Took me 15 years to increase another $2kBack in my previous job, I started off earning $3k.
It took me about a decade to hit $5k, and that was my last drawn salary in 2018.
At the time, $5k felt more than enough. You could get a decent cai png with meat for just $2.50, and even go for MRT $1 chicken rice. Even when I had to take an emergency Grab ride from CCK to Yishun during peak hours, it never went beyond $16.
Fast forward to today, and honestly, $5k just doesn’t stretch as far anymore. It’s been seven years since I retired, and my wife’s salary still hasn’t even hit $5k. Luckily, I have passive income to supplement our expenses.
$5k now is probably enough if you are single, though. Without too many commitments, you can live comfortably but not luxuriously.s s.
x
Defo not enoughz for kids and cars.
Yes but I don't do that because I want to bring my wife go mall jiakActually if company provide meals can really save a lot, on weekend still can go back eat right?
i beg to differThose who say enough must be living a miserable life. Most likely no life
Dear Moderator, please put this YouTube a sticky thread, very beneficial to most of the people here,
#WeAreLazzyCabby
He has the non-religious antidote for most of us
Let me answer your confusionI do agreed.
$5k can raise a family with 2 kids.
But some say 9 to 10k is probably no experience in supporting a family.
Can you get a 9 to 10k when u just join a coy as a fresh grad?
Many other non-white collar jobs still below 5k.but i see many ppl earn $5k
still got ppl never earn $5k meh?
Poor thing lah you, how old are you going to retire?
Yeah, 31 yr old still hv many years to build up the corporate ladderLet me answer your confusion
Singapore median marriage age for men is 31yo
You have a good mindset bro!Took me 15 years to increase another $2k
Seriously, 3% yearly increment is enough for me since I have no kids so it is pointless to have so much of wealth
Extra $1k earned monthly means I can afford to buy expensive gadget every few months
Those who give this post a sad reaction are probably people who not only have a different mindset, don't rely on CPF but also think that money is everything
Personally, I don't have to live comfortably but also not to be hard on myself ,it is fine even to save few hundreds monthly
Some more I have CPF to fall back on
Yes but I don't do that because I want to bring my wife go mall jiak
Agreed.5k enuff for simple lifestyle no big house no car occasional restaurant travel cheap countries all doable.![]()