Latest from Kf Seetoh| The socially conscious Timbre Group that manages Yishun Park Hawker Cte ... ...

wongkc

Not all malls and not all tenants, from what I know previously is some smaller operators who want to enter malls or retail management approach them to ‘spice up’ trade mix/test market may give them lower monthly rents with gto. Over the years some shops cheat/bypasses and under declare and caused a lot more problems with tracking and law suits, so malls also gradually moved away from this model 🧐

I think most of the big malls operated this way… they have the brand power to attract footfalls… and shops need to adopt their payment systems too… so whatever sales they have will go through them… so they will know your revenue… no way to under declare…

That’s why in malls u only see big brands… coz only they can survive amidst such conditions… but even now I think big brands are finding it hard… due to raising operating costs and still need to profit share with the malls…

Medicated Oil

Thus, be prepared to lose our UNESCO hawker heritage. And lose the hearts of our citizens for accelerating the extinction of hawker trade.
The person in charge of the unit scored the points and moved on.
The future guy will be the one to maintain the whatever wayang heritage.

As for the hearts of the residents, the caring will only surface every 5 years.
There is only lip services in-between.

psyger-zero

take rent liao, take gov money liao , still need to skim 15% of the stores profit ?
lol
pay rent liao still need to give profit

how much does NEA pay those companies to run the hawker centre sia?
Walao they rili 吃人不吐骨头。 Once again our miw has succeeded in letting the funds flow to the wrong party. One time ok,so many times? One wonders what's going on,n why 66% aren't any the wiser

ZaiNan

Again, all these are bw terms hawkers sign with open eyes.

Now using social pressure to wriggle their way out.

You just need to read 1 line.

"It's not the hawkers duty to feed the poor and destitute. If you cannot afford a meal, please see your MP for help."

Seetoh and his band of merry hawkers are equally the capitalist your hated landlords are.

Don't expect them to drop their prices simply because they pay lower rents.

Post 42 answer you

If they have bargaining power, they won't choose to be hawker rah

Go open restaurants much better. Still must share 15% profit SMLJ

Service charge only 10% lor

Ender

Timbre 15% is really opportunistic, as they only creamed off the successful one. i.e the 15% is probably more than the rental. And those not doing well, they will pay the basic rental, why, because if they take 15%, it going to be less than the rental. Really win win for the operators.
SEHC operator with no social responsibility.

yeokiwi

Technically, if the drink stalls are only operated by the owner of the premise, it is not a hawker centre. Hawker centre should have competition. Three chicken stalls, four drink stalls, two wanton mee.

The ones that are operated by sehc are simply large coffee shops or non Aircon food court.

noisemaker

No wonder our food prices keep going up. NEA handing over HC operations to greedy operators 😡😡😡

Tayliatorhard

The person in charge of the unit scored the points and moved on.
The future guy will be the one to maintain the whatever wayang heritage.

As for the hearts of the residents, the caring will only surface every 5 years.
There is only lip services in-between.
It's ok, they can allow hawkers to operate till 4am also to try to revive the scene.

Lifeinmotion

I addressed this in my post.
Nop.

How does Timbre support when they ask hawker to pay for the 10% app discount.

Why should they pocket the difference between base rental vs 15%? Where in writing are there to attract footfall ?
So how do we quantify or qualify this? So if they don't attract X numbers to this hawker. - should they be penalized. And rental rebated?

Is it in Timbre's contract to attract footfall?

jackiehuat

Think the only successful one is Kopitiam, owned by NCM's Enterprise. They should slowly take back control from all these private operators. They offer 60 cents drinks every 5 years.

Lifeinmotion

I think most of the big malls operated this way… they have the brand power to attract footfalls… and shops need to adopt their payment systems too… so whatever sales they have will go through them… so they will know your revenue… no way to under declare…

That’s why in malls u only see big brands… coz only they can survive amidst such conditions… but even now I think big brands are finding it hard… due to raising operating costs and still need to profit share with the malls…
This is for commercial properties. I would agree. They go in with the eyes wide open.

NEA and STB shoot themselves in the foot with preserving hawker culture and keeping food cheap. Etc.

So hawker centers cannot be compared to or managed in the same as commercial food court and shop in the mall. They have extensive clauses.

ZaiNan

How much is one kopi / kopi o @ timbre nowadays?

All the good things they take siah. Beverage is most profitable one. Still dare to leech 15% more!

spunkbrat

Used to be more common may be less these days, and with so many types of payment methods it’s much easier to under declare, plus all the tracking, gathering evidence, filing suits cost more than the few thousands they stand to recover. Other countries may still be common as their retail has very different dynamics 🧐

LoaGong12

Again, all these are bw terms hawkers sign with open eyes.

Now using social pressure to wriggle their way out.

You just need to read 1 line.

"It's not the hawkers duty to feed the poor and destitute. If you cannot afford a meal, please see your MP for help."

Seetoh and his band of merry hawkers are equally the capitalist your hated landlords are.

Don't expect them to drop their prices simply because they pay lower rents.
ur last point is true but being hawker is hard and benefit more than one ? ie operator?

Kiwi8

who managed timbre ?
is any MP involved in the group?

Maybe it's time to relook at whether MPs and Politicians can be directly involved in any company dealing with govt. If it is almost all, then so be it. You want your profits, you dont join politics.
I think that Edward Chia rite?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.