Do you think your life will be good if you have a salary of S$5000 in Singapore? 月薪5000元,在新加坡能过得好吗?

ramlee

My take home $10k pm. But my credit card bill usually $2K plus...

Tbh, I never try to save money only. Take grab all the time..if I don't take grab and jiak restaurant.i think less than $1.3k a month.
since you have so much savings, huai don't buy condo buy car? :(

ramlee

Edmw is anyhow one.

When I started a thread to ask can one survive on $3000 a month, an overwhelming 78% said they can.

Here, TS ask can one survive on $5k, an overwhelming responses said No.
replies from different demographics you see :(

TiedInsurer

Edmw is anyhow one.

When I started a thread to ask can one survive on $3000 a month, an overwhelming 78% said they can.

Here, TS ask can one survive on $5k, an overwhelming responses said No.
TS didn't ask if one can survive on $5k. He asked if $5k life good or not. The answer is that you can survive, but life will not be good. Especially if you have kid.

"Surviving" and "life is good" are two wildly different ideas.

jerichoo

siao bo

now grab if u drive average 8hrs a day

easily can hit 5k

KakiMeow

Transport $2.30 * 30 = $69 (Org pays journey to work)
Simba + Singtel WiFi $12 + $43 = $55
Electricity + Water $75 + $56 = $131
Makan @ Work $10 * 25 = $250
Cigs $12.80 * 15 = $192

Expenses Total = $697

$5k minus expenses and CPF is:
5000 - 1000 - 697 = $3303

Save $2k still have $1.3k to spend

More than enough sia provided DINK and no car and other additional.

This is just myself haven't add my wife although she works part time only.

Ethan_

Forum no 20k no talk. But outside for real many gain-png is clamouring for the voucher. :s22:

Jeremy1

I think it's really peanuts for a $5K salary to a graduate nowadays.

A fresh graduate just need to work a few years already exceeded that amount liao.

If Single, no commitment, $5K should be a comfortable amount to live.

Autumn.

You started working early. That's good.

I know what it is like. When I first moved to Canada I was working minimum wage job also which was already very hard to get. Take home was around $1800 a month. So I do know.

My first pay in SG is also around $2500 a month only.

What you did was invest. And your friend invested more.

It's not about how much you earn. It is how much you invest. If invest heavily borrow to invest margin accounts mortgages etc that's the way to make life good.

Not work. Not how much you earn. No how much salary you get.

If want to talk salary alone then $5000 is not much.

Hope you get what I mean.

You have done very well. Kudos to you.
i dun invest . i really do live by my salary. $5000 is normal. but enough to move out.

occasionally i do sideline out of interest. but that only account $100 per year. after covid i switch career lane, so dont even have the energy for sideline.

Airplane88

Salary 5k means 4k plus after minusing CPF contribution. For a single person, should be comfortable but not for a family of 4 persons.

dereth

Maybe you should go take the course first. After that can consider renting one to try out occasionally before you actually purchase one.

Thank you, sincerely.

I really take advice like this to heart.

It has been a long time since something has genuinely sparked my interest.

Spike

Thank you, sincerely.

I really take advice like this to heart.

It has been a long time since something has genuinely sparked my interest.
On top of that, similar to a new car driver, it is wiser to purchase a second hand yacht first to hone your skills before upgrading to a new one.

dereth

On top of that, similar to a new car driver, it is wiser to purchase a second hand yacht first to hone your skills before upgrading to a new one.

If I can comfortably afford it in the future, I would like to own a powered catamaran that can host at least 15 people.

Is there a large difference in sailing a single-hull vs a catamaran?

Not considering sailboats, just powered ones.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.