jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Got blood likely fell down quite hard after heart gave up.

How's the weather this morning?

Jin jialat sia. Issue is, even if live, there is likely lasting perm damage in one way or another. (> 10 min)

Always go clear heart first before embarking sports. It's the least that anyone can do.

If die die dont wanna do or think that "medical screening cannot catch everything", then just play it the statistical way. Go gun 5k or 3k. It's still a big challenge if done properly, just in another dimension.

WussRedXLi

Just a few days ago i was talking about cooling / bring sufficient water on the bike........
And you know, over here in SG, this can really happen very quickly.

Yes, dehydration in athletes is a significant contributing factor to an increased risk of cardiac events. While dehydration alone is not the primary cause of sudden cardiac death in most cases, it places substantial strain on the cardiovascular system that can trigger a fatal arrhythmia in individuals with an underlying, often silent, heart condition.

How Dehydration Increases Cardiac Risk
Dehydration exacerbates the physiological stress of intense exercise through several mechanisms:
  • Reduced Blood Volume: Dehydration decreases blood volume, forcing the heart to work harder and faster to pump sufficient oxygenated blood to muscles and organs. This increased heart rate (tachycardia) and strain can lead to hypotension (low blood pressure) and, in extreme cases, shock or cardiac arrest.
  • Electrolyte Imbalances: Sweating causes a loss of essential electrolytes like sodium, potassium, and magnesium, which are crucial for the heart's electrical signals and maintaining a steady rhythm. Disruptions in this balance can lead to dangerous, irregular heartbeats (arrhythmias), which are a common trigger for sudden cardiac arrest.
  • Increased Blood Viscosity: Dehydrated blood becomes thicker or more viscous, which increases the likelihood of blood clot formation. This heightens the risk of a heart attack or stroke.
  • Heat-Related Stress: Dehydration impairs the body's ability to cool itself through sweating, leading to a rise in core body temperature (hyperthermia). The combination of dehydration and hyperthermia creates significant cardiovascular strain, making it harder for the heart to maintain adequate blood pressure and cardiac output.

winningeleven

Most probably over limit for him liao.

Funny I noticed most of the times this only happened to guys 🤔
Usually guy is more ego and don't want to lose out especially surrounded by many female runners . Push over the limit. Last time I always wanted to overtake those female runners in the stadium . Then realized they only ran 5km . No wonder they went running fast . I was running my 21km as usual . Now I can run at my own pace without distracted by them.

However. I had seen Some female Safra runners also did long run at the stadium. Really fast . . Definitely less than 5mins/km pace.

Rated R Edge

Usually guy is more ego and don't want to lose out especially surrounded by many female runners . Push over the limit. Last time I always wanted to overtake those female runners in the stadium . Then realized they only ran 5km . No wonder they went running fast . I was running my 21km as usual . Now I can run at my own pace without distracted by them.

However. I had seen Some female Safra runners also did long run at the stadium. Really fast . . Definitely less than 5mins/km pace.
Why overtake? Run behind them more fun 😜

winningeleven

Great run Tudo88. Now you qualify for Pen A next year.

I buang after the 10km mark after vomitting 3 times including the gels I took. Pace went downhill after that.

still finished with 1:41:17. Not the best.. but I glad I didn’t give up though. Sub 1:40 gonna wait next year.
Not much congestion at pen b surprisingly. Didn’t spend much effort to cut through the crowd also (but went too fast 😪)

Very good timing despite Vomiting 🤮 3 x times !

Personally when I ran HM. I never feel the need of consuming any energy gel. Just make sure I eat enough 2 hours before my run.

radioshack

I nearly fainted at the queue zone...really cluster and no ventilation.

I remember last year was really efficient

fatscaryuncle

Got anyone use china running shoes, any good?

See the price quite competitive, currently using nb 860 4e..

Tudo88

Jurong Safra female fast meh? Hahaha. I know they always train on Tuesday evening.

Tudo88

Very good timing despite Vomiting 🤮 3 x times !

Personally when I ran HM. I never feel the need of consuming any energy gel. Just make sure I eat enough 2 hours before my run.
Gels are dependent actually. Not really a must. But I do find gels give me a jolt of energy when I consume it. So when I run at certain pace then I will consume gels.

winningeleven

Jurong Safra female fast meh? Hahaha. I know they always train on Tuesday evening.

Most of the time .they are doing interval training.

Saw a few times where some ladies from their group doing own solo run. I was running at 5:25mins/km pace and I couldn't match her pace .. definitely it is fast for me .

Last time neo jieshi also part of the Safra running group there

basic___

I nearly fainted at the queue zone...really cluster and no ventilation.

I remember last year was really efficient
Seen some of the photos at the queue zone after the finishing line. Quite scary..someone might actually die from it

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.