Elderly woman left in tears by 'angry' locksmith who demanded $80 payment despite cancelled service

EDMW-Hates-Me

wait until she find the key will be gd
No one would have known that she would later suddenly remember she had a spare key. They prolly thought they had to resort to a locksmith liao at that point in time.

Cowbellc

Justified. If ur in locksmith's shoe, also will charge.
Imagine 20 ppl call, then cancelled last min, and he travel halfway, who cover his transport?

Philipkee

Not talking about might or anything, sometimes to deal with these bullies you just have to ignore them. 2 BBFAs 400 pounds each, sit down at the door and continue eating their cai png while ignoring the fellow, what can he do.
Same thing happening in mrt. Don’t give up seat look at hp what can you do besides online shaming with one sided stories

virtualape

Justified. If ur in locksmith's shoe, also will charge.
Imagine 20 ppl call, then cancelled last min, and he travel halfway, who cover his transport?
$30-40 max for transport as a reasonable amount.

I don't mind 20 people call and cancel, I can make $600-800 a day driving around. Everyday repeat, 1 month $18k-24k

Kaylin

No one would know that she would later suddenly remember she had a spare key. They prolly thought they had to resort to locksmith liao at that point in time.
no use brain, no patience & also dont wanna pay can blame who? :(

megaweb

After HIP, all doors have a handle which allow to open from outside from accidentally lock out.

trevlim

the cynic: i'm running biz, if everyone like that, then how?
the kind: nevermind, helping poor woman poor begets good karma

tmster

no use brain, no patience & also dont wanna pay can blame who? :(

Sometimes these old folks don't remember things one. Those with mild cognitive impairment can't even remember their own birthdays. Cannot blame them lah, especially those with no family to take care.

LoneTraveller

Every fibre in his body must be asking him not to go. He went only for 1 thing, the $80.

He almost reached liao then cancel cannot lah. But he never do anything to fulfill his side of the bargain too.

I think negotiate down to $50 will be fair.

Come to think of it, it has been years since I have brought a key out.
Bravo, digital lock...

Cowbellc

$30-40 max for transport as a reasonable amount.

I don't mind 20 people call and cancel, I can make $600-800 a day driving around. Everyday repeat, 1 month $18k-24k
Fact is that if already stated before hand, then pay for it.
Another fact is that not.everyday got 20 ppl calling for help🤣

Kaylin

Sometimes these old folks don't remember things one. Those with mild cognitive impairment can't even remember their own birthdays. Cannot blame them lah, especially those with no family to take care.
she cant rem, neighbor also cant rem. beri sad :(

Goodtodo

In life , you win some and you lose some. In this case, the old lady “lost” $80 for “nothing “ and the locksmith “earned “ $80 for doing “nothing” . However, there may be other occasions that things are reversed for both. The point here is not to take things too seriously.

BlackStar00

I kena before, I booked at night and canceled in the morning before he came out.

But I was apologetic and gave him his transport cost (inconvenience fee ba) I think I paid him around $40 or something.

kerrysham

Jul 11, 2025, 12:00pm

Elderly woman left in tears by 'angry' locksmith who demanded $80 payment despite cancelled service​

locksmithmain.jpg

1/2
PHOTO: CHERYL SEE/FACEBOOK

Ivan Lim
TNP
July 11, 2025
An elderly woman who was accidentally locked out of her home ended up in tears after a locksmith demanded $80 in payment - even though his services were ultimately not needed.
The incident occurred on the morning of July 10 after the woman realised her key had broken, and she was unable to unlock her door.

A helpful neighbour called a locksmith, but while waiting, the woman remembered she had a spare key in her bag that was inside the flat. Using a long stick, another neighbour, Cheryl See, helped retrieve it, and they managed to open the door.
Ms See, who shared the encounter in a public Facebook group, Complaint Singapore, said she called the locksmith to cancel the job. However, the elderly woman - whom she affectionately referred to as "auntie" - said she would still pay for his petrol.

Related Story​

More related stories
When the locksmith arrived, however, he demanded the full $80. According to Ms See, he "looked really angry".

When asked to be more understanding of the elderly woman's plight and feelings, he reportedly retorted: "Wouldn't you be angry if someone called you at 7am?"
Ms See responded that he was offering a 24-hour service.
The "auntie" asked if he could at least check her door's lock, but Ms See said he ignored her request.
"After he left, I saw auntie quietly wiping her tears and saying, 'It's okay, he wants it, just give it to him,'" Ms See wrote in her post. "My heart ached so much at this moment."
Her post drew over 700 reactions and more than 300 comments at press time. It was shared over 600 times.

Netizens criticise locksmith's behaviour

Many commenters criticised the locksmith's behaviour, saying he should have been more empathetic and that a smaller fee - such as $20 or $30 - would have been more reasonable.
Locksmiths in Singapore typically charge between $50 and $120 for a standard lockout service, depending on the type of lock, with digital locks potentially costing more.
"80 bucks for doing nothing? Could have written it off or given a huge discount. Angry for waking up at 7am when offering a 24-hour service? Might as well close shop!" said a user named X-lynge Lynge.
Another commenter, Bobby G Singh, said: "Thank you for sharing this, it truly broke my heart reading it. No one deserves to be treated that way, especially elders who have already given so much of their lives. Auntie showed so much grace and dignity despite being mistreated."
However, some users defended the locksmith, saying he was not completely wrong to have asked for compensation.
"I believe it's fair that someone gets paid something for their time, effort, and travel - especially if they've made the trip out," said Scott Maier.
"But charging the full $80 call-out fee without actually doing any meaningful checks or work feels unreasonable. It's not about age or income; it's about fairness and professionalism. If you're charging a fee, there should be a minimum standard of service. Sadly, some 24-hour trades can take advantage of urgency, so it's always worth asking upfront about costs and what's included."
Others, like commenter with the username Alvin Alvin, urged for empathy from both sides.
He felt that the auntie and her neighbours had to put themselves in the shoes of the locksmith, who would have been frustrated to have made the trip for nothing.
"Just let him vent his frustration (and) remove this post. It is unfair to the locksmith," he added.
Another, Ros Foo, said: "Already prepared to engage his services and he makes the effort to come - should pay…he is just making a living....both also poor thing."
Some netizens even offered to donate money to the woman, but Ms See said the auntie declined.
"She just hopes to use this platform to remind everyone to stay cautious and vigilant - let's help prevent this from happening to someone else," she said.
Wah, this kind of situation really damn heart pain to read. Imagine elderly already stressed, probably locked out or confused, then kena scolded and asked to pay $80 even though the service was cancelled?? That’s not just unprofessional — it’s just heartless. Locksmith or any service provider should have basic empathy, especially towards seniors. If there’s a cancellation fee, say so nicely lah, don’t go full rage mode. No need to intimidate people to get payment. Respect goes both ways, even in business. Hopefully someone stepped in to help her, and authorities take a closer look at such cases. Elderly really need more protection from this kind of nonsense.

Laneige

i think $30 - $50 is more than enough to cover his petrol and then some. singapore is exp but its not that exp (yet)

Their income is day by day
Cost r quite standard
Coe now is 60k for van etc

Last time already $50
$30 if got do things to cover
Else $30 for how many hrs
U think really worth it?

evildoer

Jul 11, 2025, 12:00pm

Elderly woman left in tears by 'angry' locksmith who demanded $80 payment despite cancelled service​

locksmithmain.jpg

1/2
PHOTO: CHERYL SEE/FACEBOOK

Ivan Lim
TNP
July 11, 2025
An elderly woman who was accidentally locked out of her home ended up in tears after a locksmith demanded $80 in payment - even though his services were ultimately not needed.
The incident occurred on the morning of July 10 after the woman realised her key had broken, and she was unable to unlock her door.

A helpful neighbour called a locksmith, but while waiting, the woman remembered she had a spare key in her bag that was inside the flat. Using a long stick, another neighbour, Cheryl See, helped retrieve it, and they managed to open the door.
Ms See, who shared the encounter in a public Facebook group, Complaint Singapore, said she called the locksmith to cancel the job. However, the elderly woman - whom she affectionately referred to as "auntie" - said she would still pay for his petrol.

Related Story​

More related stories
When the locksmith arrived, however, he demanded the full $80. According to Ms See, he "looked really angry".

When asked to be more understanding of the elderly woman's plight and feelings, he reportedly retorted: "Wouldn't you be angry if someone called you at 7am?"
Ms See responded that he was offering a 24-hour service.
The "auntie" asked if he could at least check her door's lock, but Ms See said he ignored her request.
"After he left, I saw auntie quietly wiping her tears and saying, 'It's okay, he wants it, just give it to him,'" Ms See wrote in her post. "My heart ached so much at this moment."
Her post drew over 700 reactions and more than 300 comments at press time. It was shared over 600 times.

Netizens criticise locksmith's behaviour

Many commenters criticised the locksmith's behaviour, saying he should have been more empathetic and that a smaller fee - such as $20 or $30 - would have been more reasonable.
Locksmiths in Singapore typically charge between $50 and $120 for a standard lockout service, depending on the type of lock, with digital locks potentially costing more.
"80 bucks for doing nothing? Could have written it off or given a huge discount. Angry for waking up at 7am when offering a 24-hour service? Might as well close shop!" said a user named X-lynge Lynge.
Another commenter, Bobby G Singh, said: "Thank you for sharing this, it truly broke my heart reading it. No one deserves to be treated that way, especially elders who have already given so much of their lives. Auntie showed so much grace and dignity despite being mistreated."
However, some users defended the locksmith, saying he was not completely wrong to have asked for compensation.
"I believe it's fair that someone gets paid something for their time, effort, and travel - especially if they've made the trip out," said Scott Maier.
"But charging the full $80 call-out fee without actually doing any meaningful checks or work feels unreasonable. It's not about age or income; it's about fairness and professionalism. If you're charging a fee, there should be a minimum standard of service. Sadly, some 24-hour trades can take advantage of urgency, so it's always worth asking upfront about costs and what's included."
Others, like commenter with the username Alvin Alvin, urged for empathy from both sides.
He felt that the auntie and her neighbours had to put themselves in the shoes of the locksmith, who would have been frustrated to have made the trip for nothing.
"Just let him vent his frustration (and) remove this post. It is unfair to the locksmith," he added.
Another, Ros Foo, said: "Already prepared to engage his services and he makes the effort to come - should pay…he is just making a living....both also poor thing."
Some netizens even offered to donate money to the woman, but Ms See said the auntie declined.
"She just hopes to use this platform to remind everyone to stay cautious and vigilant - let's help prevent this from happening to someone else," she said.
why they never call back to cancel , when they found the spare keys ?

i managed an electrician/handyman team , this kind of cancellation is common. but i do ask for compensation if my technician already make their trip and reaches the site.. but of course not for the full price.. a compensation for the time and petrol fee. if they have not reach the site but cancel. i would not charge a cent. i meant we run a business.. if we waste our time and petrol there for nothing, i could have send them to another site. we are paying for our technicians for this too.

i think i side more with the locksmith.. but i do feel out of empathy he should have ask for lesser.

would u all be angry if it's not an elderly but a young millennium couple.. that don't bother to cancel ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.