i want to change to EV but I stay HDB how to charge?

titusilvering

i drove EV in US and the looking for charger and charging is a BIG pain... EV seems only for landed people...
Actually old type of car still best. Look at all the high tech lcd panels controls. Waiting for one chip inside to spoil or lcd spoil jialat

micromousez

one of the reason ppl are attracted to EV becos of the $40k rebate, thinking they "Saved $40k" by buying now.

if gov remove this $40k in future and car manufacturer also reduce $40k car price, will it make gov look "Stupid" while car manufacturer laughing all the way to bank?

drkcynic

Hong Kong adoption rate even higher than SG.

I go HK never see a single charger, but got many EVs. No clue where all of them charge. The taxi person told me they have many places to charge.

I am sure they don't have chargers at the place they stay. Also like that drive.

Evcats

moi tots exactly.
we have been fed propaganda nonsense that ev is better than ice.
sg govt want nice report card on world stage & to be in-line with u.s direction of the past.
now T throw this whole strategy out, so will we see them u-turn?
:s22:

jeff79

SG is the best place to own EV coz we are so tiny. So long as you don't drive long distance, say to KL. If you only drive home-school-work-home every day, EV is great. But EV does not help the environment coz the power to charge the EV comes from fossil burning power generation plants. And need to burn more fossil fuel, generate more power to charge more EV. I think gov looking seriously into nuclear power stations in near future to address this. Of course, nuclear power stations have their own safety and environmental concerns.

Nonsense. Bev is way more efficient than combustion engine. Especially at slow speed during traffic jam and city driving.

Minister also said all light vehicles switch to bev will reduce carbon emissions by 50% even if the electricity is generated by fossil fuel.

Mr Ong noted that motor vehicles in Singapore emit about 6.4 million tonnes of carbon dioxide (CO2)-equivalent per year.
A carbon dioxide equivalent is used as a measure to compare the emissions from various greenhouse gases based on their global warming potential - or the potency of a greenhouse gas in absorbing and trapping heat.
If light vehicles - including cars and taxis - all ran on electricity, "the total net carbon abatement would be about 1.5 to two million tonnes per year".
"This abatement is about 4 per cent of our total national emissions - not insignificant," the minister added, noting that there is 50 per cent carbon savings by switching to electric vehicles "even if the electricity is generated by fossil fuels".
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/no-more-new-diesel-cars-taxis-from-2025

Evcats

Nonsense. Bev is way more efficient than combustion engine. Especially at slow speed during traffic jam and city driving.

Minister also said all light vehicles switch to bev will reduce carbon emissions by 50% even if the electricity is generated by fossil fuel.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/no-more-new-diesel-cars-taxis-from-2025
Anti PAP until anti environment :s22: A simple test will be to stand behind a vehicle with petrol exhaust…. Tailpipe emission is the worst pollution for a small city state like SG.

wongwings

My MSCP after midnight all the chargers are full, i guess not a good idea to switch to EV given this situation.

Level42

We burn natural gas, not coal, for electricity, so our grid is considered relatively green. Likewise, hybrid cars still use fuel but are classified as green because they produce less carbon than traditional ICE cars.

At some car parks where lots are hard to find, owning an EV can help you secure a spot, since charging lots are reserved strictly for EVs. But this advantage may disappear if the authorities are slow to add chargers while more EVs hit the roads.

jeff79

Wait all the battery spoil then they know the pain to replace.

Many people in china now suffering cuz battery replacement is costly.
Actually old type of car still best. Look at all the high tech lcd panels controls. Waiting for one chip inside to spoil or lcd spoil jialat

EV battery technologies iterate very fast. Early adopters paid the high price. Recent years ev battery should last more than 10 years.

There is a ev in china with 900k km battery warranty, gac aion es. Very popular with china phv driver. Sold in Singapore too. Singapore distributor battery only 10 years warranty

Barebone BEV with old school analog instrument gauges, buttons control. no android auto carplay.

https://www.sgcarmart.com/articles/car-reviews/aion-es-552kwh-review-35549

standarture

one of the reason ppl are attracted to EV becos of the $40k rebate, thinking they "Saved $40k" by buying now.

if gov remove this $40k in future and car manufacturer also reduce $40k car price, will it make gov look "Stupid" while car manufacturer laughing all the way to bank?
Irony is if you want to talk about savings, buying any simple ICE is far cheaper and the savings can easily cover maintenance, fuel and parking costs. EV only cost effective if you drive a LOT. But with rising charging rates, wont be surprised will hit $1/kwh soon.

If people dont drive a lot, ICE is still less polluting than an EV which generates a lot of carbon during production.

kebinu

seriously just 3 chargers in my estate how to serve he entire community.... and it takes at least a month to build 1 charger.... the infrastructure not ready yet?
if you don't go mall often, no charger available at workplace or places where you often go, then it will be harder.

then dont buy. I go out very often to malls etc, so far in 14 months of EV usage, there's still once or twice when my charge went below 20% coz it's all full at the mall and home.

kebinu

Irony is if you want to talk about savings, buying any simple ICE is far cheaper and the savings can easily cover maintenance, fuel and parking costs. EV only cost effective if you drive a LOT. But with rising charging rates, wont be surprised will hit $1/kwh soon.

If people dont drive a lot, ICE is still less polluting than an EV which generates a lot of carbon during production.

depending, but since you use the word simple, then the drive is boring.

I switched from stinger 2.0 to Tesla 3:
all these are lower
charging vs petrol $400+/month
depreciation $1-2k a year

insurance same

road tax +$700+?

Overall, still huge saving!

mel1888

depending, but since you use the word simple, then the drive is boring.

I switched from stinger 2.0 to Tesla 3:
all these are lower
charging vs petrol $400+/month
depreciation $1-2k a year

insurance same

road tax +$700+?

Overall, still huge saving!
i think the real kicker is when u sell?
Anyways u compare vs stinger.
Compare with BnB toyota.

mel1888

not only that. current materials used for EV batts are also non evironmentally friendly.

drkcynic

i think the real kicker is when u sell?
Anyways u compare vs stinger.
Compare with BnB toyota.
Might as well compare against Bentley. People got money they buy what they want lor. You don't go to a Bentley driver and tell him your depre 80-100k a year, buy toyota more economical.

People keep talking about cheapest; cheapest is don't drive. Alternatively get a small 8-9 yo car the depre is probably super low.

New ICE or new EV also same, once out the door is depre gao gao everyone knows that. And after 2030, ICE also cannot sell in SG. Resale value also not looking great.

Sen Sen

Carpark no charger one meh at hdb?
Unless go out somewhere might have a hard time finding places that have charging port

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.