n some nv came back.

This policy I really do not understand it.

If University wanna give scholarship , so be it , but Govt to do , is slap in face of the kids here

Ubi-Warrior

PAP has run out of ideas. They always rinse and repeat, the scholars and ministers only care about the dollar sign. Giving out vouchers, frequent upgrading and importing cheap foreign labour to churn the economy is all they know.

Havent had an original thought in 30 yrs.

Educational and Political Groupthink.

How to have a new idea?

Mr Totoro 38

The first big mistakes that SG Government did was thinking SG no need to have farm land. "A country without its own food is a poor country". Now SG imported practically everything from food to manpower. We will grow hungry when the food stop coming to SG. You can't eat the paper SGD to feed the nation.

The second is the value of SGD is too high. Back then when SGD & RM was same value until mid 80s SG was doing very well too. Plenty of foreign Investors because Singaporeans back then too are considered by foreign investors as well educated hence attracted many foreign investments. The population was only 2.5 million.
To me, the biggest mistake the garhment make is they never bother to take good care of local born sinkies, instead they betray us by doing all the imports of fts.

they NEVER consider us how we coping with high COL, limited job competition with FTs and worst keep pushing us to the edges and make us keep suffering!

so that’s why the nation DECLINES and lost its competitiveness edge and worse of all, the good talented local born one are also moving away!

we will keep on declining and for sure others are continuing and confirming over take us!

we will lost our shire and everything for sure!

Cashflow202

ever wonder why lesser prc in SG these days?

because if they are truly talented, Shanghai Shenzhen etc are their place and pays better.

and what happens to SG. lesser prc.

now repeat for a few more large countries and suddenly our brain drain will be worst than all of them combined.

one doesn't need to look further than Batam funtasy island to see what could happen when expat stops coming in.

even blue collars are choosing other nearby countries

Wstc333

They're just here becos of village. Use sg as stepping stone to somewhere better. Get rich n go back. Bottom of d barrel.
Ya alot of them don't have any sense of responsibility for their work. I have fired those before 🤣

stanlawj

eg, many edmw-ers might think the lifescience and biotech hub is a flop, but those who are aware know the effort edb put in to bring in the pioneers. from just a handful to now dozens, have seen so many local directors in one firm rise to md roles in another.

waters, thermo fisher, affymetrix, illumina, revvity, biorad. they're all here. these companies don't just set up shop. they do r&d, build instruments that sell for 50k each and up.

to be a biotech hub, you need more than buildings. it takes years of aligned policy, investing in research, training scientists, shaping uni courses to fit industry needs. this isn't something you replicate in 5 or even 10 years.

same story for aerospace bah, if you know you know. if you don't, you don't.
But the jobs there go to whom? The high paying jobs go to whom??

Wstc333

D earlier pr grp not affected much as they alr rich, made their money, got alot of cpf. Some alr shaking leg back in their motherland while collecting rent in sg.
That's true. The impact to these are not as great as us

dambio

If University wanna give scholarship , so be it , but Govt to do , is slap in face of the kids here
Keep d unis afloat mah. Hope d foreigners come study n stay here. Get a job here n settle down here.

Plus more research papers pushes up d rankings.

Yea it's moe who does it. But ppl r fine with tis.

krikering

Gov will say go upskill in skills future, got cpf payout when old, can use ur hdb as retirement asset which means downgrade n sell to d next sarker.

Everything here is tied to Real Estate, even retirement also ask people to sell of house and downsize.

ever wonder why lesser prc in SG these days?

because if they are truly talented, Shanghai Shenzhen etc are their place and pays better.

and what happens to SG. lesser prc.

now repeat for a few more large countries and suddenly our brain drain will be worst than all of them combined.

one doesn't need to look further than Batam funtasy island to see what could happen when expat stops coming in.

even blue collars are choosing other nearby countries

Ya alot of them don't have any sense of responsibility for their work. I have fired those before 🤣
SG is just a stepping stone for them, their eventually aim are US/UK/Australia, etc.

dambio

Good job. But ur company hr not controlled by them Liao?😂

Alot will just do d bare minimum la. They come for sgd Oni. Alot of companies r feeding jlbs. I dun understand y. They so rich?

Mr Totoro 38

Ya lor is true

some of my poly friends and classmates chao to overseas for uni studie.

ALL never return and they are doing well overseas!!

focus1974

TLDR: Singapore's high costs (strong SGD, high rent, high salaries) are pushing jobs offshore to cheaper Malaysia (for SMEs seeking proximity) and India (for MNCs seeking scale/cost). While Singapore promotes "higher-value" jobs and upskilling via SkillsFuture, and SME productivity via IT grants, critics argue these initiatives lack transparent metrics on actual job placements or retention in relevant roles, and often don't outweigh the immediate cost benefits of offshoring for businesses. The fear is a real risk of unemployment for mid-tier professionals if job creation at the "higher" end doesn't keep pace or if retraining isn't effectively translating into jobs.

Mr Totoro 38

Ar ya…

use our tax payer money to woo them to vote for them lor.
Give them red carpets and Sayang them to make them stay back lor…

is all for their selfish agenda la! NOT for sinkies at all!

dambio

Ya lor is true

some of my poly friends and classmates chao to overseas for uni studie.

ALL never return and they are doing well overseas!!
Our own talents lost due to own gov policy. While we train other countries workers who come here. N then they bring d knowledge they learnt here back n benefits their motherland.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.