jogging and motivation thread

xllms

how you all find motivation to run sia

i really HATE running
everyone has his/her preferences. Some have been doing since young, some have learn to enjoy it. If you don't like it and don't intend to try it, feel free to do something else you enjoy and feels motivated to persist with it.

as someone who used to get high on speed and anaerobic thrills, now as i age with declining physiological capabilities, i have learned to enjoy slow cruising runs.

find your own kicks and live life.

xllms

interesting. running too close to the leading car is considered as assisted, i.e "drafting". Another issue not mentioned in the article is will he be able to keep his prize? It would also mean his podium is not valid.

this was brought up after the race in the social media. Certainly the car and board above the car had reduce air resistance in front of the runner.
valid or otherwise, still a great attempt and just grab my popcorns(western)/瓜子(chinese)/bahkwa(sg ny) and watch the drama 😂

xllms

Motivation from gamification of running. Feels good racking up those numbers on my garmin and strava :ROFLMAO:
sama sama
also the initial collection of running shoes (finding and acquiring those affordable quality lesser known shoe shoes) and those who helped to achieve PBs until space limitations or family noises kick in
🤣

WussRedXLi

this was brought up after the race in the social media. Certainly the car and board above the car had reduce air resistance in front of the runner.
valid or otherwise, still a great attempt and just grab my popcorns(western)/瓜子(chinese)/bahkwa(sg ny) and watch the drama 😂

I hope Jakob Kiplimo and Sawe returns to whack the records again, lagi further demolishing the previous record by even more. This kind of "anger" can be really good fuel........also seen in triathlon races with its stop-go penalties and the atheletes staging very good comebacks.

Joshua Cheptegi after his 2:04 2nd marathon, i think also not much chance for him to break 2:01 (or even HM WR) before his prime years. Keep his 5k and 10k WR can liao i guess, just accept that he is faster in those "starting" endurance distances for amateurs esp the ubiquitous 5k
2:01 or even 2:02, vs 2:04, is a world of difference right there at the very limit.
I think he is around Marsha Du's (German 400m sprinter) age......not much more juice remaining liao

xllms

I hope Jakob Kiplimo and Sawe returns to whack the records again, lagi further demolishing the previous record by even more. This kind of "anger" can be really good fuel........also seen in triathlon races with its stop-go penalties and the atheletes staging very good comebacks.

Joshua Cheptegi after his 2:04 2nd marathon, i think also not much chance for him to break 2:01 (or even HM WR) before his prime years. Keep his 5k and 10k WR can liao i guess, just accept that he is faster in those "starting" endurance distances for amateurs esp the ubiquitous 5k
2:01 or even 2:02, vs 2:04, is a world of difference right there at the very limit.
I think he is around Marsha Du's (German 400m sprinter) age......not much more juice remaining liao
layman like me, just enjoy seeing someone new and not arrogant break new records or get close to the WR, eg. Wayde van Niekerk's 400m WR at the Olympics 2016, Kelvin Kiptum's 2:00:35 Marathon WR.
Even non WR events like the 2024 Paris Olympics Triathlon, Alex Yee chased down Hayden Wilde at around the last 500m to clinch Gold.

WussRedXLi

layman like me, just enjoy seeing someone new and not arrogant break new records or get close to the WR, eg. Wayde van Niekerk's 400m WR at the Olympics 2016, Kelvin Kiptum's 2:00:35 Marathon WR.
Even non WR events like the 2024 Paris Olympics Triathlon, Alex Yee chased down Hayden Wilde at around the last 500m to clinch Gold.

Hayden Wilde one of my tri idols. And Sam Long for his spirit and the way he carries himself even though he is usually not good enough due to his swimming but can emulate him on cycling and running.

Kuudere

For NSM, I think the bare minimum is 5 days but I have done 4 days before on busy weeks. 3 sessions + 1 easy run but I do a longer warmup and cool down to clock the 'easy' mileage. Although it is frown up, I mix my 3 x 10mins session with long run together.. about 4km warmup, 3x10mins and the remaining mileage to fill up the long run mileage. Sometimes life gets in the way so it is not too feasible to be running everyday.
Yeah and you need to be clocking 5-6 hours of running a week to make the 3 sessions worthwhile. For 4 days of running, I think 2 sessions of short + long ST, combined with easy and long run should be sufficient.

Doing a workout during long run is definitely going to be a lot harder but helps more with racing. Just that NSM methodology tends to be more rigid so that you don’t overstretch yourself. Apart from the 3 sessions, everything is at conservative recovery pace to allow you to run higher % of subthreshold pace.

I personally feel that NSM is more time consuming than traditional running plans due to the slower easy runs, though not as time consuming as MAF.

WussRedXLi

KNN this middle age fella hauling neuromuscular ass, sure got do at least strides or maybe some short distance sprints at least. Cadence > 240 (timed several times via his arm swing) and with power

This chap another one. Runs in bermudas or bermuda length shorts and DIY backpack, .......probably more for commute cum training than running for pure recreation

See how he starts slow at first and after that just VTEC

Hidden dragon crouching tiger....i read the comments and that's at least 3 days wage for the avg worker there in Mexico, possibly much more for that young fella who can only do part time or something.

xllms

Hayden Wilde and Alex Yee are beasts in Triathlon. Crazy that Alex Yee can outrun pro marathoners.
Wayde van Niekerk is my ultimate idol, that 400m WR run was really out of the world to me. The grace, power at the end left such lasting impression on me. Whenever i watch the replay i have goosebumps throughout the race.

WussRedXLi

Protein again

So far my bloodwork and my wife's also no issue. Neither are my father's and mothers.
The max number of eggs is me, 3-4 daily sometimes (somewhat rare occasions) peaking at 6-8.
The others 2-3 daily.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.