ZB.....1yo boy was playing alone in the private residence's courtyard and accidentally fell into the swimming pool....sent to hospital...RIP

EDMW-Hates-Me

Why couldn't ask the father to prepare the document while they drove to the hospital?

Mecisteus

RIP little guy

if i were him i'd want everyone to know who my parents were
If you were him, you are already dead. The dead cannot do anything.

But any normal parent will not want to be named.

Maybe some special people would like their family name to splash big big so that EDMW can laugh ?

Dudick

So what if I know? Nothing. It will just be another piece of news to me.

I don't know them personally, and neither do you.

If the family values their name more than the life of the boy - such that a gag order can be issued - that is the smoking gun that their "reputation is at stake". It is not an assumption anymore. So why should we/YOU as outsiders even care then?

Yes I have a very unique perspective towards such news.
Would have been fine if it was reported in a normal manner. Only dumb sh|t people will gossip and gossip about the boy and point finger here and there at the family.

You're entitled to your opinions and so am I. So there.

Seeing how this you care about your perspective to such news, put your name and NRIC as your username, so that we know your true identify and prove that you care about your opinion when you post here. Don't worry, only dumb people will gossip about you, but majority of us here are mature enough to know that you care.

wongwings

Parents should be charged for negligence. Probably too busy playing games on their handphones or surfing TikTok.

Comage

Maybe some special people would like their family name to splash big big so that EDMW can laugh ?
You may think I am that "special people" - but I have already explained myself earlier, as per below.

"The State Coronor issued a gag order on the victim's identity..."

SG Journalism at its Best. "Today, something happened in Singapore. We don't know the details, but we just want to tell you, it did happen. A little boy drowned. The End."
As a journalist, just report the bloody facts. If want to withhold, just do not report it in its entirety.
Don't engage in half-baked journalism.

If it was really so important, just stop the media from reporting this news already.
Block it at its origin/root - not wait for the journalists to receive the gag order from the State Coroner before they publish the article, but simply withhold the kid's name
Even if the media did not report this piece of news at all - but we see some court/trial listed in the public domain related to this incident later, be it months or years later - because someone was sued for negligence...

NOBODY would bat an eyelid or even question - "Eh, why was this not reported on 06 Oct 2025 when it happened hah?".

NOBODY would, I assure you.

This is what I mean.

Comage

Seeing how this you care about your perspective to such news, put your name and NRIC as your username, so that we know your true identify and prove that you care about your opinion when you post here. Don't worry, only dumb people will gossip about you, but majority of us here are mature enough to know that you care.
Sorry - I don't react to such silly taunts.

And it is a fact that over here, there are many low-SES people here who DO engage in idle-banter and pointless gossip - you possibly even being one of them, for wanting to taunt me in such an immature manner.

maleisme

rich but stupid af, tats a 1yo for eff sake. u dun leave a 1yo out of sight, nt even a possible min yall richies dumbtards. children nt fer yall obvious rightttt, dumbtards

Dudick

Sorry - I don't react to such silly taunts.

And it is a fact that over here, there are many low-SES people here who DO engage in idle-banter and pointless gossip - you possibly even being one of them, for wanting to taunt me in such an immature manner.
I am not taunting you.

On one hand you mention that the journalist should report everything include the identity of the boy because you say "only dumb sh|t people will gossip and gossip about the boy and point finger here and there at the family. "

yet when I ask for you to disclose your identity when you share your opinion on such news, you say that "it is a fact that there are many low SES people here who DO engage in idle-banter and pointless gossip"

I think that you are contradicting yourself here.

zuoom

How the heck you let a 1yo play by himself in a courtyard that can lead to a pool or anything basically?

fortunecat

I dun even dare to take my sight off my baby for 1 min last time, they can let their baby play alone besides a swimming pool for 10 mins. Win liao lor

Teyemittisi

Leaving a one year old toddler (not sleeping) alone for a whole 10 min (likely even longer since 10 min was after the time he fell in) and by the pool no less......

:(
Usually they delegate to the helper… and forgot that they place more orders onto the helper… usually the case of everybody assume somebody will help cover the duties

Comage

I am not taunting you.

On one hand you mention that the journalist should report everything include the identity of the boy because you say "only dumb sh|t people will gossip and gossip about the boy and point finger here and there at the family. "

yet when I ask for you to disclose your identity when you share your opinion on such news, you say that "it is a fact that there are many low SES people here who DO engage in idle-banter and pointless gossip"

I think that you are contradicting yourself here.
"Many" does not mean "all" - it just means "most" or "majority".

I am not one of those, if you must know. If you are, then so be it.

Just because you do not see my point of view, does not mean I have to disclose my real identity to you. Neither has my real world identity got to do with my perspectives, my opinions and my take on this world.

Likewise for you - you have your own opinions, but I do not need to know your real world identity.

So, just give it a rest. You can always click that Ignore button if you do not like what I write.

Teyemittisi

Exact. Already suffering. Why allow public to further scrutinise and criticise.

tauntme

How do u leave a 1 year old unattended 😭

In US, the guardians probably charged by CPS for neglect liao

focus1974

Is condo or landed? RIP

ya.. you go googled... adult die.. they will put condo name big big so we know to avoid buying..
but this one ..haiz..

I think cases of death should be made mandatory to report at least the condo name or cluster name.
you gag order on the child, it's ok. but the private development must released.
it's for consumer transparency. If i want to buy a unit, i want to know and i want to avoid deceased units.

i ask gpt..
they say .. the description fits CLUSTER LANDED.

and it's true..
alot of cluster landed got pool just next to the "courtyard"/"balcony"

Yes—based on all available evidence, it’s highly likely the residence was landed, and more specifically, cluster landed.

🧠 Supporting Clues from the Inquest​

• The boy was playing alone in the courtyard, which implies private ground-level outdoor space directly accessible from the unit.
  • He then sat by the pool, which was within the same compound, not a shared facility.
  • The parents were inside the home, and the father jumped directly into the pool from the house, suggesting immediate adjacency.
  • CCTV footage was available, but no mention of condo security or shared access—reinforcing the idea of private surveillance.

🏘️ Why Cluster Landed Is Most Likely​

• Courtyard + private pool is rare in standard condos unless it’s a ground-floor penthouse or maisonette.
  • Cluster landed homesoften feature:
    • Private courtyards and pools
    • Shared strata title (like condos), but with landed layouts
    • Internal CCTV setups

TrollAndOgres

Rip

In angmoh countries quite a number of child drowning cases. Many advocate for barrier railings or pool cover when not in use. Because it just take a minute for people to not notice and the child may drown.

Dont say pool, as long as theres a pool of water (eg bath tub) and a young child, cannot leave them alone.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.