i want to change to EV but I stay HDB how to charge?

kebinu

i think the real kicker is when u sell?
Anyways u compare vs stinger.
Compare with BnB toyota.

maybe need to compare against atto 3 if you are using Toyota?

Buy any new cars 1-2 years ago will sure suffer a bigger loss now. I can lose extra $10k if I were to sell it myself now? It's about the same as ICE.

And TBH, after changing 2-3 cars every year, it seems I am still happy with Tesla 3 currently, really nothing close that will come to this.

captain_buck

I stayed in a jurong west slum.. govt changed so many prime lots to EV lots.. but not a f.king one is being utilised.. sibei wasteful..

archie7

seriously just 3 chargers in my estate how to serve he entire community.... and it takes at least a month to build 1 charger.... the infrastructure not ready yet?

having more or less the same issue

usually i go MSCP to charge becos pple seems lazy to drive up the MSCP to charge
or dunno upper storeys of MSCP have chargers

kebinu

Might as well compare against Bentley. People got money they buy what they want lor. You don't go to a Bentley driver and tell him your depre 80-100k a year, buy toyota more economical.

People keep talking about cheapest; cheapest is don't drive. Alternatively get a small 8-9 yo car the depre is probably super low.

New ICE or new EV also same, once out the door is depre gao gao everyone knows that. And after 2030, ICE also cannot sell in SG. Resale value also not looking great.

Coz mild hybrid is considered hybrid according to LTA as at now. those Simi Mazda 3, c class all also can sell.

true on the comment, I'm comparing similar class (size, power etc), then shoot in a Toyota B&B. Supra is also a Toyota but not B&B. Comparison is endless when anyone brings in higher or lower level.

sseasea

v2akjnr98p8a1-1536x864.webp

woshihock

dont buy la, you dont even know where to charge
don't buy ICE car also la, later open thread ask where to pump petrol

oddeye82

Sorry, I don’t trust EVs atm. Will go hybrid before 2030 if the rules nvr change then.

standarture

depending, but since you use the word simple, then the drive is boring.

I switched from stinger 2.0 to Tesla 3:
all these are lower
charging vs petrol $400+/month
depreciation $1-2k a year

insurance same

road tax +$700+?

Overall, still huge saving!
I wouldnt say tesla ride is particularly interesting either. Anyway it really depends on the car model and brand lol. Thats is just that i find it funny when people talk about cost savings. There is no apple to apple comparison. If really niao about savings, just buy a cheap jap or korean ICE car. With almost 40k cheaper than an EV or hybrid, it will easily cover all additional regular expenses unless you drive like close to 200,000 km over 10 years.

drkcynic

Coz mild hybrid is considered hybrid according to LTA as at now. those Simi Mazda 3, c class all also can sell.

true on the comment, I'm comparing similar class (size, power etc), then shoot in a Toyota B&B. Supra is also a Toyota but not B&B. Comparison is endless when anyone brings in higher or lower level.
That's one of my peeve when people want to shoot down EV and they can bring in all sorts of value to justify. Everyone have different considerations / taste / needs / wants / wealth.

Even within ICE, why people buy a 3 series versus a Prius, why they never go and make a case that buying a 3 series is not worth it? Sure got something to pick but the owners of the 3 series prefer the 3 series for whatever reasons then up to them la.

koster

i think the real kicker is when u sell?
Anyways u compare vs stinger.
Compare with BnB toyota.
This is the myth created by certain second hand car dealer with inventory of ICE tio diao. It's a demand and supply thing. If 2nd hand EVs so cheap, isn't it all the more reason to buy EV instead? And for the matter, can SIC cheap second hand EV? I also want to buy.

raintr33

Is Singapore's electric vehicle infrastructure catching up with demand? | Deep Dive podcast

This CNA Deep Dive covers most of the concerns for TS.
You really need to have easy access to the chargers to make it worth changing to EV. Its definitely a different mindset from pumping petrol.

Some people are open to change, some people will resist any change. No point talking to people who resist changing until they are willing to be open to try it. They will throw thousands of reasons on why its bad. But when they are willing to change, people will put effort to make it work.

Its the same thing why some people only want to use iPhone and think Android phones are rubbish. If they are not open to new ideas, no point trying to convince them otherwise. The change has to come from within themselves first.

mel1888

This is the myth created by certain second hand car dealer with inventory of ICE tio diao. It's a demand and supply thing. If 2nd hand EVs so cheap, isn't it all the more reason to buy EV instead? And for the matter, can SIC cheap second hand EV? I also want to buy.
Maybe cheap but I will be more careful bec really do not know hows the battery condition.
If batt got issue, perhaps its more ex to fix or replace? Compare to ICE changin parts.
Abv all tiagong niah, jus discussion.

drkcynic

Ya precisely. If people claim EV lose alot of money, then new buyers considering next car should just go and buy resale EVs, they should present better value. And so far EVs got little maintenance except batteries which has 7/8 years of warranty.

Worse case, a new battery only cost 15-20k, hardly the end of the world. New COE is already 100k.

koster

Maybe cheap but I will be more careful bec really do not know hows the battery condition.
If batt got issue, perhaps its more ex to fix or replace? Compare to ICE changin parts.
Abv all tiagong niah, jus discussion.
Most EV has 8 to 10 yrs battery warranty. For BYD, replace whole battery costs abt 15k. Moreover if battery spoil, byd can just replace the faulty part only so cost is less than that. So I think it's not too bad ba.

SantyBalls

My cousin install ev in grandma landed. Every week return to charge and drive home their ICE car. Then 1-2 days ltr come back swap car.

These ppl confirm iphone user. No brain 1

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.