How can food be so expensive these days and gov still keep hike rental like nothing is wrong????

CanIsayNo

that's because our government loves us.. don't you know? they've always loved us, and they've always done things for our benefit, not theirs. they care for us, every single day. why dont people get this?

michael_thm

You stay alone? Ownself cook very mafan leh. Need a lot effort. And clean after that.
There are plenty of dishes that can be prepared in 30mins. If you lazy, do rice cooker meals instead?

For a simple chicken rice meal.
Simple cook rice, put 2 steamers (one for boneless chicken leg, one for veggie).

Wash rice. put into rice cooker
Season the chicken with salt. Rub garlic and add spring onion. put 1st steamer into rice cooker.
Wash some veggie, eg xiaobaicai. put on plate. put it above the rice when it is solid.

Remove steamer of chicken leg. Add some sesame oil or (sugar/soysauce) mixture if desired.
Remove plate of veggie. Add oyster sauce and sesame oil.

Easily done in 30mins no? Go out eat also need time to travel and wait no?

OutBreak

Ya have to take bus buy 1 meal which is damn sian. And end of year bus fare gonna increase again. Jskm. Every year up price but every year breakdown. Caipng $5, factor take bus 2 way go and back $2.20? The caipng no matter how cheap also $7.20 liao. Damn sianz.
Ride a bike or walk. No choice.

Visor9999

This is why I always order MacDonald’s $5 meals or other fast food promos. Use app can get points as well

CanIsayNo

There are plenty of dishes that can be prepared in 30mins. If you lazy, do rice cooker meals instead?

For a simple chicken rice meal.
Simple cook rice, put 2 steamers (one for boneless chicken leg, one for veggie).

Wash rice. put into rice cooker
Season the chicken with salt. Rub garlic and add spring onion. put 1st steamer into rice cooker.
Wash some veggie, eg xiaobaicai. put on plate. put it above the rice when it is solid.

Remove steamer of chicken leg. Add some sesame oil or (sugar/soysauce) mixture if desired.
Remove plate of veggie. Add oyster sauce and sesame oil.

Easily done in 30mins no? Go out eat also need time to travel and wait no?
people arent supposed to know this! they are not supposed to be self sufficient!

grevq80o

I was at J8 food court, food junction. And is true everytime after renovation, food price soar faster than stock market LOL

Average meal I walked around every stall is $10-15 wtf???

How to sustain. A normal prawn Mee is $12, a normal 1 pax duck rice set with veg is $16????

I had a terrible af pork cutlet for $17 which normal coffeeshop may cost $9 max?

All the businesses are increasing the price due to rental and someone can say not happy can leave sg or rental is not the main problem of fnb business?

Also, what's the point of having CDC vouchers when most places cannot use even many coffeeshops also don't accept????

Food is getting so damn expensive. In before ownself cook, but hello groceries are not cheap either. And for single bbfa like us or couples cooking is not as worth and may even be more expensive than eating out.

In before some jjww their area food is cheap but many new estates or those more ulu area food are expensive or need to travel out by a feeder bus also not cheap caz need pay for transport. Like my place, within walking distance 0 food options I have to take bus out.
Yes u r correct. Sexpensive f&b creeping up ur doorstep.

Last time peepur ccomprain Yakun and Toastbox. Now many foodcourts too... the point is, quality of life in Sg is going down because what u used to be able to afford is not not affordable and they r found at ur door step. So u have to walk further down the road to get the food u can afford.

HoChing already made this point very clear when she commented abt families who cannot afford car for errands can always take public transport. There is always a cheaper version further down the road. The convenience u r used to is now reserved for those who can pay.

speedsonic

yr place surrounding no coffeshope?
Or get those frozen Meals at supermarket. Canned food obviously for no time to cook.

Reborn

Wikipedia said junction 8 is owned by capitamall trust. Not owned by the government. Please do some fact checking before blaming government. You are barking up the wrong tree.
i thought capital mall owned by temasek holdings

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.