Discussn CPF : Anyone alredy reached ERS ($450k) or topping up FRS to ERS ?

socratesg

Just crossed 40 milestone.

Though I have reached CPF FRS and a biz owner, I am wondering if I shd continue to contribute or top up my FRS to ERS of $450K. The interest for ERS is not bad, I think annual 4% rite ? Also completely risk free. So after 65yo, it will becum CPF Life and I can get min $3K/mth payout for life.

Anyone alredy reached ERS ?

lls0101

Though I have reached CPF FRS and a biz owner, I am wondering if I shd continue to contribute or top up my FRS to ERS of $450K. The interest for ERS is not bad, I think annual 4% rite ? Also completely risk free. So after 65yo, it will becum CPF Life and I can get min $3K/mth payout for life.

The interest of RA, OA and SA is the same regardless if you choose FRS or ERS.

If you like more payout than standard FRS payout, then top up. Hard to comment since everyone have their own preference and requirements.

Guojing88

Considering all the scams going on nowadays, its a good idea to use cash to top up your RA to ERS, after it extracts the FRS from your CPF accounts.

Then leave the rest of OA as a bank account.

I am 52 now and I plan to do that at 55, and every year after that

crimsontactics

No moi haven't reached ERS yet Bro socratesg... :(

Itsthatguy

Considering all the scams going on nowadays, its a good idea to use cash to top up your RA to ERS, after it extracts the FRS from your CPF accounts.

With scams why not put in FD still can draw out unlike CPF life, die leow balance go common pool and descendants can't get any of the balance in the ERS.

socratesg

Hmm...You mean extract before 65yo ?

I think once you committed to ERS at 65yo and it becum CPF Life, you can't extract it anymore coz it goes to a common pool. It's locked and a monthly payout will ensue.

mcylo

Reach frs liao……at the moment stick to frs first.

excess Cpf money buy dividend yielding stocks

qhong61

Pls do if u have spare cash

Gondon72

With scams why not put in FD still can draw out unlike CPF life, die leow balance go common pool and descendants can't get any of the balance in the ERS.
Sure boh?

Your CPF LIFE premium balance, which is the total CPF LIFE premium that you have paid minus the total payouts you have received, will also be distributed to your nominee(s) together with any remaining CPF savings.

Guojing88

Hmm...You mean extract before 65yo ?

I think once you committed to ERS at 65yo and it becum CPF Life, you can't extract it anymore coz it goes to a common pool. It's locked and a monthly payout will ensue.

I am talking about 55, when your RA is formed, it will extract the FRS from your SA, then your OA.

Guojing88

If you are talking about now, OA 2.5% beats all FD you can find in the market.

yokine3a

Already reached frs, intention to go ers is not high. When I am tired with managing own investment n no energy to monitor stock market everyday, then will consider it.

dry_county

Just realized that my OA reached ERS liao. But I’m going to choose FRS. :(:(:(

dev_stg_prd

The interest of RA, OA and SA is the same regardless if you choose FRS or ERS.

If you like more payout than standard FRS payout, then top up. Hard to comment since everyone have their own preference and requirements.
what abt brs + bequest HDB ah?

aarontansp

Not gonna lock up my money in ERS and live on a monthly payout.

Itsthatguy

Sure boh?

Your CPF LIFE premium balance, which is the total CPF LIFE premium that you have paid minus the total payouts you have received, will also be distributed to your nominee(s) together with any remaining CPF savings.
yah. you tio. :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.