SAF LTC around 12k per month huh

dambio

most ppl sign on also wont become ltc. atmost get the specialist track, then do 3-5 years see not much pay progression and increasingly delusional about serving then quit. seen tons of such regulars during reservist.
Alot quit might see no progression in career, did something got blacklisted,

dambio

If u ever got time to go stalking around your ex school mates who are SAF regulars...
My ex poly mates who signed on all driving conti cars, while those in civil service, private sector, IT, engineering all taking BUS MRT.
Those who do well n can survive in it. N tis is d regret I'm referring to. Alot actually is good life in it.

There's alot of civilian posts in it also. They're also living in condos.

Like highly paid civil servants.

dambio

My 1st biggest regret in life is never sign on or join CS. Can earn high celery and shake legs, more easier life than working outside in private sector :(

2nd biggest regret in life is never get a lot of tattoos and go jail when young. Once released, can easily find a wife, worshiped by a lot of people, validated by gahment and constantly promoted by the media as some kind of brave role model :(

Being an average joe with honest life is the hardest kind of life :(
In CS, if u can handle all d red tape n bureaucracy. Then it's all good. D pay, perks n benefits. Not d low rank n file contract roles huh.

Still not too late to go out n commit a crime n come out be a influencer yo😂

N4E.SI

I moved to live in Canada. Then looked for work to support my family.

I wouldn't recommend SGrean move out of SG now. It would be extremely foolish. I regret migrating from a financial perspective.

But from a lifestyle perspective, it's better

You enjoy cooler weather, more outdoor activities, balanced lifestyle

N4E.SI

In CS, if u can handle all d red tape n bureaucracy. Then it's all good. D pay, perks n benefits. Not d low rank n file contract roles huh.

Still not too late to go out n commit a crime n come out be a influencer yo😂

Now old already bro, I cannot endure hard life if I go inside squat. Also 40yo+ uncle with tattoos will look like clown instead :D

Optrex

It takes great courage to emigrate, especially for us Asian, in this case I believe you are Chinese. Sure kena racism left right centre every now and then. Emigration is for people who has some money, most of us sinkies are poor, unlike how the news typically portrays us.

this one i agree hands down. I always tell ppl, if u have enough money, stay put in Singapore as it is the best place that money can buy. where in the world can u get such peace in the whole country or city as some might say. so don't be daft and want to go else where. else where is good until u kena mobbed or u kena racist insult. those who kena before will know. but I know there are those who put on their tinted glasses and say they never kena before. but I always ask is " u never kena before or u make yourself believe u never kena before". racism is real and much more violent in other countries. hard truth.

jimmy

Then why didn't you just say so at the start? Why would you talk about LTC salary and quote the diploma holder lower range? Want to purposely suppress the numbers?

I said already SAF pay is very high and good.

500-650k is respectable for sure.

Full COL earn $1m and above. Not much different from Minister Salaries. Those general salaries are even higher than minister salaries. Those general join politics is not for money. They take pay cuts.
I don’t know where you benchmarked the salary.

LTC is common for most people who have signed on. COL is for the selected ones who have reserved appointments in Admin services later on.

The respective pay cannot be much higher than a PS pay.

Ronaldo88

How about those stars..one million?

a reasonable estimate for the Chief of Army’s total annual compensation might be in the S$300,000 to S$500,000+ range, possibly more depending on allowances and rank.

dambio

Now old already bro, I cannot endure hard life if I go inside squat. Also 40yo+ uncle with tattoos will look like clown instead :D
Go n commit some crimes go in sit for a few days or weeks nia lor. Must be flexible manz😂

No 1s gonna look down on u. Most dun care n those who does care will look up to u for ur guts 😂

cyke69sg

But from a lifestyle perspective, it's better

You enjoy cooler weather, more outdoor activities, balanced lifestyle

Yes. Overall it is better. So what if I make MORE money if I had stayed in Singapore?

I am happy with what I earn in Canada now. In fact from a purchasing power perspective I think I am better off here.

And as you said more interesting weather. Cooler. Less humid. 4 seasons. Snow sports. Skiing. Mountains. Lakes. Open space. Colors of fall. Interesting skies/sunsets/sunrise. Aurora/Northern Lights.

Nicer friendlier people. No crowds. No lines. Peaceful environment.

cyke69sg

this one i agree hands down. I always tell ppl, if u have enough money, stay put in Singapore as it is the best place that money can buy. where in the world can u get such peace in the whole country or city as some might say. so don't be daft and want to go else where. else where is good until u kena mobbed or u kena racist insult. those who kena before will know. but I know there are those who put on their tinted glasses and say they never kena before. but I always ask is " u never kena before or u make yourself believe u never kena before". racism is real and much more violent in other countries. hard truth.

I never kena before. Really really. Maybe is just how it is in Calgary.

Ask @kaisin82 he also lives in Calgary. Bro you kena racism in Calgary before?

N4E.SI

It's really too hot here. And this is not somethk which money can change

Have to spend all my time indoor to escape the heat. And the moment I stepped outside, the air feels dreadfully warm and heavy

Also a lot of bugs, mozzies in this kind of climate. And worsen my skin conditions.

I been to countries with a cooler dry weather, it feels so refreshing to step outdoor. Can walk outdoor for hours without sweating & feeling dirty/lethargy

SG climate is really hell

cyke69sg

cyke69sg

It's really too hot here. And this is not somethk which money can change

Have to spend all my time indoor to escape the heat. And the moment I stepped outside, the air feels dreadfully warm and heavy

Also a lot of bugs, mozzies in this kind of climate. And worsen my skin conditions.

I been to countries with a cooler dry weather, it feels so refreshing to step outdoor. Can walk outdoor for hours without sweating & feeling dirty/lethargy

SG climate is really hell

Yes the weather really nice to go for walks. Walk the dogs.
Go hiking.
Run. Bike.
Swimming is a bit cold but we have heated indoor pools.

Weather and climate is more conducive for outdoor activities.

Plus when you have scenery like this it makes it more enjoyable too.

webimage-2022_MoraineLake_TravelAlberta_RothandRamberg-3.png

sddefault.jpg

niefeng80

u dun say, I kena racism in sg also so I can imagine how worse it can get overseas.

always kena chop carrot cake when buying certain food or kena cut queue.

cyke69sg

u dun say, I kena racism in sg also so I can imagine how worse it can get overseas.

always kena chop carrot cake when buying certain food or kena cut queue.

No need racism.

Just have hot flustered frustrated unhappy miserable angry people is recipe for flashpoints.

Especially when waiting in long lines or stuck in crowds in the hot humid climate.

No thank you please.

administrator88

Yes. Overall it is better. So what if I make MORE money if I had stayed in Singapore?

I am happy with what I earn in Canada now. In fact from a purchasing power perspective I think I am better off here.

And as you said more interesting weather. Cooler. Less humid. 4 seasons. Snow sports. Skiing. Mountains. Lakes. Open space. Colors of fall. Interesting skies/sunsets/sunrise. Aurora/Northern Lights.

Nicer friendlier people. No crowds. No lines. Peaceful environment.
Singapore got cat A and B

cyke69sg

Singapore got cat A and B
Singapore Cat A weather is likely referring to
a general, hot, and humid condition, common for the tropical climate. The term "Cat A" is not a standard meteorological classification but might refer to the highest category of hot weather. The current forecast includes hot and humid conditions with daytime temperatures around
30−32∘C30 minus 32 raised to the composed with power cap C
and nighttime lows around
26−27∘C26 minus 27 raised to the composed with power cap C
. There is a risk of thundery showers, especially in the morning and afternoon, so it is advisable to stay updated on the latest weather alerts from the National Environment Agency (NEA).

Singapore's "Cat B" weather, also known as "Thundery Showers," indicates a high chance of heavy rain and lightning, typically occurring in the afternoon, according to BBC Weather and the Weather Information Portal. It is a common weather pattern in Singapore, especially during certain times of the year, and is characterized by brief but intense rainfall and electrical storms.

Neither sounds like "good" weather conditions to do outdoor activities if you ask me.

Stoway

Then why didn't you just say so at the start? Why would you talk about LTC salary and quote the diploma holder lower range? Want to purposely suppress the numbers?

I said already SAF pay is very high and good.

500-650k is respectable for sure.

Full COL earn $1m and above. Not much different from Minister Salaries. Those general salaries are even higher than minister salaries. Those general join politics is not for money. They take pay cuts.
They take paycuts to extend their working lifespan and to serve the people. Generals take $2m - $5m depending on appointment.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.