[GLGT] Minister Ong Ye Kung Responds to KF Seetoh’s Untrue Claims About Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre

Medicated Oil

Lex - the operator.
Awaiting Superman to appear to save the day ?
Or will Lex be fired by "Trump" and replace by another "social" group ?

tree trunk

not forgetting why in the first place the hawker is not run by nea directly but by a social enterprise? and also why nea did not put in the contract that the free meal should come from the profit of the social enterprise company who is already earning a layer off the rental?

is the social enterprise company director related to someone higher up?
nea is lazy and some plp need to earn quick buck

Lchlch

The diners are also very difficult cos they are the one bearing all the cost increase every time.
authorities encourage local to do hawkers.
hmmmm better not, thank you to them.
wait do hawker, must pay this and that and this and that, die lah...

cplbao

Notice the media always use the name social enterprises here, social enterprises there... no more socially-conscious enterprises... because they got no more conscious? Their conscious eaten by dogs, is it?
Honestly speaking, since they are all private limited, we should treat them as private companies. Same like NTUC income etc etc

tokong

Why bother so much about this issue?

The hawkers themselves bade for the stall and agree to follow the contract.

You notice that until now the hawkers have not revealed their profits, or the general daily revenue.

Do business will have high and low, but generally the hawkers are making money I think.

If the hawkers are making good money, why would they complain about giving frees meals to the poor ppl?

Don't understand the hoo-ha on this matter. Is that so big deal? Hawkers know how to calculate better than all of us.

xtemujin

If under NEA rental have to be low.

Need a proxy to increase the rental.

NEA should just admit that their dumb idea of outsourcing mgmt of hawker centres to Social Enterprises is a massive failure. Expecting profit seeking companies to do charity work is fool hardy in the first place.

byfun

That y u seldom see sinkie youngsters doing it. This is for a good reason. U see ministars encourage any of their adult kids to be hawkers in the first place ? 😂

They want hawkers to keep providing low priced meals to low income sinkies yet milking the hawkers 9696 at the same time. Hawkers in spore no worklife balance one la...

Medicated Oil

The admin are using lip services now.
There is no follow-up.

The original intention of managing the SEHC in a non-profit approach is just a DREAM.
They got a wolf to manage the lamb shelter and expect the wolf to eat grass ?
In terms of paying this and that, I guess it is sama sama for most of the private operated HC.
The hawkers never unite together to make noise.
No one will know.
No action will be taken.

Mechafanboy

Why bother so much about this issue?

The hawkers themselves bade for the stall and agree to follow the contract.

You notice that until now the hawkers have not revealed their profits, or the general daily revenue.

Do business will have high and low, but generally the hawkers are making money I think.

If the hawkers are making good money, why would they complain about giving frees meals to the poor ppl?

Don't understand the hoo-ha on this matter. Is that so big deal? Hawkers know how to calculate better than all of us.

Because this is no longer a hawker issue. It's about the system, something broke.

why did a minister defend a hawker centre operator?

Moreover, Hawker centre operators are typically paid millions by govt, to keep the hawker centres operational. And they have to contribute a chunk of their revenue back to society. So why are they forcing hawkers to bear the cost of the free meals ? Something clearly doesn't add up.

This is no longer about hawkers being forced to do charity, it's about elites structuring the system for self benefit, while letting the public bear the cost.

It's about conflict of interests.

XcoVar

Time to erase evidence, first make the stall owner disappear then say it's a hoax like how Trump did it with Epstein file.😏

tomsss

that's why in Singapore, your English better be up to standard

you can fail your maths, your geography, you science.... maybe mandarin... but dun fail your english, okay?

tomsss

and oyk has suddenly gone silent.

want to start a fight but no balls to see it thru?
i believe he didn't read the contract and just straight away blurt out the initiative he thought the hawker group was trying to do ( the so-called good things la) . He assumed KF was slamming based on his own findings, so came online to happy happy try shoot him back.

and then kenna pwned lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.