Andrew Loh| Mr Tang Liang Hong has passed away

Can Or Not

Tang LH was the person LKY v scared of... in 1997 GE. That was the year I made up my mind to never vote PAP ever.

PAP was so arrogant and abusive to the max.

It is the reason why Chengsan GRC disappeared forever.
How come LKY is not afraid of LTK and CST??? Now LTK WP so formidable

jtsh55

RIP
no idea who lai de
Screen-Shot-2017-09-30-at-5.35.25-PM.png

eAtNeAt

Rip.
Kena whacked very hard before social media came into existence.
154 and pappies controls every piece of narrative.

krikering

Heh

Wanted to say ... if LKY and wife were so great lawyers, when they were given discounts for purchasing high priced property , why didn't it trigger something in their minds

And if it didn't, why is Iswasy punished for accepting gifts from Ong?
There is no indication Iswasy gave something back to Ong or he was at Ong's beck and call
You can look into Francis Seow's history and why he eventually turned from LKY's Blue-eyed boy to being exiled.
Same goes for an important part of 1G team (but head the Union instead of join Cabinet) Devan Nair.

When LKY continued to stay on, whilst Hon Sui Sen/S Rajaratnam/Goh Keng Swee/Toh Chin Chye and rest of 1G leaders stepped down for leadership succession plans. SG was already set on the current path we are at now.

He wanted SG's economy to be dominated by SOEs/GLCs, etc. Once he set the blueprint for that, he placed his relatives/families and cronies, etc. in the SOEs/GLCs, etc.

He practically fostered a culture which was unfriendly towards entrepreneurship, thus we had to eventually utilize grants and kept corporate income taxes low for the Big Banks and MNCs, etc. to set up offices here.

But now as our costs dramatically shoot up, due to SGD + our rentier economy structure they also rather just maintain a satellite office here for Asia-Pacific HQ thus they just outsource majority of labour force to other countries in Southeast Asia.

That is why WP's Kenneth Tiong earlier mentioned about our own government and those linked to it being our own SMEs' biggest competitors once they reached a certain size.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...te-parliament-ai-job-support-last-day-5371521

That is why you see alot of SME owners just sua and bootlick government to become part of their cronies cycle, so thay they can get some left-over bread crumbs (e.g Town Council projects and Hawker Centres' operating groups, etc.).

You see the gap in our creativity and innovation compared with e.g Denmark, whose population even though smaller than us but can produce Novel Prize Winners and world-class enterprises e.g Novo Nordisk, ISS, Maersk and Lego, etc.

He would never expect his own son to be so incompetent, that need to rely on government being the biggest landlord + running a population ponzi scheme to keep on pumping GDP figures.

And now that our Southeast Asia neighbours are starting to buck up, SG is caught in a conundrum especially given our lack of land size (Thus Strategic depth) and natural resources.

AndroidComa

How come LKY is not afraid of LTK and CST??? Now LTK WP so formidable
where is the formidable
WP is like the 'approved' opposition
keep saying they have no ambitions to take over the govt
just want check and balance
give newer MPs a chance to brush up their punching skills

sometimes u need to let your 'kids' go out and meet their match and collect rare pokemons you know

grevq80o

Would 2-party politics be in a more advanced form now if Cheng San GRC was captured by WP that year?
No need to speculate on hypotheticals. Hypothetical is a waste of time in politics because it is simply in your imagination only. This is already history and in the past. Just take note of what happened in the past and understand the true nature of PAP (at least for the younger generation, whom the PAP has controlled projection of their image to them.)

grevq80o

I only know Cheng San is in AMK back in 1992
This name "Cheng San" was dropped and treated as toxic after 1997 election. The PAP overplayed their credbility. Made Goh Chok Tong halfway switch GRC to Cheng San (yar, half way through campaigning ... they set the rules). And super intense smearing campaign led by LKY even though he wasn't the PM. And the slogan "if you let Tang win, you will lose your PM, you want country to lose its leader?".

Same tactic they used in Punggol GRC in 2025 GE. Well.. sinkies are easily swayed... Ofcuz PAP will win. They only need to put their key appointment holder in the GRC and will guarantee they win.

Bad kids

So sad… he was the very embodiment of political controversy in Singapore’s formative years. I reckon most folks today have long forgotten the Nassim Jade saga and its stormy implications...

SaGu

sagu submit he crossed the red line by engaging in race politics

RIP 🙏

#saguwisdom :vijayadmin:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.