Who Here Is Earning $50K/Month or More? Let’s Talk Strateg

dereth

How did u get rich?
@dereth bro come and share your story. It is very inspiring!
You have one of the best life stories in EDMW!

Luck is what it is. You can call it calculated luck, maybe?

The story is simple. I worked at Broadcom for almost 10 years before I was retrenched. When the company went public, I started buying a bit of the shares every month. Not much, mind you, I was merely earning $3k a month.

Avago (before it was renamed to Broadcom) was an extremely tight ship. The company was very lean and ran like a startup even though it's a sizeable MNC divested from Agilent's Semiconductor Products Group (SPG), with deep roots in HP.

Near the end of my tenure in 2017, I had about S$300k worth of company shares and started a thread in Money Mind to seek advice on diversifying.... "If you have S$300,000..."

Multiple M&As drove the price up. The company also did well and was growing organically, amidst nonsense market rumors that the company has grown complacent and does not value R&D.

Au contraire! The company's largest investment is Research and Development! Always has been and always will be.

Operational expenses, on the other hand, were tightly controlled. I think we were the leanest IT department in the industry, with 1% spending.

At one point, I recalled Broadcom being the 3rd largest semiconductor company by market capitalization, behind Intel and Samsung. With Hock at the helm right from the start, I knew the company would continue to do well. Some will call the CEO a slave driver, but he proved that he could deliver miracles for investors, quarter after quarter.

So... yeah, you catch my drift. ;)

Just don't go reading the employee reviews at Glassdoor.

When I was finally let go in 2018, my holdings were still worth about S$300k. I think you can see why I was thinking of selling amidst the few years of stagnation.

After I was retrenched, I've been surviving on my existing savings and the dividends generated from my untouched stocks, despite numerous advice from everyone to diversify.

Well, this is the bed I made, and I'm snuggling in it, come hell or high water.

S$300k finally became S$1 million in 2022. Take note that I usually state numbers in SGD and not USD.

After that, the industry suddenly pivoted to AI, and Broadcom went along with it, with Nvidia leading the pack.

My holdings grew to S$2m at the end of 2023, then S$4.5m in 2024.

It's got to S$7m so far... but what a tumultuous year, with the Liberation Day tariffs dropping my holdings down to just under S$3m.

I know that with Hock Tan at the helm, this ship is where I will sail with for a while longer.

Apologies for the tedious wall of text. I did not intend to write this much when I started putting thoughts down into words... A bad habit of mine. I shall end this rambling soon. Just let me sum up the rest and thank you for your patience.

One more thing... Some people still think of AI as a bubble industry, like Dotcom, NFT, or Metaverse... I am very much sure this isn't one. I have dabbled in technology for over 40 years and have seen so much with humanity's meteoric digital advancement in recent years.

But it was that fateful day, when I first interacted with ChatGPT, that I felt genuine fear and unease. I knew the world would never be the same again. You know what they are saying about the displacement of jobs and such? I think it's true. And much more.

The brave new world is upon us.

Looks like he dowan re tell his story.

Paiseh... missed this...

Took quite some time to write this piece, then I was distracted by Charlie Kirk's assassination and forgot to finish this draft.

Iamnobodyla

The story is simple. I worked at Broadcom for almost 10 years before I was retrenched. When the company went public, I started buying a bit of the shares every month. Not much, mind you, I was merely earning $3k a month.

Avago (before it was renamed to Broadcom) was an extremely tight ship. The company was very lean and ran like a startup even though it's a sizeable MNC divested from Agilent's Semiconductor Products Group (SPG), with deep roots in HP.

Near the end of my tenure in 2017, I had about S$300k worth of company shares and started a thread in Money Mind to seek advice on diversifying.... "If you have S$300,000..."

Multiple M&As drove the price up. The company also did well and was growing organically, amidst nonsense market rumors that the company has grown complacent and does not value R&D.

Au contraire! The company's largest investment is Research and Development! Always has been and always will be.

Operational expenses, on the other hand, were tightly controlled. I think we were the leanest IT department in the industry, with 1% spending.

At one point, I recalled Broadcom being the 3rd largest semiconductor company by market capitalization, behind Intel and Samsung. With Hock at the helm right from the start, I knew the company would continue to do well. Some will call the CEO a slave driver, but he proved that he could deliver miracles for investors, quarter after quarter.

When I was finally let go in 2018, my holdings were still worth about S$300k. I think you can see why I was thinking of selling amidst the few years of stagnation.

After I was retrenched, I've been surviving on my existing savings and the dividends generated from my untouched stocks, despite numerous advice from everyone to diversify.

S$300k finally became S$1 million in 2022. Take note that I usually state numbers in SGD and not USD.

After that, the industry suddenly pivoted to AI, and Broadcom went along with it, with Nvidia leading the pack.

It's got to S$7m so far... but what a tumultuous year, with the Liberation Day tariffs dropping my holdings down to just under S$3m.

I know that with Hock Tan at the helm, this ship is where I will sail with for a while longer.

Apologies for the tedious wall of text. I did not intend to write this much when I started putting thoughts down into words... A bad habit of mine. I shall end this rambling soon. Just let me sum up the rest and thank you for your patience.

One more thing... Some people still think of AI as a bubble industry, like Dotcom, NFT, or Metaverse... I am very much sure this isn't one. I have dabbled in technology for over 40 years and have seen so much with humanity's meteoric digital advancement in recent years.

But it was that fateful day, when I first interacted with ChatGPT, that I felt genuine fear and unease. I knew the world would never be the same again. You know what they are saying about the displacement of jobs and such? I think it's true. And much more.

Paiseh... missed this...

Took quite some time to write this piece, then I was distracted by Charlie Kirk's assassination and forgot to finish this draft.
Woah ur holding grow from 300k to 7m? Did u encash? Are there dividends?

But right now it is at 3m from 7m?

kallangfishing

Actually nothing wrong with comparing. It is what it is.
You are richer than me. And I am sincerely happy for you.
Does that make me unhappy? Nope. Why should it? Your money your life is not my life and you being rich doesn't make me poorer.
I am happy myself. Grateful for what I have. Proud of myself for achieving what I have.
I am good enough.
Is ok to compare. I find it interesting and inspiring.
But it will subconsciously make u feel unhappy

eg, ur same year school mates and industry peers all making 30k but u making 15k only, u will start to wonder maybe ur company had low balled u, ur friends and wife ask u why and think u cruising having an easy life.

Even if u are ok, it will catch up to u one

u dun exist solely alone, its all relative to ur social circle

dereth

Woah ur holding grow from 300k to 7m? Did u encash? Are there dividends?

But right now it is at 3m from 7m?

There are dividends, not that much after 30% tax to US IRS.

But I don't get it. What do you mean by 3m from 7m?

Iamnobodyla

There are dividends, not that much after 30% tax to US IRS.

But I don't get it. What do you mean by 3m from 7m?

This. U mention got to 7m then drop until just under 3m.

did u ever enjoy those money? Or u just hold and didnt use it?

how i wish my company have stocks too!

dereth

I see.

Take, for example, the peak at US$244 in January this year.

It dropped due to the emergence of Deepseek. Then it kind of recovered, but then... Liberation Day tariff announcements plunged it to US$146.

That took it from about US$3.7m (S$5m) to US$2.2m (S$3m).

It's a loss of about US$1.5m or S$2m. These are rough calculations, but I hope you get the idea.

So, from the lowest point of US$146 in April 2025, a share of AVGO is now worth US$369.57 in September 2025. This resulted in a gradual increase from US$3.5m (S$4.3m) from $2.2m (S$3m) to US$5.7m (S$7.3m) in my portfolio.

That's an upside of US$3.5m (S$4.3m).

I've been living on dividends, a high-yield savings account, small investments, and infrequent, insignificant trades.

I've not touched any of the stocks in 7 years. Even if I sell, I have no idea what to spend on.

arsenalfc85

Paiseh... missed this...

This is all heaven’s plans for u

u are meant to earn that amount de.

congrats

cyke69sg

But it will subconsciously make u feel unhappy

eg, ur same year school mates and industry peers all making 30k but u making 15k only, u will start to wonder maybe ur company had low balled u, ur friends and wife ask u why and think u cruising having an easy life.

Even if u are ok, it will catch up to u one

u dun exist solely alone, its all relative to ur social circle
But I live in Canada. Calgary. House is cheaper. Cars cheaper.
No debt. High monthly earnings. I am in the top 1% in Canada earnings and net worth.
I work only about a day or two a week.
Yes my peers earn more than me in SG. They have higher net worth than me in SG.
But do they have a better quality of life than me?
From my calculations in terms of PPP it is 5 times cheaper here in Canada.

I am truly happy now and cannot ask for more even though more keeps coming in!
Money isn't an issue anymore for us but it's in the Canadian context.

I am grateful.

cyke69sg

I have a friend who worked for a company in SG and for phantom shares that grew a lot then he sold for millions and retired in Canada.

Get rich is through investing. Not working. Even if earn 50k or more a year doesn't make you rich.must invest the money.

kuti-kuti

Who Here Is Earning $50K/Month or More?​

Earn 50k per month where got time surf edmw?

cyke69sg

This is all heaven’s plans for u

u are meant to earn that amount de.

congrats
I envy @dereth a lot.
My investments have all been slow and steady returns and takes longer to grow
But ok lah better to make money than lose in stocks.
My consolation is earning more through my active work. Then invest the money into funds every month.

Kuudere

Actually those who earn a lot have more free time.
I know it is paradoxical but it is true!
Wouldn't be surprised if they have free time, but wouldn't really be browsing edmw. Perhaps using free time to play golf, enjoy life already

cyke69sg

Wouldn't be surprised if they have free time, but wouldn't really be browsing edmw. Perhaps using free time to play golf, enjoy life already
Got 24h in a day.

Plenty of time

Is ok. I get that it is comforting to tell ownself that EDMW cannot have anyone earning $70k a month cos they have no time to be in EDMW.
🤣

dereth

In the past, peanuts had never even appeared in my dreams because I could not even fathom the amount with my tinsy brain and four-digit bank account.

tanchoolengheader.jpg

I suddenly realized my unrealized profit last night was PEANUTS. :oops:

Half a million USD or about S$650k.

Spike

need to work for the right company lor

if ure not working in the next big thing company, also hard to invest in the right company

if bro dereth wasn't working for broadcom, would he have put in so much money into avgo n hold for so long? im not sure...this one gotta ask him

sometimes 天时地利人和 and ba zi very important n underrated
Dereth did two things right that you wouldn't find many people can follow.

1. He believed in his company and bought more shares over the years. Most normal employees would have exercised their company options, and sold them whenever possible. Or find them expensive to buy since they got in at a much lower price.

2. He held the shares throughout peaks and troughs without taking profits.

This is also how the rich becomes richer. Most billionaires have their networth stuck in their company shares.

Long story short, his mentality is there. Even if he had worked for another company, he would have made good money even at 50% of Broadcom's share performance.

Let us don't discount his perseverance.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.