i want to change to EV but I stay HDB how to charge?

Evcats

Flawed logic on so many levels.

A EV model costs more than an equivalent ICE model with similar performance and function in the first place and the 40k rebate equalises the difference at best. Add that to zero PARF rebate because of this 40k “subsidy” compared to ICE cars.

Next the argument will be that EVs are cheaper to charge vs refueling ICE cars. True, but EV road taxes are much higher to compensate for loss of fuel taxation. Charging infrastructure is so poor and you pay commercial charging providers extra to provide charging services

Add higher insurance costs and depreciation to the mix. Oh and poor battery efficiency at speeds above 80kmh.

Can’t wait to see if your evangelistic AI fueled fervour for EVs lasts for the entire 10 years, especially once your battery efficiency and range drops. Even if you wanted to sell your EV, you will find that no one will want to take it off your hands.
just wait one year and you will hear this from more EV users no need even 5 years :s22: $40k upfront has more value than final PARF amount… and you will not get the full amount back from your ARF paid…
Also by then how many will want to get COE ICE car ….

Evcats

i drove EV in US and the looking for charger and charging is a BIG pain... EV seems only for landed people...
Fair enough, but we are really talking about SG ownership in a small city state… close to half new cars are now EV and growing each month…. Singaporeans speak with their wallets

Evcats

In the first place where the electricity comes from? Still need to generate through power station right? And we know energy cannot be created or destroyed. It can only change from one form to another. So by burning fuel to generate the electricity to charge your ev and while charging heat is generated and most loss of energy. So where's the green? Unless we talk about nuclear power plant then maybe better for the environment lah.
EVs are more efficient than ICE vehicles, converting up to 86% of battery energy into electricity, compared to only 20% for ICE vehicles. Additionally, future decarbonization of electricity grids will continue to improve the environmental performance of EVs, even without changing the vehicles themselves.
also think about tailpipe emissions - do you dare to stand behind a truck or car while it’s engine is running :unsure:

mel1888

Ev is a scam. Why change? You know everything about green and woke come from usa during US democratic party took power.

Now republican in power they cancel all the dei woke and ev mandate liao.

Only sg dumb to believe ev is the way
moi tots exactly.
we have been fed propaganda nonsense that ev is better than ice.
sg govt want nice report card on world stage & to be in-line with u.s direction of the past.
now T throw this whole strategy out, so will we see them u-turn?

titusilvering

moi tots exactly.
we have been fed propaganda nonsense that ev is better than ice.
sg govt want nice report card on world stage & to be in-line with u.s direction of the past.
now T throw this whole strategy out, so will we see them u-turn?
Kana scam by USA dei woke groups lah. You see during Biden time many amdk propaganda spread to sg. Those woke people must have lobby it.

It's not sustainable one. Heng trump win. If not our country 完蛋cuz usa keep spreading woke dei to sg.

Now china also jialat with EV

Discarded

Kana scam by USA dei woke groups lah. You see during Biden time many amdk propaganda spread to sg. Those woke people must have lobby it.

It's not sustainable one. Heng trump win. If not our country 完蛋cuz usa keep spreading woke dei to sg.

Now china also jialat with EV

WOKE simi **. Why I need to encompass diversity all these ****. Who cares about the environment. All for yourself man.

Philipkee

EV chargers uptrend, going to be installed everywhere.

Petrol kiosk down trend, going to be halved in the coming years. :o

Esso/Shell all selling their kiosk trying to exit already :s13:
Next time maybe go Tuas to whack petrol.

Since ICE has been categorised to be harmful to the enviroment, create bad air, cause global warming, bla bla.
It should be penalised like Ciggies and Alchohol real soon.
What about 500% tax on petrol to teach them a lesson. :s13:

Confirm coming soon. :s13:
It will be damn funny if 500% tax on petrol then later EV taxes goes up cos they never paid petrol duties 😂

Already it’s stated EV taxes are higher cos it’s to compensate the govt for the fuel tax that EV owners do not pay

matt1618sg

SG is the best place to own EV coz we are so tiny. So long as you don't drive long distance, say to KL. If you only drive home-school-work-home every day, EV is great. But EV does not help the environment coz the power to charge the EV comes from fossil burning power generation plants. And need to burn more fossil fuel, generate more power to charge more EV. I think gov looking seriously into nuclear power stations in near future to address this. Of course, nuclear power stations have their own safety and environmental concerns.

enimen

seriously just 3 chargers in my estate how to serve he entire community.... and it takes at least a month to build 1 charger.... the infrastructure not ready yet?
When you have an EV, u need to develop the mindset of an old man

Old man urinary tract faulty so need to go toilet pee a small amount every chance they got.

It's a crude analogy but same as EV - u move about your day, going to different locations, if u see a charger at a lot, faster go charge. No need wait until end of day to charge at home.

If never go to location with chargers, just do it next day.

U could be going to buy food at a hawker centre, charge at the parking lot there for 20min while you buy take away, etc. u get the idea

Just keep your ev topped up then no worry

koster

A EV model costs more than an equivalent ICE model with similar performance and function in the first place and the 40k rebate equalises the difference at best. Add that to zero PARF rebate because of this 40k “subsidy” compared to ICE cars.

Next the argument will be that EVs are cheaper to charge vs refueling ICE cars. True, but EV road taxes are much higher to compensate for loss of fuel taxation. Charging infrastructure is so poor and you pay commercial charging providers extra to provide charging services

Add higher insurance costs and depreciation to the mix. Oh and poor battery efficiency at speeds above 80kmh.

Can’t wait to see if your evangelistic AI fueled fervour for EVs lasts for the entire 10 years, especially once your battery efficiency and range drops. Even if you wanted to sell your EV, you will find that no one will want to take it off your hands.
Is EV more ex than ICE?

koster

Ev is a scam. Why change? You know everything about green and woke come from usa during US democratic party took power.

Now republican in power they cancel all the dei woke and ev mandate liao.

Only sg dumb to believe ev is the way
Careful bro. Wait ah gong pofma u.

titusilvering

WOKE simi **. Why I need to encompass diversity all these ****. Who cares about the environment. All for yourself man.
You see elon musk. Tiagong he received billions subsidies from biden and they mandate ev for amdk. Now trump in power. All the rubbish ideas throw out. Who earns money?

Philipkee

SG is the best place to own EV coz we are so tiny. So long as you don't drive long distance, say to KL. If you only drive home-school-work-home every day, EV is great. But EV does not help the environment coz the power to charge the EV comes from fossil burning power generation plants. And need to burn more fossil fuel, generate more power to charge more EV. I think gov looking seriously into nuclear power stations in near future to address this. Of course, nuclear power stations have their own safety and environmental concerns.
It outsource the pollution

With EV, your neighbourhood and roads have cleaner air.

Sure, the power stations and the mines have more pollution than ever but that’s somewhere else

zzangiefzz

seriously just 3 chargers in my estate how to serve he entire community.... and it takes at least a month to build 1 charger.... the infrastructure not ready yet?
Move to China , sg is backwater where tech and AI is 20yr behind

titusilvering

Wait all the battery spoil then they know the pain to replace.

Many people in china now suffering cuz battery replacement is costly.

Kanko San

THEY ARE PLANNING TO BULD A SMALL NUCLEAR POWER STATION.
GOD BLESS THOSE STAYED NEAR.

titusilvering

Move to China , sg is backwater where tech and AI is 20yr behind
You must see which cities in China lah. Can't expect whole of china all have charging points. There are many place in china they built the charging points liao but no power one. Actually some other countries also kana cuz those charging stations need maintenance leh. No foc

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.