Latest from Kf Seetoh| The socially conscious Timbre Group that manages Yishun Park Hawker Cte ... ...

xcodes

yes it an common practice for food court, in fact they are so concern about your side not paying it, that they will ask a staff to collect the sales commission from your stall at the end of the day,

that was the practice last time, but i not sure if it still being practice.

also gov pay them to run the hawker centre, why they still need to try to sqeeze the hawkers this and that.

I have this impression that it's not only limited to food courts ... but any tenants of a mall ...

Lifeinmotion

Medicated Oil

15% is ridiculous ...

I think this practice stems from all the malls too in sinkieland if not wrong ... landlords will take a certain percentage from the sales of successful businesses ... anyone can confirm if this were the common practice?
The requirements is pretty ridiculous.
What if most of the HC owners are enforcing the similar terms to make more money from the hawkers ?
It is very obvious that the check and balance from the unit in charge is MISSING after all trumpeting and drum beating of PRESERVATION of hawker culture ?

It is more like exploitation of the hawkers.
End up the hawkers are eating up the diners.

Ender

From Seetoh's post, I just learnt that the operators are paid by NEA to run the hawker centre. Now it seems that they are totally no social responsibility. All the social burden to meet NEA requirement for SEHC to be bear by hawkers alone.

mynickname

Again, all these are bw terms hawkers sign with open eyes.

Now using social pressure to wriggle their way out.

You just need to read 1 line.

"It's not the hawkers duty to feed the poor and destitute. If you cannot afford a meal, please see your MP for help."

Seetoh and his band of merry hawkers are equally the capitalist your hated landlords are.

Don't expect them to drop their prices simply because they pay lower rents.

tessss

timbre hawker centre can use the timbre app to make payment for 10% off. similar like the ntuc app for ntuc kopitiam

just wondering if timbre's individual hawkers need to bear the 10%

Lifeinmotion

The requirements is pretty ridiculous.
What if most of the HC owners are enforcing the similar terms to make more money from the hawkers ?
It is very obvious that the check and balance from the unit in charge is MISSING after all trumpeting and drum beating of PRESERVATION of hawker culture ?

It is more like exploitation of the hawkers.
End up the hawkers are eating up the diners.
It' not call preserving for nothing. It's a bloody UNESCO bragging rights.

kleong

who managed timbre ?
is any MP involved in the group?

Maybe it's time to relook at whether MPs and Politicians can be directly involved in any company dealing with govt. If it is almost all, then so be it. You want your profits, you dont join politics.

A hamster seller co-founded timbre but stepped down and ceased to be a shareholder in 2021

Medicated Oil

From Seetoh's post, I just learnt that the operators are paid by NEA to run the hawker centre. Now it seems that they are totally no social responsibility. All the social burden to meet NEA requirement for SEHC to be bear by hawkers alone.
The social is just the dirty word.
Something for the unit in charge to pass the baton to the operator to do the dirty job.
They are still silent over the canberra SEHC saga.
They will continue to act blur when there is dirty laundry being washed.

KFST is directing his attention to the SOURCE of all the PROBLEMs.
Which I already highlighted in the Canberra SEHC thread.

Lifeinmotion

"It's not the hawkers duty to feed the poor and destitute. If you cannot afford a meal, please see your MP for help."

Seetoh and his band of merry hawkers are equally the capitalist your hated landlords are.

As much as they signed with "open" eyes. Do they really have other choices ? Or they know every term in the contract.

HDB buyers also signed the 99 lease with "open eyes". Sprawling concrete is not HDB issue, etc.

johnsonheng

I have this impression that it's not only limited to food courts ... but any tenants of a mall ...
for food, it collected at the end of the day, but for shops i think it monthly.

and i do not think it applicable for all the shop

some big name , they wun pay,
example, apple, mac donald, ntuc, cold storage i dun think they will pay.

tessss

you are right. everybody is out there to earn money. not doing charity.
it's only about who is more powerful enough to earn more of the moolah

Visor9999

These vendors only have welfare but for their own boss next gcb

Ender

The social is just the dirty word.
Something for the unit in charge to pass the baton to the operator to do the dirty job.
They are still silent over the canberra SEHC saga.
They will continue to act blur when there is dirty laundry being washed.

KFST is directing his attention to the SOURCE of all the PROBLEMs.
Which I already highlighted in the Canberra SEHC thread.
Since the operators are paid by NEA to run the SEHC, the social responsibility requirement is still there. Now they remove it from the hawker;s contract, I do hope the burden of this social responsibility to be bear by the operators, since they are paid by NEA, they made profit from rentals, cleaners, misc rental space for storage, and operating their own drink stall which probably the most profitable hawker in the centre.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.