Why I keep going back to Japan?

peterlim95

After going to Korea, I did not want to go Japan as much.

I really felt that Koreans were free and the Japanese were imprisoned by their own culture, although they are probably suffering in similar ways economically.

I will still go back to Japan for Okinawa and Hokkaido, and likewise for Jeju. I really felt I that I was freed from prison when I went to these places.
Did u go to China yanbian area which has lots of Koreans too ?

zoossh

I been to almost every part of Japan from Kagoshima to Sapporo, but still alot of places yet to explore.
Any gems or highly unique spots in or near fukuoka, yufuin, beppu to recommend?

trax06

To keep exploring, instead of being a generic sinkie who checks off a bucket list in a small part of Tokyo and brag that they have been to Japan. There's so many mountains, so many prefectures and their own individual cultures.

Likewise for other countries.

But I really don't like the rural corners of Japan lei how?

I like jdm and bikes. I like shopping and shoes.

No visit onsen no Fuji no hokkaido also nvm.

zoossh

Has anyone visited the WWII memorials or museums in Japan? Nice?
Outside of yasukuni shrine during cherry blossom is one of the better ones I visited (I’m sure many great locations I didn’t know)

I think it is worthwhile going inside also. Go and read the things inside yourself. U might see a different light rather than hearing selected areas from others that might have a bias

But for museums in Japan, I find many are quite … boring … but that is my just personal view, mileage may varies

83sarahtan

Just came back last month.
Then now I next month going again.

How to cure this addiction?
Aiyo, confirm kena “Japan bug” liao lah. Once you go, you cannot stop one. Clean streets, polite people, konbini magic, vending machines, ramen at 2am who can resist sia? Cure ah? Honestly… don’t cure lah. Just accept fate and book early for better deal can already. 😂✈️

Vincentlow82

Just came back from Nagoya. Not much tourists there. Especially no China tourists or tour buses. Only seen taiwanese there.

Red Ronin

Just came back last month.
Then now I next month going again.

How to cure this addiction?
Why u so lich?

I also wanna go back. Went Nov last year but this year I might not be able to go due to busy

Sephirot

Any gems or highly unique spots in or near fukuoka, yufuin, beppu to recommend?
Near that area I think only Nakatsu which is fried chicken town. Kurume to the left nothing much imo. Of course there are still many places near there I nv been before la.

VEF888

To keep exploring, instead of being a generic sinkie who checks off a bucket list in a small part of Tokyo and brag that they have been to Japan. There's so many mountains, so many prefectures and their own individual cultures.

Likewise for other countries.

Japan is also big. It might not be considered same old places. Really depends on the types of things one like and the range of variations within that scope

how different is considered different differs between people

some people never step out of singapore their whole life.
some people keep visiting same few countries again and again.
some people visit the whole world.
end of the day, they happy jiu hao. dont need care why people do this or do that.

japan’s big, but the world is even bigger. if you find a place you like, bam go ahead and explore every nook and cranny.

don’t believe everything you see on tv, eg, there are so many parts of the north america that can rival the natural beauty of europe.

end of the day, if you’re happy, that’s all that matters

zoossh

Why u so lich?

I also wanna go back. Went Nov last year but this year I might not be able to go due to busy
I see where the problem is now

it isn’t the addiction
Problem is ts is rich. We dun have such problems

RinoaX

The same can be said of Malaysia then. Have you covered every state? Sabah? Semporna? Mount Kinabalu? instead of being a generic sinkie who checks off a bucket list in a small part of JB and brag that they go Malaysia every week.
? Have you lost the plot so early in the morning ? I didn't even mention about me going msia. Lol.

I will admit i cant say i fully travelled msia either. Heck, even in SG also cannot really say travelled fully.

tsnd01

Never been to Korea before but what are some discriminatory signs you've seen in Korea, if any?

parchiao

We go as tourists... who cares whether they are free or imprisoned a not... as long as they give good service and sell good quality products... they scold us go die behind our back also not my business... The older generations of Japanese still have high regards to politeness and good service... straight from their heart... not act or pretend... this we will not understand coz we are not brought up that way and will mistaken as they are pretentious...

Even so... at least the Japs still pretend to smile at you while servicing you...

To me... I rate the Koreans just 1 step behind HK in terms of service... they are rude as F... even the pple on the street also same kind... You pushing stroller no hands to open door... no one nearby will help you open the door... no one will help you up and down stairs with the stroller... same as HKies they are like rushing from place to place... knock onto you will not even turn back to apologize... No such problem in Japan... pple will help you carry stroller up the stairs or hold the door without even asking...

The only exceptions is Jeju... the pple there different breed from the mainland... more welcoming and warm and polite...

Unless pple nowadays prefer service line pple to DLLM straight in your face... like that more authentic and not pretentious... is that what we want? We go as tourists... got good service can liao... no need care they real or not... we not go there to match make or find a son-in-law or daughter-in-law...

Yes, we go as tourists.

When I go for a holiday, I need to get away from all the things I hate about Singapore too.

Korea was great because people did not care. Bump into each other and people did not care. In Japan, when my kid bumped into them, they will stare, and these are the old people.

Another thing I did not mention. I feel very sad for the young people who have to look the same way i.e. the men in Japan and the women in Korea. The men in Japan cut their hair and pluck their eyebrows in the most weird way. The women in Korea need to have long hair and have a look from the same template.

Maybe I just want to be left alone when I travel and not have people to bother me or have to conform to one way anymore.

messidona

The same can be said of Malaysia then. Have you covered every state? Sabah? Semporna? Mount Kinabalu? instead of being a generic sinkie who checks off a bucket list in a small part of JB and brag that they go Malaysia every week.
i go penang every year leh. JB every 2-3 months

planning to go kota kinabalu and kuantan

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.