jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Interesting......... zhun or not i am not sure, not pro in this.
But i came across various vids on medical/scientific experts (professors etc) stating that at most cancers are 55% genetic. Rest is epigenetics, environment.....

Yes, the scientific community increasingly views cancer as a metabolic disease, not solely a genetic one. While cancer involves genetic mutations, this view suggests that a primary disturbance in cellular energy metabolism, particularly in the mitochondria, is the root cause. Cancer cells rewire their metabolism to fuel their growth by creating new energy production pathways to meet the high demands of continuous cell division.

How cancer is a metabolic disease
  • Primary metabolic disturbance:
    Emerging evidence points to a disturbance in energy metabolism as the initial event in cancer development, with genetic mutations being a downstream consequence.

• Mitochondrial dysfunction:
      Abnormalities in the structure and function of mitochondria are linked to these initial metabolic disturbances.
    • Warburg effect:
      Cancer cells rely on fermentation to produce energy, even in the presence of oxygen, a process known as the Warburg effect. This is a primitive energy source that creates lactic acid and is less efficient than oxidative phosphorylation but provides building blocks for rapid growth.
    • Fueling growth:
      This dysregulated metabolism provides the necessary energy and building blocks for the high demands of continuous cell growth and division.
    • Genetic mutations as a consequence:
      The prolonged reliance on these inefficient metabolic pathways can lead to genome instability and the mutations that are characteristic of cancer.

Bonus (SG data)

T23Dj2B.jpg

WussRedXLi

Sharing also...... degree of zhuness i not sure. But my belief in this is like 60-70% he is zhun and there is a fair bit of truth to it.

WussRedXLi

But i came across various vids on medical/scientific experts (professors etc) stating that at most cancers are 55% genetic. Rest is epigenetics, environment.....

Yes, the scientific community increasingly views cancer as a metabolic disease, not solely a genetic one. While cancer involves genetic mutations, this view suggests that a primary disturbance in cellular energy metabolism, particularly in the mitochondria, is the root cause. Cancer cells rewire their metabolism to fuel their growth by creating new energy production pathways to meet the high demands of continuous cell division.

Emerging evidence points to a disturbance in energy metabolism as the initial event in cancer development, with genetic mutations being a downstream consequence.

Abnormalities in the structure and function of mitochondria are linked to these initial metabolic disturbances.
    • Warburg effect:
      Cancer cells rely on fermentation to produce energy, even in the presence of oxygen, a process known as the Warburg effect. This is a primitive energy source that creates lactic acid and is less efficient than oxidative phosphorylation but provides building blocks for rapid growth.
    • Fueling growth:
      This dysregulated metabolism provides the necessary energy and building blocks for the high demands of continuous cell growth and division.
      The prolonged reliance on these inefficient metabolic pathways can lead to genome instability and the mutations that are characteristic of cancer.

Bonus (SG data)

T23Dj2B.jpg

BTW, anybody here does prostate cancer screening. Can gai siao?
Blood tumor markers (eg PSA) specific to prostate ok or not, not sure if it is sensitive or specific enough.

Serious question.... :frown: 😓

I think i might have enlarged prostate, maybe not a lot but i think beginning. Bo bian, age 50+ is like that. My coy also got a few, you will know in the toilet (middle agers here would know)

Not sure if the 12.5mg zinc nearly daily help in the long term (but not overdosing). The food aspect with regards to zinc i think can forget it...... hawker food where to find much zinc.

Sadisticnoob

Bro, say you are a decent cyclist and on WCH say you can clock below 8 mins for 5k (ie chevron to chevron between Vivo and Clementi exclude the climb and descent) or basically maintain avg > 37.5kmh solo.

But now first run of the year (now is already close to Dec) that means bare min 11 months never ran.
Your running musclature sure gone. It could be anything from hamstrings to anterior tib to even adductor pain with the 3 major adductors.
Even with just 3-4km at relatively slow paces of 5-6min/km also might cause issues.

You lucky no big injury like to the tendons or fascia coz you probably did not push the distance too much.

No wonder you previously asked how to solve shin splint pain.

Is not coz of strengthening, but coz of too much too soon. Both are not directly comparable other than the aerobic aspect.
i think is just weak ankle and hip flexors. but is okay la . if got severe pain i stop

WussRedXLi

i think is just weak ankle and hip flexors. but is okay la . if got severe pain i stop

Possible also, basically just "weak" in some specific areas for the running intensity/volume.
But even wo strengthening, just slowly do........no issue one lah, esp if not 10k or HM.

Just slowly build it up specifically. I remember last time n 2023 i was able to do like what......19 mins ++ for 5k, but i got my first cheap foldie, i tot i could keep up with roadies based on fitness alone. Hahah...... sorry, not happening even i was panting already and they still chatting nicely. No power at all esp evident in the climbs where i was smoked in 2 instances.

Prob just some specific muscles that are not adapted for efficiency specific to that sport.
"Range of motion" also might play a part (running / cycling are more like partial reps)

Jeremy1

Hi all runners, I had 1 size XL Singlet from Garmin Run last year n 1 size L Singlet SCM from last year to give away.

Both are new in plastic bag as I don't wear Singlet.

Pleaae pm me if interested and I can meet up and pass it to you.

First come first serve, thanks.

rarenick

Blood tumor markers (eg PSA) specific to prostate ok or not, not sure if it is sensitive or specific enough.
Serious question....
frown.gif

1f613.png

I think i might have enlarged prostate, maybe not a lot but i think beginning. Bo bian, age 50+ is like that. My coy also got a few, you will know in the toilet (middle agers here would know)
Not sure if the 12.5mg zinc nearly daily help in the long term (but not overdosing). The food aspect with regards to zinc i think can forget it...... hawker food where to find much zinc.
U want natural zinc which is convenient to find ah? Cook and eat dried oysters. It's higher zinc than fresh oysters. Also note that u can try taking zinc supplement standalone. Coz other minerals will compete absorption with it. Spread them out if u taking a few types of minerals.

WussRedXLi

U want natural zinc which is convenient to find ah? Cook and eat dried oysters. It's higher zinc than fresh oysters. Also note that u can try taking zinc supplement standalone. Coz other minerals will compete absorption with it. Spread them out if u taking a few types of minerals.

Oyster $$$ le. Mussels also. Not sure if dried oysters a bit cheaper.

Clams are good, B12 also....issue is the contamination. NTUC iirc $5 plus for 500g, used to put into miso soup. Source is China and the brand is Ocean Fresh or is it Ocean Koss if i am not terribly wrong, and already did the homework, that area not so good with regards to pollution. (estuaries)

Yes, i separate zinc and copper and Mg intake. At least 2hrs.

Ender

Serious question.... :frown: 😓

Sometime is old age that comes with lack of thirst sensation. We just under dehydrate by default when we reach 50. Couple this with our long duration of sweating for distance running, and for me worst being a heavy sweater, we just don't feel to need to drink enough.
Toilet we will notice the flow not strong as before, or take a longer time .
But ever since I started Creatine, which add about extra 800ml to my daily water intake and post exercise milk recovery which add 1.5 litre extra daily hydration. Urine is clear like water (some literature say this color is over hydrate), Toilet flow is as strong as when in the 30s and immediate. But if you plan to screen, better go ahead and screen for peace of mind.

Ender

• Warburg effect:
    • Fueling growth:

Bonus (SG data)

T23Dj2B.jpg
Read this some time ago that most cancer are linked to metabolic syndromes. But I think it still early to be conclusive.
If true, good for us, since mitochondria health and fitness is directly linked to aerobic exercise. The more we worked oxidizing our fuel at higher intensity, the more they adapt to improve efficacy and efficiency.

WussRedXLi

Read this some time ago that most cancer are linked to metabolic syndromes. But I think it still early to be conclusive.
If true, good for us, since mitochondria health and fitness is directly linked to aerobic exercise. The more we worked oxidizing our fuel at higher intensity, the more they adapt to improve efficacy and efficiency.

Yeah man, i can only hope so that mitochondria health is a significant factor in terms of cancer prevention.
Even though genetics is probably a bit over 50% of the whole pic for the serious common ones.
For others like ovarian cancer (women) it is 25% tops with regards to genetic mutations of BRAC.

Came across some EDMWers who like to push the general tagline "cancers are just genetic, nothing you can do about it". 🤣

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.