Unker Ben: Maybe the Singapore Story should be one where our people go overseas to make their money and then come home to retire.

nyvrem

I have friend retire in Canada. Rent out HDB. Can jump to different cities in Canada and North America also. Every month collect HDB rental income and condo income.

that one call hoping meh

still in Canada

:crazy:

cyke69sg

that one call hoping meh

still in Canada

No Leh. They hop all over. They go SG for healthcare stay in Mt E eat lobster and Wagyu

Hop to Japan Korea Thailand Vietnam Australia Swizterland. From short hops they go Las Vegas and New York.

Longer one hop to Antarctica.
Moi fren is not me.
I no more SG citizenship and no more HDB no more condo.

I ish stuck in Calgary.

Foetid

My kids also cannot go back to Singapore. They also renounced their Singpapore citizenship. When they tried to apply for visa to do 1 month summer elective at Singapore university got rejected by ICA. No reason given cite confidential reasons by ICA.

I though of become UHNWI. But even then I think got too many UHNWI apply to set up family office in Singapore already.

So unless I am Jeff Bezos or Mark Zuckerberg or Elon Musk.

But if I am them I probably don't need to go Singapore.

Moral of story. Don't leave Singapore. Don't give up Singapore citizenship. You will regret.
if u already got 30millions or more, then why do u bother or want to come back to Singapore? Many are wanting to get out and u are outside wanting to come back? makes no sense.

nyvrem

No Leh. They hop all over. They go SG for healthcare stay in Mt E eat lobster and Wagyu

Hop to Japan Korea Thailand Vietnam Australia Swizterland. From short hops they go Las Vegas and New York.

Moi fren is not me.

I ish stuck in Calgary.

its ok. u got snow

end of year i gotta go Oz for 3 months cause wife wants to spend time w/ her parents (her parents living there)

cracking my head on what to do there

Spike

平淡无奇的过一生也是一种幸福。

Poor people are happier because they have less wants, desires, and are happy with what little they have.

Once you have more money, you end up wanting more. Sometimes not because of greed, but because you want to test your limit, and see what you can achieve in your lifetime.

Even if you can maintain your original intention, having more wealth will naturally attract unwanted people who are looking to leech on you or make money off you.

Long explanation of EDMW number one chiobu's favourite statement. :o

@cosmothecat

touchring1

Moi fren is not me.

I ish stuck in Calgary.

Canada is now woke, not a good place long term. You probably made a mistake. Surely you still can stay in Canada with just a PR?

Gattaca1812

My kids also cannot go back to Singapore. They also renounced their Singpapore citizenship. When they tried to apply for visa to do 1 month summer elective at Singapore university got rejected by ICA. No reason given cite confidential reasons by ICA.

I though of become UHNWI. But even then I think got too many UHNWI apply to set up family office in Singapore already.

So unless I am Jeff Bezos or Mark Zuckerberg or Elon Musk.

But if I am them I probably don't need to go Singapore.

Moral of story. Don't leave Singapore. Don't give up Singapore citizenship. You will regret.
Sorry to hear about your kids visa issue.

Guess only saving grace is that you are a uhnwi. Not some blue collar worker in Canada. That still worked out pretty decent for u. And if you truly want, can always move to JB and come in sg as tourist.

focus1974

Utopian country is Singaoore.
If you know the outside world you will realize Singapore is Utopia.
No other country has a national day song like Dick Lee's "Home".

In my case is cos I stupid and naive that I left Singapore and gave up Singapore citizenship now cannot go back to Utopia.

but .. there are many who come here to work and will never want a citizenship, they rather go back to their own utopia.

so ur utopia is not their utopia.

I would opine your utopia is likely because you are born here and raised here and feel more comfortable here.

cyke69sg

its ok. u got snow

end of year i gotta go Oz for 3 months cause wife wants to spend time w/ her parents (her parents living there)

cracking my head on what to do there

Yeah Oz really got nothing to do in the summer.

SG is more vibrant and exciting. So many activities

cyke69sg

平淡无奇的过一生也是一种幸福。

Poor people are happier because they have less wants, desires, and are happy with what little they have.

Once you have more money, you end up wanting more. Sometimes not because of greed, but because you want to test your limit, and see what you can achieve in your lifetime.

Even if you can maintain your original intention, having more wealth will naturally attract unwanted people who are looking to leech on you or make money off you.

Long explanation of EDMW number one chiobu's favourite statement. :o

@cosmothecat
Simi unwanted people?
How people know you got money or not?

cyke69sg

Canada is now woke, not a good place long term. You probably made a mistake. Surely you still can stay in Canada with just a PR?
I am already Canada citizen. I gave up my Singapore citizenship foolishly decades ago. I only have Canada citizenship now. No PR anywhere else. Can apply SG PR? ICA told me cannot anymore. I am a traitor.

cyke69sg

Sorry to hear about your kids visa issue.

Guess only saving grace is that you are a uhnwi. Not some blue collar worker in Canada. That still worked out pretty decent for u. And if you truly want, can always move to JB and come in sg as tourist.
I am not UHNWI. Cannot make it lah. I am a loser. I am poor in Canada. How I wish I blue collar worker here in Canada. Will be rich.

Dowan move to JB full of crime. Low ses.

cyke69sg

but .. there are many who come here to work and will never want a citizenship, they rather go back to their own utopia.

so ur utopia is not their utopia.

I would opine your utopia is likely because you are born here and raised here and feel more comfortable here.
SG good is high salaries low income tax no cap gains tax no investment income tax strong currency. Govt back guaranteed property investments.

cyke69sg

It should be go overseas to work, and then overseas again to retire
Some overseas country tax is really too high. How to retire? Also no CPF.
My tax went up from $8400 a month now go $11,000 a month. This is corporate and income tax! Not even count GST.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.