[CONSOLIDATED] Lchlch's office issues

gn2807

My real life experience:-

- Joined the company and completed 3 months in a role.
- In the 4th month, my manager resigned and was scheduled to leave in 2 weeks after leave deductions.
- The Operations Director asked if I was willing to take over my manager’s responsibilities—I accepted the challenge.
- During the Handover-Takeover (HOTO) process, I discovered an unreported financial loss amounting to $80,000.
- I immediately escalated the issue to the Operations Director, who stated that the outgoing manager would be responsible for explaining the discrepancy.
- One month later, the Managing Director (MD) called for an urgent meeting regarding the financial loss.
- During the meeting, the MD questioned me about the $80,000 deficit. The Operations Director remained silent.
- I clarified that the loss was only uncovered during the HOTO process and had been escalated at that time.
- The MD stated that the financial loss would be held against me and instructed that I recover the amount.
- The following day, I submitted my resignation letter.

Emperor_Hippo

depends oso. maybe a good thing maybe a bad thing.

bad thing is, u have little to work on beyond the outdated stuff given to u and u need to go around find favours, talk to people, etc.

good thing is, u probably can reset the way the project was managed in the first place, potentially meet with more people and have better kum cheng with them. plus if u make it big, bosses will like u better than the previous fella.

i kena before. except corlick went on long leave. i also lazy to ask her questions, cos she thinks project handover is just send a few emails saying she's handing over and sua sua kee. i dun even know how my other vendors faces look like. really is a wtf.

doesn't help when she tried to flex on me when she assumed i was slacking. all the stupid 绿茶 and 小动作 shiet she was pulling and insinuating at.

glad she's gone on long leave.

Lchlch

Ok. But on top of "verbal notification", do leave traceable trails like email records. This is to prevent you from getting framed for things not to your faults during future audits etc. Your boss could later deny that you had ever spoken to him about this matter, you know?
Noted bro....

Lchlch

- In the 4th month, my manager resigned and was scheduled to leave in 2 weeks after leave deductions.
- The Operations Director asked if I was willing to take over my manager’s responsibilities—I accepted the challenge.
- During the Handover-Takeover (HOTO) process, I discovered an unreported financial loss amounting to $80,000.
- I immediately escalated the issue to the Operations Director, who stated that the outgoing manager would be responsible for explaining the discrepancy.
- One month later, the Managing Director (MD) called for an urgent meeting regarding the financial loss.
- During the meeting, the MD questioned me about the $80,000 deficit. The Operations Director remained silent.
- I clarified that the loss was only uncovered during the HOTO process and had been escalated at that time.
- The MD stated that the financial loss would be held against me and instructed that I recover the amount.
How cam they point finger at you ?
This is done during HOTO.

TanoshiXero

Non sporean.
No wonder, Ic. This kind of foreign colleague is toxic and doesn't know how to update the documentation. Don't ever provide this second chance if this foreign colleague wants to work for this company again. u should inform the HR and the HR department to take note of this matter because this foreign colleague was not doing the job properly. Updating the documentation is not so a difficult task to do.

Lchlch

Probably a heads up to those out there as a Mgr, etc etc.
Ensure documentations are up to date and staffs are in the loop.
Cannot let only one person rule the world.

XCalintz

You click on the folders and you saw the time stamp and dates are few years back...

Inside the folder, outdated docs and procedures . Still have clips....

Is that call handover???

Moderators : Please don't merge to the consolidated thread . Give this post standalone to garnish more comments. I will inform you to merge once done. Your help truly appreciated.

Not surprised. Each handover will always degen, if the next guy buay gan then problem will delay till the next challenger.

Part of working culture, most ppl dont care after resign.

gn2807

They can't point at you if they hv no solid concrete proof .

Ya, agree but no point staying though as there were no integrity and trust in the management level.

Anyway deep dive to investigate why the $80k loss occurred during my notice period.

Discovered that another colleague reporting to my manager had made duplicate product procurements for a project at different dates. Since he was my manager’s favorite, the issue was initially covered up. But he kept repeating the same mistakes for other projects until it became impossible to protect him—so manager ended up resigning.

This was in the span of 10 years

iam7377

You guys ever hv colleague resign?
Boss ask the colleague to hand over his duties.
The colleague gv you out dated docs.?
Must be extremely disappointed.
Must check deh, when he is there, he leaves Liao, maybe still can hold the salary or something...

psyger-zero

Sounds like kukubird directors.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.