4 in 5 scams involve victims willingly transferring money to scammers: Goh Pei Ming

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

MynameisS

If not willingly then it's not a scam, it's robbery alr

What this minister talking

The scholar who wrote this speech has displayed Intelligence of the highest order which ordinary plebs can’t comprehend

Joseph12

4 in 5 scams are self-effected​

One statistic highlighted by Goh is that, about four in five scams are self-effected, meaning that the monies lost are willingly transferred by the victims themselves to the scammers.

In such cases, scammers use psychological tactics to deceive or manipulate the victims into compliance.

https://mothership.sg/2025/11/scam-victims-transfer-money-willingly/

So 80% only have themselves to blame..... sounds familiar.
Wow
What a revelation Captain Obvious

Lchlch

One statistic highlighted by Goh is that, about four in five scams are self-effected, meaning that the monies lost are willingly transferred by the victims themselves to the scammers.

In such cases, scammers use psychological tactics to deceive or manipulate the victims into compliance.

Also using hard sell tactics too.

justln

My in law is one of them.... highly educated also tio scam
A lot of smart individuals with good paying jobs get scammed.
My cousin got conned $10k+ through those job scams then need to topup to withdraw money. And he's quite well to do, in audit job.

I talked with a "Hong Kong girl" online, never ever psycho me into crypto, just show her account and what she did. Really good at their job. Didn't get scammed, blocked and move on. Wasted a lot of time talking only.

Shows how easily scammers get into your head and f with you. Caning is well deserved.

Bardiel

hope scammers kena hang. don come and bull kena trick kena force into doing this

fortunecat

The victims were hypnotised over the phone.
I believe so too. If not it just dun make sense so many young people kenna as well. My sibling also kenna, already transferred the money but heng stopped by the bank

week3nd

hello... if it's not willingly, it's not called being scammed.
it's called being threatened

It is called scam because the victim being cheated to believe some nonsense by scammers.

If they unwilling to transfer but still make to do it is called Robbery liao.

You all forgot there was a period of time, every day got news reported of aunty/uncle who saw FB ad for $1 durian/seafood/wagyu, downloaded 3rd party app, phone got hijacked then money transferred out by scammers???

Philipkee

No

I think

willingly - someone say she love me online and I transfer money over

unwillingly- I download a malicious app and my money disappear

both are scams but in the first scenario, I intended my money to be given out

KPO_SAHM

Victims r just naive n greed. Don blame others

testart

When these scam was on the arise, I’m the first edmwer to ask how come these victims never show their WhatsApp or provide some screenshots so we all can learn from their lesson.

But no. These victims didn’t want to let everyone know the message they been engaging with scammers.

d5dude

Scam is always willing party, only hacks are considered robberies.

This is an IQ issue, most of them are just stupid.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.