Do you think your life will be good if you have a salary of S$5000 in Singapore? 月薪5000元,在新加坡能过得好吗?

Laguna123

I not poor thing lah.
The money I make is really good and can go towards helping secure finances for my family and the kids. So why not?
I am only committed to working 1 day a week. Just doing that 1 day a week I get about $20k a month. The other days of the week is up to me if I want to work on those days. I get sent assignments worth about $1200-1500 each and I can do 2-3 in a day.
But I have reached the stage I don't want to work everyday lah. Also do 1-2 a day is less hectic than 3 -4.
At first I had the feeling, aiyah can make more money why not right? So just keep accepting. Work as much as I can. Make A LOT of money. I pushed hard for month of May. I wanted to know roughly if I went all out how much is the max I can make in 1 month. But later felt more tired and jaded in June.
Better to pace myself. Don't burn out.
Steady is better.

But if money is good, and I can manage my workload and not be too stressed why stop right?

I will probably stop when there is either no more work due to changes in the law or government or when I am too old or sick to physically work. Maybe when I am in my 80s if it is due to age alone. :ROFLMAO:
You drive truck is it? Can earn so much working 4 days a mth?

KakiMeow

With WSQ me and my colleagues pay increased to 5k from 3k, but pple here say i gaslight them sia

anchoraz

Dink is the solution.

Here v hard to survive. Dink then bto, clear housing loan within 20yrs time. House rent out.

Go jb rent and stay with hdb rental $$.

plexxor

5k sure enough

Do you want three meals in a hawker centre, food court or restaurant?

erwinrommel

Took me 15 years to increase another $2k
Seriously, 3% yearly increment is enough for me since I have no kids so it is pointless to have so much of wealth
Extra $1k earned monthly means I can afford to buy expensive gadget every few months

Those who give this post a sad reaction are probably people who not only have a different mindset, don't rely on CPF but also think that money is everything

Personally, I don't have to live comfortably but also not to be hard on myself ,it is fine even to save few hundreds monthly
Some more I have CPF to fall back on

Yes but I don't do that because I want to bring my wife go mall jiak
Actually you are having a pretty good life. No need to worry about so many things.

I have a friend who live condo, has car and 3 kids. His 15k per month salary is insufficient to maintain his lifestyle and always stressed over a lot of things such as losing his job. In fact, he has high blood pressure , compressed nerve discs and overweight. I was initially envious of him until he pointed out all these to me.

Peanut15

$5k per household is ok. But it will be hard to "save" any money for retirement. Holiday also will be hard

Medicated Oil

You have to be:
- Healthy.
- Pray that your parents continue to be healthy.
- Stay single or dun divorce.
- DINK.
- Dun have any money consuming habits like buying toys.
- Dun have any family members or friends who keep asking you for money.
(I dun call it loan since you will not get the money back.)

TiedInsurer

Back in my previous job, I started off earning $3k.

It took me about a decade to hit $5k, and that was my last drawn salary in 2018.

At the time, $5k felt more than enough. You could get a decent cai png with meat for just $2.50, and even go for MRT $1 chicken rice. Even when I had to take an emergency Grab ride from CCK to Yishun during peak hours, it never went beyond $16.

Fast forward to today, and honestly, $5k just doesn’t stretch as far anymore. It’s been seven years since I retired, and my wife’s salary still hasn’t even hit $5k. Luckily, I have passive income to supplement our expenses.

$5k now is probably enough if you are single, though. Without too many commitments, you can live comfortably but not luxuriously.

Defo not enough for kids and cars.
2008 $3k is worth about $5.5k in 2025, according to official inflation rates.
On another note... you one decade of working for $3k~$5k, can retire ah? Strike TOTO is it?

TiedInsurer

5k used to be my ideal salary when i started work more than 15 years ago.

But after you reach it, you think 7k is enough. Then 10k. And so on and so forth.

Objectively, if you already have a paid for home, single, lives simply, 5k is still enough.

Add marriage, 1 kid, maybe 5k x 2 = 10k for dual income, if house already paid for.

Plus 1 car is additional 5k, for HHI.

Additional kid is additional 5k.

With house commitments, additional 5k.

I would say about 25k HHI for 2 kids, 1 car, condo.
That's because 15 years ago, $5k is worth $9k in terms of purchasing power.
So if you finally hit $5k, and then you want $7k, it's not because you're greedy. In fact, you've already made a lot of concessions on your living standards.

TiedInsurer

Median salary (MOM statistics) is too low to start a family? Or need to keep to minimal lifestyle?

Newspaper 造反了!
$5k is not enough to start a family if you are sole breadwinner. But if your waifu also $5k, and she's willing to share her salary with the family, then you have $10k and it's enough.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.