Electric vehicles fall short of advertised range !

Autumn.

Tell that to my sister.... :crazy:

She adjust all the way to the max. still barely look past the dashboard of her hatchback.... much less go into SUV or even MPV... :s13:
i think i am closer to your height :s34:
she better off driving fiat 500

harbinger255

i think i am closer to your height :s34:
she better off driving fiat 500
I think I might need a phonebook for the landcruiser too... :s34:

That one too claustrophobic rah.... got 2 kids to ferry around.... plus my BIL very aggro and angsty while driving.... don't think he can tahan that.... :s13:

Autumn.

I think I might need a phonebook for the landcruiser too... :s34:

That one too claustrophobic rah.... got 2 kids to ferry around.... plus my BIL very aggro and angsty while driving.... don't think he can tahan that.... :s13:
even more so to use Fiat500 :s13:

dun need bah? the seats arent that sunken that phonebook is needed. that said i have only seat on FORD 4wd

harbinger255

even more so to use Fiat500 :s13:

dun need bah? the seats arent that sunken that phonebook is needed. that said i have only seat on FORD 4wd
Ford raptor??? :love:

Damn intimidating to see an engine grill bearing upon chiu in the rear view mirror.... :s13:

carey

So naive and so foolish to believe ?
Exactly, don't say EV, even normal ICE cars have over-stated their specs

Their 0-100km/h is done with just 1 liter of fuel in the car for example - their fuel consumption numbers are also under "ideal" conditions which are hard to emulate in real world - the list goes on

carey

Just like how ICE cars also always fall short of their fuel consumption claims.
Exactly, a lot depends on how heavy the driver's foot is

Cannot expect someone who chomp on the gas all the time to achieve the same mileage as a little old lady going for her weekly grocery drive ;)

bakuten

so instead of dismissing the time on this

the tech had reach c6/c7 already

just that sg is slow in adopting and what not , hope byd with the amount of cars sold and it a small country will bring in its super chargers
erm....when happen then say ba.
it's easier said than done. anybody got do electricity infra knows that suddenly ramping up power consumption like this is completely not feasible. the amount of infrastructure that is going to be required to switch SG's vehicle fleet completely into electric.... I truly have no idea how PUB is going to accinomplish this

harbinger255

erm....when happen then say ba.
it's easier said than done. anybody got do electricity infra knows that suddenly ramping up power consumption like this is completely not feasible. the amount of infrastructure that is going to be required to switch SG's vehicle fleet completely into electric.... I truly have no idea how PUB is going to accinomplish this
Road works..... LOTSA LOTSA road works... :vijayadmin:

Medicated Oil

Exactly, don't say EV, even normal ICE cars have over-stated their specs

Their 0-100km/h is done with just 1 liter of fuel in the car for example - their fuel consumption numbers are also under "ideal" conditions which are hard to emulate in real world - the list goes on
Cannot expect much, I guess.

carey

That was exactly what I heard from the drivers in China! I was surprised initially because I was under the impression that an e.v would be MORE efficient when travelling over longer distances at a higher speed, without the start-stop traffic. However, at least 2 drivers told me the opposite; an e.v. consumes MORE when going faster.
It's the same with handphones

If you are just browsing the internet, the drain on the battery is quite manageable

But once you go into gaming mode with high graphics turned on, the drain is very heavy

A lot of videos out there liao that showed a sharp drop in battery when the EV is driven hard/fast

From a EV driving friend, that drop can be quite scary o_O

carey

New EV driver of one week here. One thing I must say... damn lecheh. Range is not as advertised definitely, a 15km journey and battery drops 5% liao. Step a bit to overtake 1% drop. Real time presentation of the charge status causes a lot of range anxiety. Projected range on EV is usually +25% more than what can be delivered. Charging is troublesome too, many AC chargers islandwide are really slow. DC chargers are fast but far and few, and charge a bomb. AC is $0.50+/kwh and DC is about $0.75/kwh (SP). Not to mention, sometimes charger and EV got connection issues, or charging station got payment issues. Sometimes you think it's charging but end up never charge due to some interface error. With the idling fee, shop halfway must run back to the car to move it out of the lot and go and hunt for another lot. In comparison, ICE car is so fuss free. Would I dare to take the EV up Malaysia to KL? I think maybe not, too stressful.
Your experience is quite common with friends driving EVs

I rather stick to my ICE for peace of mind

carey

IMHO.
I drive auto and iCVT also put to N and coast. :ROFLMAO:
Manual car the best. Now my car only D.. not shiok at all. :ROFLMAO:
You should have gotten one with sports paddles then

Can still drive it like a manual car; but honestly, I seldom use the paddles as my car's gearbox is quite good at picking the correct gears, so never had to bother with manually shifting gears :ROFLMAO:

Anyway, most auto cars come with "coasting" mode these days, meaning the gearbox will shift into neutral when cruising down the highway

nyvrem

2025-Toyota-Crown-Signia.jpg

2024-byd-seal-u-dm-i-dynamic-004.jpg

These 2 cheep cheep ah

the top Toyota is what model?

Crown? Cross?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.