Reddit throwaway04494 - Im no longer proud to be a singaporean

pwongkk

I worked with Myanmar corlicks before. Yangon. Most prosperous city.

Every 4 hours electricity switch on and off. At night use candles. So if she didn't charge her notebook according to the cycles, she cannot do work. She has to keep apologising.

Chiobu. Model face. 9/10. I picked her. English zi teh zi teh can't speak properly or type properly. Because their curriculum don't teach English at a higher level. Earn S$600 a month. But currency depreciate 10% every other month because of the civil war. So food prices skyrocket.

She is already lucky. Single mom and got jod to feed her son

Now imagine outskirts of Myanmar where the junta roam. Walk on dirt path, for no reason kena kidnap by junta, suspecting you of rebellion. Interrogated. Tortured.

And you complain your life in Sg is no good?
We pay taxes for pappies to fund all of what they are doing. Give to any other alternative good gov, they would be able to do the same thing pappies had done.

Assuming taxes collection is low, do you think pappies have the financial means to do what they had done, and at the same time claim credits?

The current gov had inherited a very sound system of government and directions from the colonial gov. Pappies did not start from scratch like in 1819.

For the past 20 over years, I had seen how the foreign worker for PMETs affect local chances, edging them out of job or depressing salary. The hov is solving other country's unemployment problem at thevexpense of sinkies.

Don't take me wrong, i am more than welcome for the foreign workers doing construction or cleaning. Definitely not the PMETs which I term them as economic refugees.

Even housing, can talk do much about sacrificing for the country in defense, yet made housing so expensive today. Why didn't the gov give a free HDB flat to those who served and completed their NS to recognisetheir contribution? At least there is something to defend.

Looking at the current climate, at times I feel a war here is best. Let the shelling and bombing demolish all the expensive housings. Let the banks not able to recover their loans since there's no more property attached to it. Even when war is over, I doubt even a single cent can be recovered from any remaining CPF you have left.

footi3

not too late for him
sinkies should just enjoy gst voucher handout, usave and cdc vouchers while he can

grevq80o

images
Exactly. Amy Khor gave redditor her reply liao.

Born in Sg is to be pawn to serve PAP policies.

Eliwood

Worked 30 yrs to own a $1m hdb seem like a failure .. left with 69 yrs lease.

If this is the normal fate of sinkies mean jialat liao.. spend your peak n most productive period just to pay for 99 yrs flat and end of loan period left 69 yrs. Dunno how much paid to paid interest for the last 30 years .. 😂. Basically working for the bank for 30 years

Normal sinkies dun buy 1m bto and dun take 30 years to pay off.

More like beh kan sinkies.

C_boliao

Threatening won't work.
Being negative disadvantages yourself.
Merely makes you a bitter person.
Just grind on like many of us who have walked the same path.

Don't just look at those who have worked hard for 30 years to own a $1m hdb, to compare with. They have put in the hard work.
I think OP is lamenting about how pap want stinkies to do this and that. For OP, he felt stinkies need to serve NS so that the peace that stinkies collective brought results in or are just excuses for pap to bring in FT, welcome rich people etc.

After NS, you can go find your own job, die n rot.

JonWeak

The no singlish in a way is true lah. Now youngsters all try to sound angmoh but it's just cringe AF. Tell them to work on their grammar and how to pronounce "3" first bah

mynickname

I think OP is lamenting about how pap want stinkies to do this and that. For OP, he felt stinkies need to serve NS so that the peace that stinkies collective brought results in or are just excuses for pap to bring in FT, welcome rich people etc.

Basically bitching moving into adulthood is tough. Ok.

kuma-mon

We pay taxes for pappies to fund all of what they are doing. Give to any other alternative good gov, they would be able to do the same thing pappies had done.

Assuming taxes collection is low, do you think pappies have the financial means to do what they had done, and at the same time claim credits?

The current gov had inherited a very sound system of government and directions from the colonial gov. Pappies did not start from scratch like in 1819.

For the past 20 over years, I had seen how the foreign worker for PMETs affect local chances, edging them out of job or depressing salary. The hov is solving other country's unemployment problem at thevexpense of sinkies.

Don't take me wrong, i am more than welcome for the foreign workers doing construction or cleaning. Definitely not the PMETs which I term them as economic refugees.

Even housing, can talk do much about sacrificing for the country in defense, yet made housing so expensive today. Why didn't the gov give a free HDB flat to those who served and completed their NS to recognisetheir contribution? At least there is something to defend.

Looking at the current climate, at times I feel a war here is best. Let the shelling and bombing demolish all the expensive housings. Let the banks not able to recover their loans since there's no more property attached to it. Even when war is over, I doubt even a single cent can be recovered from any remaining CPF you have left.
U made a great point. Upz for u

cyke69sg

You misunderstood. Let me put it to you clearly. I am saying we should be appreciative of everything we have. Don't little bit little bit unhappy, whine, not proud of Sg. Travel outside Singapore and you will learn more about life outside. Don't be a frog in the well.

I guess many Singaporeans love to travel to countries in South East Asia that are more backward. Poorer.

That way can always feel good after comparing.

Runs along your theme of comparing with war torn places also.

Compare with people poorer than ownself will be happier also.

I am glad I am no longer Singaporean! I am also sure that Singaporeans are glad I am not Singaporean either! Everyone happy :)

cyke69sg

I did my 2.5 years. No reservist tho. It is a sacrifice. But it is separate from the fact I have access to clean water and a lifestyle envied by millions in Asia. Many people do national service in Thailand, Taiwan, Vietnam, South Korea too. They are not instantly rewarded with a "good life" or carry any notion they are entitled to one.
why you got no reservist?

mooseolly

According to google Singaporean is 60% of SG population. Japan is 97%, Korea 96%, Malaysia 90% hmm... Small country need to keep importing siah.

messidona

same...

but a wonder he took 25 years...

i secondary schl already stopped singing anthem and merely lipsynch to the lyrics....

any patriotism was just lost way in my childhood
Singapore anthem like nursery song. Boring. I prefer brazil or Germany anthem

Ng Kah Kheng

That's because you have it! Try saying it those who don't? Do you even know how many percent of the worlds population don't have access to clean safe drinking water?!

Come on. It just take 8 seconds to Google it. Don't lazy. 26%. One is 4 people on planet earth don't have access to clean safe drinking water. Wait. Do you even know humans needs to drink water??

The man who has shoes shouldn't take gloat about his shoes to the man who has no legs. I wouldn't. My mama didn't raise me this way.
Dont understand why we keep comparing ourselves with those countries worse than spore.

Is that the reason why spore standard is dropping because we keep setting the bar lower and lower?

If your burmese corlick got a choice to choose living in yangon or gaza, i think yangon is better.

moonlighter_sg

Considered very lucky to be Singaporean. Singapore is the best in South East Asia.

During my last reincarnation, I could have accidently landed slightly north or slightly south.

MoeLanYong

My reply is non political. TS is trying to attach a political nuance to it. By decoding it wrongly, I think he hopes to justify why he should be upset, borrowing writings from someone else.

It stems from the seeds of jealousy. Others can succeed and he cant. Let me put it bluntly and factually: if one cannot make it in Sg, I dunno what gives him the idea he can make it elsewhere. He thinks when he is planted into Malaysia, Thailand, Cambodia or Vietnam, he will instantly find life easy. Some people have no idea what they are talking about.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.