jogging and motivation thread

winningeleven

Well done @GlassDoor @Tudo88 @ctstalin on completing first marathon!

@Ender well done on new pb.

@Skyrillex Managed to sub 3?

I think I should not have run in alphafly3. Bought on carou and used only once for a short run. But I think somehow my HR was damn high from the start. Nevertheless, good year for me with new pb in half, 10 and 5km finally breaking 20 min. On to next year

Isn't it risky to try a running shoe that only wear just once for marathon?

WussRedXLi

Torque workout 150Nm
Age 54
I’m 66.7kg & can easily do +1200w for 5s & +1000 for 15s.

Ender

Being my first marathon and always watch videos when people say “The real marathon starts after 30km”.

I guess it’s kinda true. My real pain cave start at around 37km, quite torturing
I tend to agree. For most, average runner, that's where the leg muscle starts to fatigue. More long runs for training may delay the onset to later stage. Mind over body will factor more at this point onwards.

I was browsing thru one of the series of photographs taken by one SRC member who was cheering at the cheering station for our return leg. That is about 35km mark. Also my point where begin to walk run walk. I was looking and checking some runners who were behind me at this point. But their results were between 3:55 - 3:59. So if my mental resilient was strong enough to overcome the pain, there was still hope to meet my goal from 35km onwards. Weak lah...

WussRedXLi

Not a long distance endurance runner, but what i know from cycling / tri (probably very much the same) is that if hydration/electrolytes are not the factor, ie those crampfix or salt tabs do not work, then just gotta work on your strengthening (both endurance high reps and strength low reps) and hope that it works after a certain training point. Even hill reps might help. Esp if you race after race or training after training sesh you come across the same damn crampy feeling.

Or you can try hill intervals or sprints to test if gyms/weights/bands put you off. If crampy feeling even after just after several reps of 40-60 seconds VO2max effort....then decent chance that is the issue. Can try Lor Sesuai, Serapong or similar..those ~ double digit grad ones. I really do mean hill reps and VO2max efforts or even neuromuscular sprints, not your usual hard stuff that you do for FM.

edit - for neuromuscular work other than sprints, can also base focus on plyometrics.

Not sure if there are any other factors. Not a pro.....

WussRedXLi

LEg muscle mommy

Ooooohhh......
Slight pause at the bottom also.

Nearly 40kg BSS

WussRedXLi

Actually / seriously, if you have done your marathon training proper for months (or even years), but just this remainder "small often left-out" part is a bit weak and then race day sayang really kena cramp or near cramp and then gotta reduce pace, is really sayang one. After all, FM not like parkruns......in which the latter can run and re-try week after week.
Esp if you have spent thousands for an overseas one.

Yes, incorporating neuromuscular training, which can include activities like sprints and plyometrics, is considered a beneficial strategy for preventing exercise-associated muscle cramps (EAMCs). The primary theory supporting this is that these exercises help delay the onset of neuromuscular fatigue.

How it Works
The most accepted explanation for EAMCs is the "altered neuromuscular control" theory, which posits that muscle fatigue leads to an imbalance in the nervous system signals that control muscle contraction and relaxation.
  • Sport-Specific Conditioning: Regular and specific training for your event, including high-intensity efforts like sprints, helps condition your muscles to handle the demands without fatiguing prematurely.
  • Enhanced Efficiency: Neuromuscular training, such as plyometrics (explosive movements like jumping), promotes neural adaptations in muscle receptors, enhancing the efficiency and sensitivity of the pathways used for neuromuscular control.
  • Reduced Miscommunication: By delaying fatigue, these exercises help maintain proper communication between your nerves and muscles, preventing the electrical misfiring that results in painful, involuntary contractions (cramps).

milkiee

I tend to agree. For most, average runner, that's where the leg muscle starts to fatigue. More long runs for training may delay the onset to later stage. Mind over body will factor more at this point onwards.

I was browsing thru one of the series of photographs taken by one SRC member who was cheering at the cheering station for our return leg. That is about 35km mark. Also my point where begin to walk run walk. I was looking and checking some runners who were behind me at this point. But their results were between 3:55 - 3:59. So if my mental resilient was strong enough to overcome the pain, there was still hope to meet my goal from 35km onwards. Weak lah...
i think more long runs and heavy load strength training will help you.
my legs were fine until after 35km where i can feel the cramp coming in on my hamstring.
i have not been dedicating any strength training for my hamstring which i will now include for next year.

DigDub

Yeah....E14, E27 easily available. G24 (2 pin) and 2G11 (4 pin) a fair bit harder to find, easier to armchair shop and get from TB . Somemore the G24 is Philips brand and 4000 kelvins (also quite high CRI / Colour Rendering Index)

Confirm less energy with current LED emitters efficiency even the standard efficient ones and not the highest efficient ones. Just touch the CFL and then the LED bulb, the CFL almost impossible to touch (hot)

Dang it, did not manage to kope the 20rmb voucher. Try tomorrow again.
Oh actually I got the g24 2 pin from hardware shop near my house.

xllms

Being my first marathon and always watch videos when people say “The real marathon starts after 30km”.

I guess it’s kinda true. My real pain cave start at around 37km, quite torturing
thats y most recommend at least 2 LSD more than 30km before FM. I remembered my 30km run, by then i felt my legs don't belong to myself, esp when i stopped, had trouble walking properly after i stopped and held on to the railing for a breather.

xllms

first run after one month hiatus due to severe influenza, just did a 5km with the Dynafish大鲶的小鲶, first run with this pair of running shoe. Breathing was all over the place, need to run more to regulate my breathing properly.
Relatively firm with very strong rebounce, fast responsive shoe. With little effort i went into a pace of one minute slower than my threshold pace and stayed there almost throughout the entire run.
Felt great for midfoot strike and transition was smooth. Cornered well too if one focused on using forefoot to land. Picked up pace well at the end as well. Felt good to walk on after the run too. I need to go for longer runs to see how it performs at slower pace.
As a first impression, definitely better than all non-plated shoes i ever tried. Comparable to AAP3 and more stable forefoot, better than Saucony Endorphin Pro 3. Less nimble than Takumi sen 9 and Feiying pb3.0, but felt different.

GlassDoor

first run after one month hiatus due to severe influenza, just did a 5km with the Dynafish大鲶的小鲶, first run with this pair of running shoe. Relatively firm with very strongBreathing was all over the place, need to run more to regulate my breathing properly. rebounce, fast responsive shoe. With little effort i went into a pace of one minute slower than my threshold pace and stayed there almost throughout the entire run.
Felt great for midfoot strike and transition was smooth. Cornered well too if one focused on using forefoot to land. Picked up pace well at the end as well. Felt good to walk on after the run too. I need to go for longer runs to see how it performs at slower pace.
As a first impression, definitely better than all non-plated shoes i ever tried. Comparable to AAP3 and more stable forefoot, better than Saucony Endorphin Pro 3. Less nimble than Takumi sen 9 and Feiying pb3.0, but felt different.
could be due to temp difference between SH and SG. But I feel it is a fair bit softer than AAP3.
still responsive thou. feel it will be a longer run shoe with pace. for me not suitable to be daily where i want more control over the shoe.

GlassDoor

imho it's better gauge of popular running shoes cos voted by consumer's wallet instead of some "shoetuber".
i have 2,4,6
2.6 I absolutely love
4... i absolutely hate :ROFLMAO:

xllms

could be due to temp difference between SH and SG. But I feel it is a fair bit softer than AAP3.
still responsive thou. feel it will be a longer run shoe with pace. for me not suitable to be daily where i want more control over the shoe.
maybe i need to clarify what i meant by firmness of 小鲶. its definitely not soft but more on the balanced side with a tad of firmness and with distinct fast responsiveness. Feet doesn't sinks in and energy is dissipated like the novablast 5 in warm conditions.
i felt the shoe has much similarity in terms of midsole responsiveness as AAP3, but with faster and probably stronger rebounce effect. Need to bring out my AAP3 and run to do a more objective comparison.
Maybe your point on climatic condition is valid.

xllms

imho it's better gauge of popular running shoes cos voted by consumer's wallet instead of some "shoetuber".
i have 2,4,6
2.6 I absolutely love
4... i absolutely hate :ROFLMAO:

6 is titled as Adizero Japan 9, is it a takumi sen?

GlassDoor

maybe i need to clarify what i meant by firmness of 小鲶. its definitely not soft but more on the balanced side with a tad of firmness and with distinct fast responsiveness. Feet doesn't sinks in and energy is dissipated like the novablast 5 in warm conditions.
i felt the shoe has much similarity in terms of midsole responsiveness as AAP3, but with faster and probably stronger rebounce effect. Need to bring out my AAP3 and run to do a more objective comparison.
Maybe your point on climatic condition is valid.
i remember the temp diff in a video review... can't remember where thou

xllms

i remember the temp diff in a video review... can't remember where thou
difference in temp does affect some midsoles like the novablast 5
but not sure how it affects this 小鲶
will bring this back to SG and try during CNY

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.