[GLGT] Minister Ong Ye Kung Responds to KF Seetoh’s Untrue Claims About Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre

Cowbellc

Actually this Seetoh made a very good point. Why only ask these hawkers to donate FREE meals ? How abt McD, KFC or any other restaurants ? These are doing much much better and no need to "pay it forward" ?

Also, OYK mentioned it is not compulsory for the hawkers to donate meals. But which hawker dare to go against this call ? What if they kena black-mark coz didnt participate and then subsequently cant renew license ?
Cos govt dun dare to touch mega corporate.
The rippling effects wuld b disastrous.

ShinnAsuka

https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/20...nal-attacks-on-chee-soon-juan-after-backlash/

lyC5xzk.png

This was at Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre. Maybe foreshadowing his current faux pas

:cry:

Means 江山易改本性難移. Waiting for new saga for him to mouth itchy

Whimsica

Thanks to daft sinkies who support KFST and "poor hawkers".

Your tax money has gone to building hawker centres and subsidies - directly and indirectly - to hawkers who now get to deliver less than what they signed up with open eyes for.

And you suffer further because certain hawkers selling good and/ or affordable food had walked away during tender phase because they didn't like the T&C and as responsible market players let their feet do the talking.

On their own, sinkies won't like KFST or hawkers who are always looking to pay less do less charge more.

But when these guys smartly play the "let's screw MIW" card, sinkies jitao become stupid and join in.

Without thinking and without knowing that they are the ones screwed.

Welcome to another hawker centre built with your money where the hawkers screw you right in your face.

ShinnAsuka

Thanks to daft sinkies who support KFST and "poor hawkers".

Your tax money has gone to building hawker centres and subsidies - directly and indirectly - to hawkers who now get to deliver less than what they signed up with open eyes for.

And you suffer further because certain hawkers selling good and/ or affordable food had walked away during tender phase because they didn't like the T&C and as responsible market players let their feet do the talking.

On their own, sinkies won't like KFST or hawkers who are always looking to pay less do less charge more.

But when these guys smartly play the "let's screw MIW" card, sinkies jitao become stupid and join in.

Without thinking and without knowing that they are the ones screwed.

Welcome to another hawker centre built with your money where the hawkers screw you right in your face.

Har? I think daftness refers to ppl who got gaslit but never realise themselves.

Kindness comes from the heart, from the actions. Not from black and white obligations or words or TikTok.

krikering

Actually problems lies with the top pests.
They won't changed.
They want more money.

Weekend busy viewing condo launches and cafe hopping.

Weekday tired and comatose.
Don't blame the lower and middle-level CSs ba, as Jamus mentioned alot are more lowly paid than private sector (unless is CPF/GIC/Govtech, etc.) and sometimes work on weekends/PHs, etc. one.

They can only work within the constraints imposed by the government + Civil Service Top Management's directive.

The red herring is will the current management get the contract if there is no pay it forward movement in their proposal. Should the contract be terminated and open to the market?

More like slapping NDA on it than removing the free meal clause.

How about the damage that's been done already? Who to hara kiri?

So under the contract, compulsory to provide 60 foc meals?
Who gets the glory and news coverage if it's successful? 😁
The honors at expense of unsung hawkers
These landlords like Canopy Hawker Group, etc. really zek arh, want to make hawkers provide free meal to gain positive publicity for themselves.

And OYK still want to protect people like them, they are the main reason why hawkers have to operate on thin margins and us paying more and more.

All to fund their GCBs/BMWs/Luxury goods purchased and expensive overseas vacations, etc.

Whimsica

Har? I think daftness refers to ppl who got gaslit but never realise themselves.

Kindness comes from the heart, from the actions. Not from black and white obligations or words or TikTok.

These hawkers get their stalls built with taxpayer money and in return they have to fulfilled certain T&Cs.

Now they manage to wriggle out of some of the terms.

And you are still with them?

Wow simi kindness comes from the heart and not from black and white obligations.

So people like TT Durai kind from the heart can liao and no need to follow Charities Act?

ShinnAsuka

These hawkers get their stalls built with taxpayer money and in return they have to fulfilled certain T&Cs.

Now they manage to wriggle out of some of the terms.

And you are still with them?

Wow simi kindness comes from the heart and not from black and white obligations.

So people like TT Durai kind from the heart can liao and no need to follow Charities Act?
You ask yourself if you ever made donations from your heart, with no expectations of returns?

No tax benefits, no glorification of your actions. Not even taking the tissue.

Or you never donate;)

Anyway,

"Canopy added that it agreed charity work should not be made contractual and pledged to review the clause once the scheme is ready for implementation."

kimying

dun blame oyk lah he kena drag into this case!!
the one we should question is grace fu!!

krikering

You ask yourself if you ever made donations from your heart, with no expectations of returns?

Or you never donate;)

Anyway,

"Canopy added that it agreed charity work should not be made contractual and pledged to review the clause once the scheme is ready for implementation."
Some do it for good PR one.

You see a lot of billionaires, they donate not just because of above reasons is because they cannot criticise jialat thus bopian.

Because 1 day, maybe people will Dulan and boycott them just to make a point. Thus good reputation very important one.

Whimsica

Or you never donate;)

Anyway,

You quoted me but you keep shifting away from my discussion points.

For this particular issue talked about in this thread (and not your whataboutism simi heart simi returns),

1. OYK wins - he said there was no plan to roll out the programme which now gets terminated
2. KFST wins - he will say he helped the poor hawkers
3. BCHC hawkers win - no need to fulfil obligations and screw those who did not bid cos of these
4. Nearby residents lose - no budget/ discounted meals that were expected
5. Sinkies lose - COL keep going up and more of their tax money will be needed to help "poor" hawkers

These are my points.

Won't be replying you any more to help you derail the thread.

You want to talk about donations, start a new thread ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.