jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Seeing multiple people wearing masks to run/jog brings back memories from the COVID period.

Today 24 Mar can finally see the smoke plume liao. 21,22,23 could not see.
Seems like east side (Seaside residences) this early hrs detected it to be even worse than yesterday early hours.

Just now 4+pm came out South side here, the smell was rather heavy and very distinct as you move from building AC enrivonment to external.

Now 6pm not so much.

Anyway it really depends from day to day, the plume might die down, or it might flare up even more. Even though every day no rain, it still depends.

And coz of the rather near distance, we are quite affected by it even though the plume is not a jialat one, and the smoke column as you can see is rather "thin"....hence it cannot affect even one quarter of SG's 43km east to west. Really depends on the

Suomi-NPP polar orbiting satellite, true colour image this afternoon

RqeVjHr.jpg

dev_stg_prd

Today 24 Mar can finally see the smoke plume liao. 21,22,23 could not see.
Seems like east side (Seaside residences) this early hrs detected it to be even worse than yesterday early hours.

Just now 4+pm came out South side here, the smell was rather heavy and very distinct as you move from building AC enrivonment to external.

Now 6pm not so much.

Suomi-NPP polar orbiting satellite, true colour image this afternoon

Anyway it really depends from day to day, the plume might die down, or it might flare up even more. Even though every day no rain, it still depends.

And coz of the rather near distance, we are quite affected by it even though the plume is not a jialat one, and the smoke column as you can see is rather "thin"....hence it cannot affect even one quarter of SG's 43km east to west. Really depends on the smoke direction.

RqeVjHr.jpg
NEA still monitoring ah?

WussRedXLi

Actually been there once, ate the min jiang kueh (cheap, $1.30 only iirc) for after session makan.....but i think like 1 year ago plus plus but that time was pretty early, 6am+ so many stores still not open.

edit - oh.....raise price already to $1.40, it was featured in Ghib Ojisan's vid

Will give it another try, latter hrs like 9+ or 10am.

keN614n.jpg

Mecisteus

North side no haze smell for now.

Warm weather and haze period, I think I will run indoors more.

WussRedXLi

I spoke too soon, now levels rising again on my laser particle counter.

And i have a workout later at 8.30pm. !@$$%!@#

Hmm.....i am actually wondering if i can further optimize things (recovery) with doing my workouts very early in the morning, ie wake up at 5.30am latest.
But sleep by 10pm. (last night i slept at 9.15pm actually)

Cortisol levels. Not melatonin. Supposedly it affects slow wave deep sleep. HGH, PNS and CNS recovery etc etc.....yada yada you know the drill. So that is, even if after the workout and i can sleep by 12.30am, i might still not get the necessary recovery. If you workout 2 times a week, even if just short 30 - 45 mins actual workout duration, that is still 2 days of the week affected.
Not sure about easy workouts though.

I know below is basically an AI voiced vid, but i think there is still decent scientific basis if you fact check.

WussRedXLi

To be perfectly honest, there were indeed quite a couple of episodes whereby i could not sleep until 2am...... the workouts did affect things. And im willing to bet that true recovery for that night (deep slow wave sleep) did not truly happen

AI Overview

Easy run sessions at 9 pm are unlikely to severely disrupt your sleep, provided they are truly low-intensity and you have a buffer time before bed. While evening exercise can increase cortisol and adrenaline, moderate-intensity (easy) running generally does not negatively impact sleep quality and can even improve deep sleep for many people.

Yes, performing threshold sessions at 9 pm will likely raise your cortisol levels, and if done too close to bedtime, it can cause them to stay elevated, potentially reducing your deep sleep and overall sleep quality.

Impact on Cortisol and Sleep (9 pm Scenario)
  • Elevated Cortisol: High-intensity exercise (like threshold training) triggers a temporary spike in cortisol, a stress hormone that is supposed to taper off at night to allow for sleep.
  • Reduced Deep Sleep/Quality: Strenuous evening exercise ending within 4 hours of bedtime is associated with delayed sleep onset, lower sleep quality, and decreased REM sleep.
  • 4-Hour Rule: While moderate exercise in the early evening can be fine, high-intensity workouts should ideally end at least 4 hours before sleep to prevent disruptions.
  • Increased Body Temperature: Threshold sessions increase body temperature, which needs to drop for you to fall into deep, restorative sleep.

WussRedXLi

YT algo at it again.

One more thing to search and fact check. Sugar dips, cortisol rises.
Wakes up, literally impossible to get back to sleep.

edit - i am already doing Mg Glycinate (200mg) before bed.

Am sure middle aged folks here have experienced it........some even chronically.

We all can have the best training plan best coach best nutrition best discipline best consistency, but this is literally other 50% of the magic if this is a big issue.
(is is also linked to stuff like cancer? Not sure if scientifically got evidence)

@rarenick you still around? What do you think

Fat loss by just fixing this and 3am awakenings drastically reduced.....not sure if zhun or not. (might be possible)

cK5ItBM.jpg

Yes, taking a small amount of raw honey—typically 1–2 teaspoons (approx. 7–14 grams)—before bed can help blunt the release of cortisol during sleep. It achieves this by providing a steady supply of liver glycogen, preventing the 3 a.m. "sugar crash" that triggers stress hormones like cortisol and adrenaline.
How Honey Blunts Nocturnal Cortisol:
  • Prevents Hypoglycemia-Induced Stress: During sleep, the brain uses liver glycogen for energy. If liver stores are depleted, blood sugar drops (hypoglycemia), causing the adrenal glands to release cortisol and adrenaline to stimulate glucose production, leading to restless sleep or waking up.
  • Optimal Glycogen Storage: Honey has a near-perfect 1:1 ratio of fructose and glucose, which is highly efficient for restocking liver glycogen stores, providing a steady, slow-release energy source throughout the night.
  • Supports Melatonin Production: Honey triggers a small, controlled insulin rise, which facilitates the uptake of tryptophan by the brain, ultimately promoting the production of serotonin and melatonin (the sleep hormone).
  • Low Glycemic Response: Despite being sugar, natural honey has a lower glycemic response compared to refined sugars, which prevents the sudden insulin spike and subsequent crash that prompts a stress response.
Recommendations for Best Results:
  • Timing: Consume 1–2 teaspoons 30–60 minutes before bed.
  • Type: Choose raw, unfiltered honey for maximum benefits.
  • Pairing: Many traditional practices suggest taking it with a tiny pinch of salt to further nourish the adrenal glands.

Dr Eric Berg DC (i usually dont watch his vids, but sometimes i still do). Seems like very similar points and he touches more in depth. he attributes this more to adrenaline and not cortisol, and he throws in some caveats like fatty liver conditions. He did mention cortisol as well, but that you can get 5-6 hours of sleep, just not till 7-8hrs.

Ender

Unfortunately I fractured my toe and my right hand fractured in 2 places.
The right hand was fractured in Nov last year due to cycling and just recovered only
Fell again? You might want to check you bone density.

WussRedXLi

https://www.myheart.org.sg/heart-news/wearable-technology-enhances-atrial-fibrillation-detection-and-monitoring/#:~:text=The new smartwatches from Apple,,when there is an abnormality.

However, an ECG is needed to confirm the diagnosis of AF. Short-term recording with ambulatory 24 hours, 48 hours or even 7 days Holter may be useful but may not detect AF if it does not occur during the period of monitoring. In the past, event recorders have recorded only brief periods, but new wearable patch recorders provide prolonged ECG recording for 7-28 days.

According to a mSToPS study, it is found that continuous monitoring with a wearable ECG patch leads to higher rates of AF diagnosis and greater initiation of anti-coagulants. The new smartwatches from Apple, Samsung and Huawei have the ability to record a 30-second interval single lead ECG, which can help detect irregular pulse and alert the patient when there is an abnormality.

These can provide a good recording in about 80-90% of the patients, and the device can interpret the rhythm strip correctly about 80% of the time.

boDW2xF.jpg

Atrial fibrillation (AF or AFib) commonly feels like a rapid, fluttering, or pounding heart (palpitations), often described as a fish flopping in the chest. Other key sensations include dizziness, shortness of breath, fatigue, and chest discomfort. Some people may feel no symptoms at all, while others experience severe symptoms like fainting.
Heart Matters Cardiac Centre +3

Kuudere

Sometimes if early morning rains, I will run rail corridor in the evening but from spooner road. Now got road diversion though so will just u turn at the diversion and run up and down haha
Can try running at night, very shiok experience

Can watch this vid from Holly Archer for some info and new nuance on fuelling. But of coz she is an elite and she has trained to handle that rate and our amateur needs are different. But still, useful to know in case you or someone needs this specifically for their long duration race........

For me, i guess still no reason for me to fuel similarly as i dont race such long distances nor the workouts.
For me and my kid it's just a way to prevent bonking....as my kid has indeed bonked a couple of times, once serious enough that he had to sit by the roadside to rest as he said "not feeling well" while i cycled to the coffeeshop to get sugary drinks. There is a small chance that we could get into an accident coz of this, all the way from just a small crash coz ownself fall down due to incoordination or not noticing bumps, all the way to falling down right in front of a vehicle however rare that might be.

The crossover point from using predominantly glycogen to fat stores with intakes of 60, 90 and 120g/h.
She felt the best with 120g/h. She is ex decathelete, present (EU, national) elite grade runner and Hyroxer, iirc 32 min 10k and first FM last year 2:39.

Quote :
At 120g per hour, I experienced:
✔ Lower perceived effort (RPE)
✔ Better perceived energy levels
✔ Improved fluid retention
✔ Less body mass loss
✔ A delayed shift toward fat oxidation

This matters because carbohydrate produces more energy per litre of oxygen than fat, making it the more efficient fuel at marathon pace. When fuelling at 60g per hour, I lost 1.4kg of body mass, likely mostly fluid, and showed an earlier shift toward fat use, meaning less efficient energy production for the same effort. This is why fuelling shouldn’t be guesswork.

ps. Some might note that is for Holly, an elite fast athelete. The researchers noted that it's the same or even more important that average athletes fuel the same, coz they are out there on the course for even longer, so delaying that carb -> fax oxidation switch point till a latter stage is even more advantageous.

120g/hr is a lot leh, I am working towards 60-70g/hr for the marathon.

If you want to run a fast marathon, then you will need a lot more gels to sustain the glycogen burn.
i get creeped out afew times when i run alone at rail corridor after 7pm.
i would get goosebumps for no good reason so i stopped running there after :ROFLMAO:
now i just whack my long runs at Jurong Lake Garden instead lol
Rail corridor actually not too bad since there’s still people running or cycling past. These days I see people doing night cycling through rail corridor. But rifle range road, by 7pm, willnt have people going around there. You will see occasional cars going past. If you run till the end at the ammo camp, there’s a section where it will be pitch black.

Peanut15

https://www.myheart.org.sg/heart-news/wearable-technology-enhances-atrial-fibrillation-detection-and-monitoring/#:~:text=The new smartwatches from Apple,,when there is an abnormality.

However, an ECG is needed to confirm the diagnosis of AF. Short-term recording with ambulatory 24 hours, 48 hours or even 7 days Holter may be useful but may not detect AF if it does not occur during the period of monitoring. In the past, event recorders have recorded only brief periods, but new wearable patch recorders provide prolonged ECG recording for 7-28 days.

According to a mSToPS study, it is found that continuous monitoring with a wearable ECG patch leads to higher rates of AF diagnosis and greater initiation of anti-coagulants. The new smartwatches from Apple, Samsung and Huawei have the ability to record a 30-second interval single lead ECG, which can help detect irregular pulse and alert the patient when there is an abnormality.

These can provide a good recording in about 80-90% of the patients, and the device can interpret the rhythm strip correctly about 80% of the time.

boDW2xF.jpg

Atrial fibrillation (AF or AFib) commonly feels like a rapid, fluttering, or pounding heart (palpitations), often described as a fish flopping in the chest. Other key sensations include dizziness, shortness of breath, fatigue, and chest discomfort. Some people may feel no symptoms at all, while others experience severe symptoms like fainting.
Heart Matters Cardiac Centre +3

huawei watch, if you set to HK region (malaysia also) can unlock their pulse arthimetic detction or sth. In the background, based on heart rate, it shows:
1) Signs of PVC
2) Signs of Afib
3) Potential PVC
4) Potential Afib
5) Sinus rhythm

Based on my experience, quite accurate. Number of PVC/Afib reduced to 0 after the doctor shock the heart.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.