Reddit throwaway04494 - Im no longer proud to be a singaporean

Sylar22

Asia has 4.8 billion people. Show me a country in Asia outside Japan and S Korea that gives us ordinary citizens a better chance at education, housing and jobs?

You are in that 0.125% chance of being born in Singapore with clean water and electricity. That's striking lottery itself.

Imagine being outside this 0.125% and born in rural Myanmar, Laos, Cambodia, Indonesia or Philippines.

Electricity and clean water also dun have, dun say education, housing and jobs. English also you dunno.

I worked with Myanmar corlicks before. Yangon. Most prosperous city.

Every 4 hours electricity switch on and off. At night use candles. So if she didn't charge her notebook according to the cycles, she cannot do work. She has to keep apologising.

Chiobu. Model face. 9/10. I picked her. English zi teh zi teh can't speak properly or type properly. Because their curriculum don't teach English at a higher level. Earn S$600 a month. But currency depreciate 10% every other month because of the civil war. So food prices skyrocket.

She is already lucky. Single mom and got jod to feed her son

Now imagine outskirts of Myanmar where the junta roam. Walk on dirt path, for no reason kena kidnap by junta, suspecting you of rebellion. Interrogated. Tortured.

And you complain your life in Sg is no good?
100% agree with you totally. But some ppl that aren’t appreciative of what they have will rebut why compare with 3rd world all these. Many of them like this on reddit. I don’t bother engaging them if their minds are so shut.

Bui Kia

Not my post

edited: PS how to embed reddit??

https://www.reddit.com/r/SingaporeRaw/s/728fxDLiAh

ezgif.com-video-to-gif-converter-1-4.gif
crying-man-ndp.jpg

byfun

Threatening won't work.
Being negative disadvantages yourself.
Merely makes you a bitter person.
Just grind on like many of us who have walked the same path.

Don't just look at those who have worked hard for 30 years to own a $1m hdb, to compare with. They have put in the hard work.

Worked 30 yrs to own a $1m hdb seem like a failure .. left with 69 yrs lease.

If this is the normal fate of sinkies mean jialat liao.. spend your peak n most productive period just to pay for 99 yrs flat and end of loan period left 69 yrs. Dunno how much paid to paid interest for the last 30 years .. 😂. Basically working for the bank for 30 years

MoeLanYong

This one a bit kum actually. If apply this exact logic to every aspect of your life, it just means you can't complain about anything because someone out there is having it worst than you

You misunderstood. Let me put it to you clearly. I am saying we should be appreciative of everything we have. Don't little bit little bit unhappy, whine, not proud of Sg. Travel outside Singapore and you will learn more about life outside. Don't be a frog in the well.

Ethan_

Think nowadays many, if not most of the people talked to outside tend have foreign accent. There is no local identity. Most foreigners tend form their own enclave with ties back home. Local has became a foreign place for locals.

Insatiable_creat

Please lah.

You think any opposition can fix the reliance on foreigners ?

SG has became a victim of it's own success.

Come on... So endorsing the mess they created will help us better?

Knowing sinkies, the poster will be in for a shock that the sh.it he complained about will get worse years later. Lol

touchring1

I am not keen in politics and dont speak for any side, in case you didn't notice. I just state facts from a world view.

I don't agree with the view of the redditor as I'm still proud. But I'm just wondering if serving 2.5 years NS and 10 years of 2 weeks reservist and yearly IPPT/RT is a pre-condition of NC. How many will sign up?

If Singapore is really that good, I'm sure many will rush to serve.

Checkyrmed

Think nowadays many, if not most of the people talked to outside tend have foreign accent. There is no local identity. Most foreigners tend form their own enclave with ties back home. Local has became a foreign place for locals.
These are the new voters.

Krabs.

hahaha he realize it now ahhhh .... edmwers since 2011 know liao lorrr

MoeLanYong

I don't agree with the view of the redditor as I'm still proud. But I'm just wondering if serving 2.5 years NS and 10 years of 2 weeks reservist and yearly IPPT/RT is a pre-condition of NC. How many will sign up?

If Singapore is really that good, I'm sure many will rush to serve.

I did my 2.5 years. No reservist tho. It is a sacrifice. But it is separate from the fact I have access to clean water and a lifestyle envied by millions in Asia. Many people do national service in Thailand, Taiwan, Vietnam, South Korea too. They are not instantly rewarded with a "good life" or carry any notion they are entitled to one.

rodimus_prime

Why bother developing emotions to a stay in a hotel ? Policymakers want us to call it home but run it no different from a 6* hotel with a constantly devaluing loyalty program. Don’t swim against the tide. Make your dough, enjoy your stay and don’t make more of it than what it’s intended to be.

touchring1

I did my 2.5 years. No reservist tho. It is a sacrifice. But it is separate from the fact I have access to clean water and a lifestyle envied by millions in Asia. Many people do national service in Thailand, Taiwan, Vietnam, South Korea too. They are not instantly rewarded with a "good life" or carry any notion they are entitled to one.

You did the NS because you have no choice. Since most of us have done NS, we will say that NS is good, makes men out of boys, learn how to wash clothes with hands, and the toilet.... blah blah. There's some truth in it. I won't dispute. But this is the price of citizenship for people born in Singapore and so it should be weighed when we consider the net benefits of being a citizen here.

I don't dispute that Singapore is good. It's better than Malaysia. I'm one who thinks JB sucks btw. But is Singapore the best country in the world? I don't think so.

Mr Totoro 38

Aiya this kind is the will angry and spoil their vote send a message kind of losers la. Don't waste time with this kind. Sinkieland alot of half hearted voters. Jjww pappy then continue vote them. That's why country is slated for pap control next 100 years.

Sink together

Same old saying- well deserved it!

sink lor.

Ethan_

You did the NS because you have no choice. Since most of us have done NS, we will say that NS is good, makes men out of boys, learn how to wash clothes with hands, and the toilet.... blah blah. There's some truth in it. I won't dispute. But this is the price of citizenship for people born in Singapore and so it should be weighed when we consider the net benefits of being a citizen here.

I don't dispute that Singapore is good. It's better than Malaysia. I'm one who thinks JB sucks btw. But is Singapore the best country in the world? I don't think so.
Think the irony is only a minority are forced to do it (the local males that is). Not everyone. Where most of the population now are not locals, but rather foreigners. And for locals females are more than males. Thus the male become minority of minority.

But they paint it like its the price to pay for being locals and everyone have to do it. But in reality is forced the minority to sacrfice and suffer for the majority. Not sure what twisted logic many hold to think that its ok to get the minority to represent the majority suffer.

mynickname

I worked with Myanmar corlicks before. Yangon. Most prosperous city.

Every 4 hours electricity switch on and off. At night use candles. So if she didn't charge her notebook according to the cycles, she cannot do work. She has to keep apologising.

Chiobu. Model face. 9/10. I picked her. English zi teh zi teh can't speak properly or type properly. Because their curriculum don't teach English at a higher level. Earn S$600 a month. But currency depreciate 10% every other month because of the civil war. So food prices skyrocket.

She is already lucky. Single mom and got jod to feed her son

Now imagine outskirts of Myanmar where the junta roam. Walk on dirt path, for no reason kena kidnap by junta, suspecting you of rebellion. Interrogated. Tortured.

And you complain your life in Sg is no good?
He's only complaining he doesnt feel loved, e.g. whining for mummy.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.