Amoy Street de fish soup jin ho jiak~

Wu-Han Clan

You can easily find equal or better fish soup elsewhere. The fun part about SG is all the recipes are very similar one. Most of them know each other or worked together at one point. You think all these hawkers so clever develop their own recipes ah? Some stalls got more kickass sambal chilli. If the fish soup is too tasty means too much salt or soya sauce.
finally someone said it... all the 7/10 8/10 standard of chicken rice.. fish soup.. hokkien mee... etc is arnd the same one... there is no stall in sg where if they close down is a loss to our culinary culture.. no single stall gt tt presence... is all abt the same somewhere else...

i oso say.. there are real hidden gems... (nt those so called instagram 2/5 star hidden gems) where the standard is same or better than the popular stalls... bt hor.. becoz the popular stall gt the fans.. location.. some hype then ppl taste buds become bias.... whereas the hidden gem open in less popular location.. mostly foreign workers eat... no one post... then ppl say is avg...

standarture

Also, it's damn funny people always keep talking about freshness when the damn fish slices are so tenderised lol

standarture

finally someone said it... all the 7/10 8/10 standard of chicken rice.. fish soup.. hokkien mee... etc is arnd the same one... there is no stall in sg where if they close down is a loss to our culinary culture.. no single stall gt tt presence... is all abt the same somewhere else...

i oso say.. there are real hidden gems... (nt those so called instagram 2/5 star hidden gems) where the standard is same or better than the popular stalls... bt hor.. becoz the popular stall gt the fans.. location.. some hype then ppl taste buds become bias.... whereas the hidden gem open in less popular location.. mostly foreign workers eat... no one post... then ppl say is avg...

Famous stalls always got bias one. Like also got simi porridge shop can wait 1hr for porridge LOL. Seriously. Many other hawker centre porridge stall can also win it hands down and much cheaper also. If you blindfold people and ask them taste all the stalls, I can bet you it is damn hard to figure out which one belongs to which. Most stalls don't have a distinct taste as I have mentioned.

xcodes

if you are talking about best fish slice soup, one of the best of the best that I had eaten before was at the food court located at One-North MRT station there, back in around 2019 ~ 2022 ... the fish slice was so tender that I have never eaten elsewhere before ... but too bad they had either closed down or moved to other places ... if anyone know where they moved to, please share their new location ... :)

Wu-Han Clan

The lunchtime queue has been super long for many years.

The fish slices are thicker and bigger than most other fish soup stalls.
this is another thing abt sinkies... which make me v hard to take ppl's food opinion srsly... when ppl say han kee v nice.. wht are they saying is nice???

i knw the soup is nice and clear.. bt i had better... imo is the portions for $6 tt make ppl rate them 5 star... nt rly the taste... becoz i had better fish soup at a higher price pt which will make ppl say nt nice or nt worth it... :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

if example i open a fish soup stall... i buy the everything from han kee OEM... sell as wu han fish soup.... and i giv ppl 3 lesser fish slices and sell for $9... no one will comment my soup is nice loh even though is the han kee OEM.. bt they will cfm say han kee taste better... :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: sinkie is price conscious one... nt rly foodies...

justln

The replies here all very funny.

Fish soup everywhere has queue
The 2 stores below my block also queue like crazy, one store close, queue the other one. And it's at a neighbourhood, not CBD.

People are just being more health conscious these days and want more protein in their diet.

For those who say, eh better fish soup somewhere else. You want people working there to travel to your shop to eat? :s8:

Mclairs83

OP living in a cave?

Han Kee has been around for decades.. when i was working around that area in 2008.. they have already been there.

I'm not a fan of fish soup, so i never ate them at all, but from my colleagues, friends everyone, all praise their fish soup 10/10. saying that no matter how long is the queue.. they will sure eat when they are around the area.

kennycai

Is flavourful ,healthy,thick and abundance of fish slices even for small bowl...bt queuewise at least 45 mins

tian_yibang

Jhj ish jhj , but the auntie gotch some attitude problem huan

But most orpit workers there still stronk sarpork for them, looking at the nong Q everyday

:cautious::cautious:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.