jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

how come got imperial distance ah LOL. Hocker kick jsm

Indoor track and field tradition, so yes 2 miles for USA, winter mah......so go indoor. Limited space also compared to outdoor coz gotta fit inside facilities.
Outdoor track and field got no 1 mile / 1609m, only metric 1600m.
Even got 2000m in some games.

WussRedXLi

Nick Bester tries it, no real time benefit. But prob easier on the joints etc.

I think the same happened to K1 from Malaysia when he tested it.

In triathlons, you cannot grab onto any railing or poles also coz deemed as assistance. Not sure about running races.

WussRedXLi

Watch later in detail, not sure which sports he does but he does marathons and cycling, and hiking/mountaineering.....basically a way of life for him

00:00 Intro 00:16 How Elie got into fitness and wellness 07:00 Why recovery is not enough 11:14 How Elie got a VO2 max of 70 in his 50s 16:20 Bon Charge sponsorship 17:15 Why VO2 max is such a good biomarker of overall health 19:25 Elie's scientific approach to increase VO2 max 22:30 Low intensity vs high intensity training 27:16 How to know your true maximum heart rate 34:25 How often should you test VO2 max 36:20 Elie's go-to workouts 44:18 Elie's go-to recovery strategies 48:44 Elie's nutrition 55:10 Elie's supplementation 01:00:24 How to start: beginners and advanced individuals

Kuudere

Hayden Wilde and Alex Yee are beasts in Triathlon. Crazy that Alex Yee can outrun pro marathoners.
Wayde van Niekerk is my ultimate idol, that 400m WR run was really out of the world to me. The grace, power at the end left such lasting impression on me. Whenever i watch the replay i have goosebumps throughout the race.
Can watch last year 4 x 400m relay in Tokyo, will give goosebumps

xllms

Can watch last year 4 x 400m relay in Tokyo, will give goosebumps
the finishing was very very exciting. van nierkerk's 3rd leg was most impressive (imo), from a 10m deficit to bring parity at the end of the baton exchange. In fact, he ran the fastest split of the entire race at 43.26s, 2nd was his anchor teammate, Zakithi Nene at 43.93s. The track condition was bad due to the rain and his age isn't helping but the WR holder simply blitzed everyone who is younger than him, including Leslie Tobogo at 44.05s.

Kuudere

the finishing was very very exciting. van nierkerk's 3rd leg was most impressive (imo), from a 10m deficit to bring parity at the end of the baton exchange. In fact, he ran the fastest split of the entire race at 43.26s, 2nd was his anchor teammate, Zakithi Nene at 43.93s. The track condition was bad due to the rain and his age isn't helping but the WR holder simply blitzed everyone who is younger than him, including Leslie Tobogo at 44.05s.
Van Nierkerk will most likely medal if he attempted the 400m instead of the 200m in the world championships. Running 43.26s in the rain, shows a lot of experience running the 400s in tough weather conditions. Nene, was 5th in the 400m finals, and Van Nierkerk was so much faster in the relays.

He might not have gotten gold for 400m but will be 100% medal contention based on his relay times.

https://www.letsrun.com/news/2026/02/jakob-ingebrigtsen-undergoes-achilles-surgery-in-california/

Full report here

xllms

Van Nierkerk will most likely medal if he attempted the 400m instead of the 200m in the world championships. Running 43.26s in the rain, shows a lot of experience running the 400s in tough weather conditions. Nene, was 5th in the 400m finals, and Van Nierkerk was so much faster in the relays.

He might not have gotten gold for 400m but will be 100% medal contention based on his relay times.

https://www.letsrun.com/news/2026/02/jakob-ingebrigtsen-undergoes-achilles-surgery-in-california/

Full report here
yes i agree van nierkerk had a great chance on the 400m podium if he ran for 400m. But let's not forget one has to go through heats & semi finals before the final. His legs may not have the same power by the final.
But lets focus back on the relay, few observations why van nierkerk's relay run was so impressive

1) 2nd to 3rd leg hand over: S.Africa was tie on 3rd/4th place with Belgium and slightly ahead of 5th, but some 10m behind 1st and 2nd. Brought back parity at 3rd to Anchor leg handover.
2) van Nierkerk's leg lifts on the backstraight was consistently higher than Belgium's Doom, as well as US & Botswana's 3rd runners.
3) van Nierkerk's cadence appears to be higher at the final stretch (until near handover) than the 1st and 2nd. His stride length appears longer as well.

I suspect if S.Africa swap runners in the last 2 legs, van Nierkerk might have ran down both Bostwana and US at the line.

WussRedXLi

First time after like what....6 months went Serapong (Sentosa) to "TT / test test". Majority of the time i dont turn left to that Woolwich road one.

Bottom part start from deadstop ie mounted, HR avg low 130s peaked at 138. I was trying to keep to mid 120s and not going over 130 based on Mount Faber but i guess i am not there yet. First gear, front is 36. Cadence around 50, that's like 6.5kmh or brisk walking speed. And of coz, you cant go too slow, you'd just fall......it's not like running or walking whereby you can just "slow down".

I remember last time , this was not an easy climb at all, regardless of speed or even you are cheonging up from 30kmh even.
But the attempt just now was, pretty easy, pretty evident from the HR regardless so that is not pure anecdotal or some broscience. My riding posture or facial expression or breathing, nothing changed much at all.....was listening to Andy Lau on the speaker and i could have sang the song if i knew how to. lol
When i reached the top, even i was feeling pretty surprised actually. :unsure: :oops:

Looks like the strength training really works.....that's the main attributor i am believing that has helped.
Raises muscular efficiency metabolically etc coz strength wise, you are simply well well below your what 8-12 rep limit or 100 rep limit or what......, not totally unlike RE in running but i believe the difference is that this matters significally more in cycling (just some broscience here, i have not poured over any literature). Not sure metabolically or cardiovascular works or improved over the same period tho.

Early 2015 single leg deadlift ~ 40kg for training, now is 60kg and i think it's time to move to 70kg as getting somewhat "easy". My bodyweight is 72kg, though a fair bit of it (probably like 3-4kg) is water weight due to Creatine @ 7-8g/d.
But now, not haolian or what, this progression is not fast at all actually and nothing to shout about, definitely and totally doable if anyone here stays *consistent*.

ps. Oh yes, purely seated attempt also, no off saddle or what. No falling from the bike or zig zag or what. Just chill ride up, albeit at low speed.

WussRedXLi

xllms

QIAODAN 飞影 Plaid 3.0
IMG-20260207-195419.jpg
IMG-20260207-195524.jpg
IMG-20260207-195602.jpg
IMG-20260207-195430.jpg

size 43 205g

xllms

Looks like there is much more cushion around collar than plaid 2
can see shades of adidas X 3
Hope they go back to soft and bouncy like Plaid 1.

Feiying chinese logo looks underwhelming though.
agree, me also don't like the Feiying logo. Prefer the Qiaodan big Q logo at the forefoot as of plaid 2.

xllms

taking a break in my morning run after 15km. Wanted to do a HM but tak boleh tahan. 1degC feels like -2degC. my nose is sniffling. Fantastic clear blue sky and plenty of sunshine. Replenishing with some electrolytes now

sales69

can see shades of adidas X 3

agree, me also don't like the Feiying logo. Prefer the Qiaodan big Q logo at the forefoot as of plaid 2.
I prefer the big Chinese Feiying logo on Plaid 1. More unique and keeping to their roots.

But big Q on Plaid 2 is fine too.

Hope this is production sample. The English "FY Plaid" looks crap as well. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.