At his mother's behest, he married a 26-year-old Chinese national within weeks of being introduced. He was 53 and never intended to get married

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Geminiboy

Jialat, SG is just a stepping stone in the eye of many foreigners. Many came for the sake of making money and getting PR. If things goes south, simply pack up and leave.
if things go south, leave the country. if go up and make money, leave the husband .

EDMW-Hates-Me

In Singapore, the son should have no worries about money. The government will arrange something, even if it is a nursing home where the fees are waived ie fully subsidised and paid for by the government and various charities/agencies.

The tragedy is the son who is alive yet without a life, and living like a vegetable.
The extra chromosome might be down syndrome. Very suay if they did the prenatal tests, but didn't detect this. Anyway, the boy is under MINDS. Some of them are some of the happiest people, oblivious to the cruel world, getting their simple favourite food can make their day.

helloicanseeu

If the kid ish created with a man she loves, a woman die die also will protect one even if he is a 渣男。:o
in china, the kid isnt valued if she/he isnt normal, that's how practical they are, unlike in the west, nobody wants to care for a special child in china society.

divorce rates in china is at a sky high and is often initiated by the women, remarrying is such a common thing, she believes she can find a better partner and get a better bargain while she still has youth, and there's sense in that belief.

sunnyisandsingapore

Some people say that a child is a child only when he pops out, but others would argue that life begins inside the womb at the moment of conception.

If one takes the latter view, as indeed the Chinese, for that's why they count the baby's age as one year old on the day it pops out, then abortion is as good as a mother abandoning her child, albeit unborn. You would be asking "How can" a countless number of times, and the answer would be, it's a burden to keep the child. Just kill it and get it over with.

Even some mothers would bundle up her baby, already born, and chuck it into a rubbish chute.

In old Singapore, it was not unknown for mothers to give away their babies because they could not afford to raise it, and they already had perhaps ten to a dozen. If no family could be found to take the baby, then they would just leave the baby outside the gate that today is no longer locked....CHIJ on Victoria Street. When one of the sisters opened the gate the next morning, she would see that bundle and take over the bringing up of the reluctant orphan.
Yes ur correct to say in old Singapore, it's not uncommon for mothers to give away their babies. My late grandma born in the 1930s, gave away her first born daughter, out of poverty. In total, my grandma had 10 children. Did she regret? Yes. She and my uncles searched for the 1st sibling until she passed away. But no luck. 😥

chaiscool

Genetic or chromosome abnormalities can be detected with amniocentesis.
During ultrasound, a sample of the mom's amniotic fluid is extracted via poking a syringe in the belly, it takes a few mins and results will be out in abt 2-3 wks.
Is it default everyone get tested or by choice?
Did you check with Gemini or ChatGPT or Deepseek, or are you a medical professional? In just 3 lines, you showed deep knowledge of what an O and G does. Impressive!
Why can't it be by experience of having kids? Seems odd for the choices to only be ai or professional.

Krabs.

that year already after beijing olympic
mainlanders stood proudly on the world stage

still have ATB marry poor old sg male ?

Monstruo^

the more i read the more i dont feel sorry for him

1. he is the one who decided it is ok for him to marry someone almost 30 years his junior. at age 53

2. he is the one who thinks it is ok to raise a kid at age 55. is he expecting he can work till 75? does he have savings to have a kid? he never thinks about what happen if retrenched or unable to work due to health?

totally irresponsible and putting the reason why he marry was the result of his mother command.

if u read, u also realise he sacked his maid so he can put the blame of not working is because he need to take care of the child.
Can say feel sorry for him yet don’t feel sorry for him at the same time. :o

Yes his mom hai si him but a lot ish on him lor. At 53yo, he cannot think and make good decisions.

Sorry, but this Father’s Day article not a good one.

CyberTan

Thought 高龄产妇 then got risk. What have it got to do with men. If any, think men determine boy or girl.

Anyway, think if not wrong, every child got half the genes from both parent. And not all the genes are used. Its all a lucky draw which of it will be used to form the 20 plus from each parent. So there might be not so good one in the mix that get pass on and drawn out.
In my opinion, this is why you need both parents to be capable. Even the late LKY agrees with me. in Lee Kuan Yew: Hard Truths to Keep Singapore Going, he argues that IQ is inherited. In fact, he said: “So when the graduate man does not want to marry a graduate woman, I tell him he’s a fool—stupid. You marry a non-graduate, such as your personal assistant or subordinate, you’re going to have problems: some children bright, some not bright. You’ll be tearing your hair out.”

Although there may be occasional cases of high-IQ parents having low-IQ children, the numbers are not substantial enough to warrant concern.

CyberTan

The extra chromosome might be down syndrome. Very suay if they did the prenatal tests, but didn't detect this. Anyway, the boy is under MINDS. Some of them are some of the happiest people, oblivious to the cruel world, getting their simple favourite food can make their day.
Yes some are happy until they get upset.

eboy

He gambled and lost

Unfortunately other people have to pay for his losses as well

Messidonna

Crazy to think for 200k years his ancestors trudging along just fine until now, his entire family linage all gone with him and his decision.

If going back 200k years there is a mitochondrial Eve who is a woman whose dna is present in all humans so actually we are all his family

LoaGong12

Jialat, SG is just a stepping stone in the eye of many foreigners. Many came for the sake of making money and getting PR. If things goes south, simply pack up and leave.
well cautionary tale for sinkie males desperate to get married and have kids

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.