Why do edmw feel depressed and jelly about money?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info
  • Need help?
    Reach out to someone from Samaritans of Singapore (24 hours): Call 1-767 or WhatsApp 9151-1767 More info

d5dude

SG is the best. PAP is the best.

Yes it is even worse in Canada.

So why you worry so much. You got PAP in SG managing things really well. Plus don't even need to pay high taxes.

I guess you answered your original question and concerns right?

Whenever you feel worried and unhappy in SG just look at other countries. All other countries are even worse than SG!

Got good and bad lah, no such thing as best or worst.

I think many countries can learn from the success and failures of past policies of other countries.

cyke69sg

Got good and bad lah, no such thing as best or worst.

I think many countries can learn from the success and failures of past policies of other countries.
Other countries are different in ideology and culture.

Also geography and resources.

Asking people to pay upfront $500k for a 700sqm apartment to lease for 99 years will not fly with Canadians. But it does with Singaporeans.

Singaporeans are extremely proud of the HDB program. Except when they are complaining about it?

Frankly I don't quite understand Singporeans but at the same time do understand Singaporeans.

The key is when Singaporeans are unhappy fearful or discontent , then should bring in comparisons with other countries. Better still get foreigners to criticize SG.

Then the SGreans themselves will ownself talk all the good things about their country how good it is how well run the pride comes out beaming.
Invariable. Consistent.

SG is the best. If you don't agree just wait till you have a few foeigners try to talk bad about SG see what happens .

d5dude

Really? Name which country is doing better on immigration than Singapore.

Got many lah. Even France, which supposedly has an immigration problem doesnt actually have a ton of immigration. They have also been able to integrate their migrants well, despite many coming from countries with low religious tolerance.

PAP is just wholesale importing PRCs to fill the void left by the disappearing Singaporean Chinese now (due to abysmally low TFR), they dun care if these people are integrating.

cyke69sg

Got many lah. Even France, which supposedly has an immigration problem doesnt actually have a ton of immigration. They have also been able to integrate their migrants well, despite many coming from countries with low religious tolerance.

PAP is just wholesale importing PRCs to fill the void left by the disappearing Singaporean Chinese now (due to abysmally low TFR), they dun care if these people are integrating.
France is better at immigration policy than Singapore? Seriously? They have integrated their migrants well? Gosh.

@Bumperbee88 @AuraKUPO @DragonFire @MoeLanYong @nyvrem @coyote @Philipkee @cosmothecat @carey @N4E.SI what do you all think? France better than SG at immigration policy?

cosmothecat

France is better at immigration policy than Singapore? Seriously? They have integrated their migrants well? Gosh.

@Bumperbee88 @AuraKUPO @DragonFire @MoeLanYong @nyvrem @coyote @Philipkee @cosmothecat @carey @N4E.SI what do you all think? France better than SG at immigration policy?
France and Singapore have different approaches to immigration; “better” depends on priorities.

France​

• Focuses on worker shortages, humanitarian protection, and assimilation.
  • Recent reforms ease skilled migration but stress language skills and cultural integration.
  • Strong border controls, but challenges remain in integrating migrants and handling illegal immigration.

Singapore​

• Segments migrants by skill: skilled workers are welcomed with pathways to residency; low-skilled remain temporary.
  • Policies prioritize economic growth, with strict controls for lower-skilled and clearer paths for professionals.
  • Social integration programs exist for new citizens, but temporary workers have fewer rights.
Neither system is universally “better”—France emphasizes rights and assimilation, while Singapore values economic strategy and selective integration.

DragonFire

Onl

[what do you all think? France better than SG at immigration policy?

Only been to France as a tourist and read into the revolution period. I haven’t read up on much post WW1 and can’t comment on their modern policies beyond posting the ocassional Empereur Macron meme.

d5dude

They have done better than most countries. For example they dun allow Muslims to wear head coverings in many places, e.g schools, this is to uphold the principle of secularism. The other western countries including Canada are too liberal with this, so much so that these groups are now demanding a separate set of laws in some of these countries.

d5dude

France and Singapore have different approaches to immigration; “better” depends on priorities.

France​

• Focuses on worker shortages, humanitarian protection, and assimilation.
  • Recent reforms ease skilled migration but stress language skills and cultural integration.
  • Strong border controls, but challenges remain in integrating migrants and handling illegal immigration.

Singapore​

• Segments migrants by skill: skilled workers are welcomed with pathways to residency; low-skilled remain temporary.
  • Policies prioritize economic growth, with strict controls for lower-skilled and clearer paths for professionals.
  • Social integration programs exist for new citizens, but temporary workers have fewer rights.
Neither system is universally “better”—France emphasizes rights and assimilation, while Singapore values economic strategy and selective integration.

ChatGPT?

Sounds about right.

cyke69sg

They have done better than most countries. For example they dun allow Muslims to wear head coverings in many places, e.g schools, this is to uphold the principle of secularism. The other western countries including Canada are too liberal with this, so much so that these groups are now demanding a separate set of laws in some of these countries.
So what would you like to see Singapore learn from France with immigration?
What about refugees?

Dopod007

I think self-investment is the best, most profitable, and most valuable investment you can make, as it leads to personal growth, improved skills, and greater wealth and happiness.

d5dude

So what would you like to see Singapore learn from France with immigration?
What about refugees?

I'm talking about immigration, not refugees. France is a founding member of the EU, there was no way for them to refuse to accept the refugee quota. In general they have strong border controls and immigration policy, not like any Tom, Dick and Harry can just migrate to France, they have to be able to assimilate.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.