Andrew Loh| Mr Tang Liang Hong has passed away

pattanispirit

LTK was biding for his time. In the hopes that PAPaya's choice of talents will start to deteroriate and self implode. It's a matter of time the old man will uplorry and his aura will dissipate.

He spent half of his lifetime to help achieve what WP it is today. It was an uphill battle.

Younger generation don't know how PAPaya ministers and MPs talk then. Opposition MPs were humiliated, suan and looked down by the arrogant PAPaya in parliament sesssions. 10 times worse than what Canto Tan did to LMW.

Back then majority of the wards are uncontested which resulted in walkover victories. No chance to take your frustration out at the ballot box even! LOL!

JBJ and Francis Seow used to be top civil servants b4 they became oppo

JBJ, born in Sri Lanka.

"After being called to the bar as a barrister at Gray's Inn on 27 November 1951, Jeyaretnam joined the Singapore Legal Service in 1952. In the following 11 years, Jeyaretnam held various positions, including magistrate, district judge, crown counsel, deputy public prosecutor and registrar of the Supreme Court.

He was also Singapore's first criminal district judge.[20] In his memoir, Jeyaretnam revealed that he had crossed swords with Lee Kuan Yew when the latter was still a practising lawyer, at times when Jeyaretnam was the deputy public prosecutor and later the presiding court judge. He left the legal service in 1963 for private practice and eventually set up his own law firm in 1968."

Francis Seow

Seow started his legal career in 1956 in the Singapore Legal Service, becoming Solicitor-General in 1969 before entering private practice in 1972.

8ad790f9cf42f0133bccfc8c1e3f9dae.jpg

xdivider

sagu suggest LTK abandoned his mentor JBJ when he was struggling with his bankruptcy proceedings and can a man who let down his mentor and leader be a hero in WP just like what CSJ did to CST ? 😝

#saguwisdom :vijayadmin:
a case of no money to lend and dun want to get into his feud can spin into backstabbing. really good imagination......

so u agree miw basically abandoned their mentor/hero lky by not letting him tear down his house.......

jeffrey745

Last time become opposition member really is no joke one, kana sued/bankrupt/jailed, etc. If you fight them head on like JBJ, TLH and Francis Seow, etc. they will fix you jialat one.

The only reason why LTK and CST survived so long, is because they got no threat and also did not openly challenge PAP. Also the fact that they managed their constituency well.

Well CST was proven to be of no threat, and he never really had much ambition too after he fell out with Wong Hong Toy and the rest.

LTK stayed low whilst waiting for the right opportunity to strike (GE 2011) Looking back they probably regret not fixing LTK back before Internet/Social Media era. The AHTC was the best they can come up with.

They probably did Not expect that WP grew to the stature it did now, when though WP only has around 10% of the seats but at least they somewhat still have the power to bring to attention NTUC Income-Allianz deal and Minimum Wages (which PAP later repackage it as PWM), etc.
Actually my dad said b4, they can't totally kill off all opposition. There's a segment of voters that want them in parliament. So LTK and CST was put into parliament as "tokens"

SaGu

a case of no money to lend and dun want to get into his feud can spin into backstabbing. really good imagination......

so u agree miw basically abandoned their mentor/hero lky by not letting him tear down his house.......

sagu suggest @xdivider to go ask KJ how he felt about his father’s being abandoned by LTK in WP, just a story spin ?! 😡

Workers Party Clearly Have No Shame Otherwise Why Do They Continue to Cynically Use JBJ’s Name Despite Abandoning Him So Callously?​

https://kenjeyaretnam.com/2017/04/1...bjs-name-despite-abandoning-him-so-callously/

Of course none of the current WP MPs mention their leader’s (LTK) shabby treatment of my father.

My father would turn over in his grave if he knew that all the sacrifices he made, financial and personal, ending up with little more than the clothes on his back, had enabled LTK and his cronies and proteges to make millions in MP salaries and fees for managing the Town Council.

xdivider

sagu suggest to go ask KJ how he felt about his father’s being abandoned by LTK in WP, just a story spin ?! 😡

Workers Party Clearly Have No Shame Otherwise Why Do They Continue to Cynically Use JBJ’s Name Despite Abandoning Him So Callously?​

https://kenjeyaretnam.com/2017/04/1...bjs-name-despite-abandoning-him-so-callously/

Of course none of the current WP MPs mention their leader’s (LTK) shabby treatment of my father.

My father would turn over in his grave if he knew that all the sacrifices he made, financial and personal, ending up with little more than the clothes on his back, had enabled LTK and his cronies and proteges to make millions in MP salaries and fees for managing the Town Council.

Which was later proven tat the only place where frens give frens public monies is amktc....

Wp did not wanted to continue the lawsuit wars if u actually follow the list of suits jbj went into....

And u avoided my qn. Did ahdou and gang turn their back on theur hero ah gong....

Tabula Rasa

sagu suggest @xdivider to go ask KJ how he felt about his father’s being abandoned by LTK in WP, just a story spin ?! 😡

Not so straightforward. LTK wanted to move WP to a different direction. JBJ wanted to continue his style of politics. LTK realised that politics cannot and should not be about a single charismatic figure. And he walked the talk because he groomed a new generation of opposition politicians and stepped down despite calls to come back to contest in the election.

SaGu

Not so straightforward. LTK wanted to move WP to a different direction. JBJ wanted to continue his style of politics. LTK realised that politics cannot and should not be about a single charismatic figure. And he walked the talk because he groomed a new generation of opposition politicians and stepped down despite calls to come back to contest in the election.

sagu submit LTK abandoned his leader and mentor JBJ to move WP to his different direction as alleged, no ? 😝

krikering

Actually my dad said b4, they can't totally kill off all opposition. There's a segment of voters that want them in parliament. So LTK and CST was put into parliament as "tokens"
Turns out that LTK was just slowly bidding his time, meanwhile he completely reformed WP from within.

For CST, he never really put in alot of effort to properly groom a successor. Still cannot believe he chose to let his wife succeed the Potong Pasir seat.

Benjamin Pwee was more than capable to be his successor. No wonder him and Alfred, etc. all left after that.

Same goes for CSJ and Desmond Lim prior to that. And he fell out with SDP Bigwigs too, even Wong Hong Toy.

https://mothership.sg/2019/08/grc-chiam-see-tong-opposition-coalition/

CSJ wanted to ask CST to come back SDP in 2011 one, but the plans fell through.
Which was later proven tat the only place where frens give frens public monies is amktc....

Wp did not wanted to continue the lawsuit wars if u actually follow the list of suits jbj went into....

And u avoided my qn. Did ahdou and gang turn their back on theur hero ah gong....

JBJ is really similar to LKY in a way, main-character syndrome very strong. He held onto the Sect-Gen seat for 30 years, but throughout the years kept on getting sued and WP had to pay for it.

Respect his tenacity and determination, but LTK's approach was eventually proven to be right. You see how he managed the Succession process and eventually handed over to Pritam Singh.

Curious to see if Pritam Singh will still continue to be Sect-Gen in 2030, he assumed the seat in 2017 so is 8 years now liao but he will only be 53-54 years old in 2030 GE so still generally young.

But personally feel that will be better to rotate the Sect-Gen seat every 5-10 years ba, best not to let a single individual be entrenched in power too long. Otherwise, no different from Pinky.

You see LW now PM, he still getting most of the attention. Machiam like reminding LW that who is still thr one calling the shots.

xdivider

Turns out that LTK was just slowly bidding his time, meanwhile he completely reformed WP from within.

For CST, he never really put in alot of effort to properly groom a successor. Still cannot believe he chose to let his wife succeed the Potong Pasir seat.

Benjamin Pwee was more than capable to be his successor. No wonder him and Alfred, etc. all left after that.

Same goes for CSJ and Desmond Lim prior to that. And he fell out with SDP Bigwigs too, even Wong Hong Toy.

JBJ is really similar to LKY in a way, main-character syndrome very strong. He held onto the Sect-Gen seat for 30 years, but throughout the years kept on getting sued and WP had to pay for it.

Respect his tenacity and determination, but LTK's approach was eventually proven to be right. You see how he managed the Succession process and eventually handed over to Pritam Singh.

Curious to see if Pritam Singh will still continue to be Sect-Gen in 2030, he assumed the seat in 2017 so is 8 years now liao but he will only be 53-54 years old in 2030 GE so still generally young.

But personally feel that will be better to rotate the Sect-Gen seat every 5-10 years ba, best not to let a single individual be entrenched in power too long. Otherwise, no different from Pinky.

You see LW now PM, he still getting most of the attention. Machiam like reminding LW that who is still thr one calling the shots.
if u looked at the amounts they were sued ,1-200k per time, during the 90-2000 periods, u can realize how much thats going to add up since he was at least sued 4-5 times separately. for a small party like wp thats basically going to a unwinnable war on the enemy's terms. no disrespect but majority voted against that route. meanwhile someone conveniently avoided my question about ah gong being disrespected 2x.......

krikering

if u looked at the amounts they were sued ,1-200k per time, during the 90-2000 periods, u can realize how much thats going to add up since he was at least sued 4-5 times separately. for a small party like wp thats basically going to a unwinnable war on the enemy's terms. no disrespect but majority voted against that route. meanwhile someone conveniently avoided my question about ah gong being disrespected 2x.......
Yes, JBJ's ways were simply unsustainable. In fact even the old guards from Barisan Socialis e.g Lee Siew Choh, etc. left WP due to difficulties in working with him.

Actually he is very similar to LKY in a way, both have very strong main-character syndrome.

Even now, you see CSJ reformed into a much-more mellowed version of himself 30 years ago. General Public simply does not like confrontational politics.

Which is why people like Lim Tean and Goh Meng Seng, etc. will also not win, because no one will consider them viable candidates for the MPs' positions.

Can foresee PSP changing direction now under Lawrence Pek alongside Wendy Low, Stephanie Tan and the rest.

If cannot get inside the parliament, forever will Not be able to enact any changes. At most be like Berthan Henson and KF Seetoh, etc. to highlight issues and hopefully cause a stir time-to-time nia.

Only by getting seats, then only will you have the power and influence to change.

Jack_Chen

well, he is in the same place as ah gong now, maybe they can do debates 'down' there or 'up' there.

Tabula Rasa

I enjoy reading your opinion. WP quite opaque, really hard to know whats happening behind the scenes. Most of what I could gather was from Yee Jenn Jong's book, which was quite an eye opener.

I am not sure what direction Pritam is taking the party towards. It does feel, to me, that WP under him prefers to play its cards a lot safer, take less risks. Even the statements that he give in podcasts sound very neutral and motherhood.

However, it seems to be, in some ways, paying off for WP. They manage to retain a lot of votes despite the national swing towards PAP, and they also seem to be able to attract younger talents.

krikering

I enjoy reading your opinion. WP quite opaque, really hard to know whats happening behind the scenes. Most of what I could gather was from Yee Jenn Jong's book, which was quite an eye opener.

I am not sure what direction Pritam is taking the party towards. It does feel, to me, that WP under him prefers to play its cards a lot safer, take less risks. Even the statements that he give in podcasts sound very neutral and motherhood.

However, it seems to be, in some ways, paying off for WP. They manage to retain a lot of votes despite the national swing towards PAP, and they also seem to be able to attract younger talents.
Like reading yours and many here too, as long as the discussion is in a civil manner only natural for us to enjoy conversing with each other on topics that we personally feel interested in.

As for playing it safe, would personally think that Pritam's mastery of the English Language and his Lawyer nature make his speeches as such.

LTK's vocabulary is more limited, and thus is more straightforward/direct but it also might potential work against if in the event that he back-pedals.

Considering the current situation is that Government is withholding important up-to-date information and data, thus advisable to be more cautious and Not make official statements based on incomplete/Not Up-To-Date information.

If you make speeches based on the information that is available now (which is Not everything, as mentioned is withheld by the relevant ministries on orders) then they can easily caught you off-guard and then attempt to discredit you e.g LMW, etc.

Tabula Rasa

Like reading yours and many here too, as long as the discussion is in a civil manner only natural for us to enjoy conversing with each other on topics that we personally feel interested in.

As for playing it safe, would personally think that Pritam's mastery of the English Language and his Lawyer nature make his speeches as such.

LTK's vocabulary is more limited, and thus is more straightforward/direct but it also might potential work against if in the event that might back-pedal.

Considering the current situation is that Government is withholding important up-to-date information and data, thus advisable to be more cautious.

If you make speeches based on the information that is available now (which is Not everything, as mentioned is withheld by the relevant ministries on orders) then they can easily caught you off-guard and then attempt to discredit you e.g LMW, etc.

You're right. But Pritam also often seems non committal with regards to his stances. I'm not sure how effective it will be in attracting the swing voters, of which there seems to be an increasing percentage among the electorate.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.