30s-50s chitchat club

Mr.Kopi

If got export and shipping documents for physical goods, can zero rate it no?
Not physical goods. Nothing.
On overseas online platform. Payment is for ads served on overseas platform for overseas audience. But because billing is in Singapore, kena charged 9%
And also because it's personal.. so I kena. Hai.. is it need to setup a company to avoid this 9%?

harbinger255

On overseas online platform. Payment is for ads served on overseas platform for overseas audience. But because billing is in Singapore, kena charged 9%
And also because it's personal.. so I kena. Hai.. is it need to setup a company to avoid this 9%?
Yeah... Setup and register for gst or overseas billing address (which might kenna their vat) Then can claim input tax... Else you considered end consumer liao mah

Autumn.

dunno reh. i know i confirm stomach issues there. but just whack and try. want try their street food, hope stomach 真气一点
pack some mylanta. i find them useful
i agree with you. Prices should be all in just like in supermarket. I don't understand why F&B are so special.
i feel only my/sg this special?

personally, i hate GST for online purchase, especially those not bought onshore but offshore. why the f i have to pay for service where no service at all.
its the same globally.

Mr.Kopi

Yeah... Setup and register for gst or overseas billing address (which might kenna their vat) Then can claim input tax... Else you considered end consumer liao mah
Okay. I need to do research. Set up company can really set up with just $2? :s13:

Milo-Dino

Knn this one is irritating. My biz conducted overseas. But I paid for ads to be served overseas. Yet i still kena 9% gst.. knn
Because your ads are also consumed in Singapore lor... Unless can prove to them Singapore cannot consume the ads...

:(

Milo-Dino

yeah lor. dunno is it only exclusive for Singapore to have such GST for online purchase. i mean, our government really tried many ways to earn as much from consumer.
This is to level the playing field for local retailers...

Cosz local retailers will suffer if you can buy the same item (less tax) from overseas...

Milo-Dino

I think gst may not be applicable for some companies that may be small/new or haven’t hit certain figures or something...
not really sure and didn’t bother to find out.

I’ve been to f&b that has no gst. My friend’s Reno firm used to have no gst also.. but now have already..
U only need to register for gst number if sales hit 1million.

Milo-Dino

U set up company u will still kena the 9%... Just that can claim back (ie offset by the gst you collect from any sales)

Milo-Dino

Cannot charge. This is for my book publishing hustle... I sell through Amazon.
Amazon also charge gst... Just that it is zero rated gst (ie 0% gst)

Or if the goods don't transit in Singapore.. Then it is "out of scope" gst. 0%

Autumn.

The more I read about the conspiracy theory surrounding the于朦龙 case, the more disturbing it gets. Make me wonder if I can really trust people a not.

Yeah. Last time tried applied their role always, have to be Bangkok based, which I do not mind. 😂
It only matter if you are the pretty boy... commenting for both posts.

then the MOM postings, my thoughts are, they are quite complacent? same as all the agencies.
"DO NOT ROCK THE BOAT"
also, with 2-3 years tenure, who would wanna implement changes that doesn't benefit them?
if one actually dun care about it, they had try to implement, but did not manage to do so before leaving for next position, the new person comes, he/she / it may shelf it.

Mr.Kopi

Amazon also charge gst... Just that it is zero rated gst (ie 0% gst)

Or if the goods don't transit in Singapore.. Then it is "out of scope" gst. 0%
Don't transit. They print and mail out in USA. Amazon.com...

Mr.Kopi

Considered out of scope supply lor. So your sales is gst 0% when reporting to iras. And you can claim your advertising 9%.
So still need set up company and do all the necessary?
I see the fees also a few hundred. Hai still losing money on my books ads.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.