jogging and motivation thread

xllms

^^^^^^^^^
Some people just give up on these races.

Actually tbh, i am not sure if i am 怪胎。 :unsure:

I dont have Strava, i dont have Zwift, i dont have Facebook, i dont have instagram...Twitch etc.
Heck i dont even have Garmin be it watch or bike computer, or a power meter for my bike (srsly i think it is a form of distraction while on the road if overly focused, however small that may be, developing a feel may be more beneficial)

Only thing i do is HWZ and Youtube watcher.
good control on social media consumption. Too much social media is can be poisoning of the mind. 🤣

Ender

Last nite, started my before my run just before 11pm, the haze smell was terrible for most of the run. Hopefully next week will be clear

Ender

Latest study, having a carb meal within 3 hour post run if your muscle needs to recover fast enough for the next day session. But if the next day is a rest day, then not need to worry about timing, just wack enough calories for the day.

xllms

Latest study, having a carb meal within 3 hour post run if your muscle needs to recover fast enough for the next day session. But if the next day is a rest day, then not need to worry about timing, just wack enough calories for the day.

great incentive to wack hokkien mee, CKT, chicken rice, roti prata, nasi lemak etc immediately after runs 🤣

WussRedXLi

if you dont have bike com how you know you do 55kph

I didnt exactly mean to say i dont have bike comp.... 😅
I mean to say dont have Garmin watch or Garmin bike comp ..... 😅 (too costly for me basically)

Main thing i use is speed and that's more for kicks. I barely look at rpm cadence also, nowadays i think also no use trying to glance at it so often trying to gather so much info.....what's more important is to develop a feel for the rpm and the pedal pressure.
It's the same for watch with running HR/pace....but since my lactate meter usage days in 2024/early 25 (for running) i think more or less i know the LT2 feeling in the muscles and so I just base on that.
Same, try to develop a good feel.

I think another small factor is that glance too much on the watch or bike comp, got small chance that it can lead to accidents. Bike vs car accident or jogger vs bicycle accident. The latter nearly happened to me at GBTB near the bend coz coz the lady was looking at her watch, cycling lane portion, bend just outside the Garden By The Bay toilet area...... gave me a pissed of tsk when i was approaching and she stunned but we siamed towards the same direction.

I dont have Strava, i dont have Zwift, i dont have Facebook, i dont have instagram...Twitch etc.
Heck i dont even have Garmin be it watch or bike computer, or a power meter for my bike (srsly i think it is a form of distraction while on the road if overly focused, however small that may be, developing a feel may be more beneficial)

WussRedXLi

isn’t this the jogging motivation thread? huai chiu come and demotivate joggers to switch to cycling? :crazy:

Is not jogging Motivation thread.
Is Jogging And Motivation thread. 🤣

Also, it's good cross training anyway. Even runners like Ben from Ben is Running channel and Ben Bridges from The Messi Happi decided to cross train recently (cycling specifically) and got pretty good results, helped with their injury.

Volume might be king in quite a number of cases, but there are instances in which it isn't, or you just cant afford to put that much solely into 1 basket.

edit - actually, for me i personally also can attest to that. I am only doing 1 somewhat short running workout (LT2) of within 5km distance, really chapalang zone 2 runs (commutes between home and officer for morning/evening and also during lunch time, now is ~ 25km/week running, my running performance didnt slide too much.
Last time i was running up to 70km/wk......before i started cycling.
But even for cyclists, the converse is also true, it is quite fruitful to run as there is potentially more carry over benefits from running to aid cycling, dont even need much running volume comparatively.
Else, if just wanna train via cycling solely and really improve to advanced or even sub-elite performance levels, the number of hours needed to put in is lagi even more than what is needed in running. We are talking at levels upwards of 10 hours per week, i have read some touching 20-25hrs.

Here :

I8NPC5a.jpg

WussRedXLi

I feel this graph is very important and useful for our understanding.
Past few months, i really found out that recovery is everything, esp from my dips progress. For my level / age, i was over doing the sessions weekly frequency/reps that i can recovery from. (now is 2 sessions legs 2 sessions upper body)
edit - ok not everything, but it's 50% stimulus from workouts or endurance sessions, 50% recovery.

ie If recovery is screwed and final effectiveness is halved coz cant recover and then next session starts, that means the previous workout is halved too. Just waste time nia, which you can use to do other things.

Blow it up

Looks like CNS also got difference

ieGuzMu.jpg

ttDB8Xx.jpg

WussRedXLi

great incentive to wack hokkien mee, CKT, chicken rice, roti prata, nasi lemak etc immediately after runs 🤣

I think if not practical to take a real meal after workout sesh or longer endurance sesh, bare minimum is to get the carbs calories in, even with beverages (like my fav Kang Shi bo flavoured teas, 7-10 g sugar /100mg) or choc bars, kit kat etc. Or just a banana or any fruit also good. Then 1-2 hrs later makan the real meal.

ie What you utilized during the session, good habit to "immediately" put it back in, even if it is while outside and travelling home. (put it in the pockets). Or a small bit of it immediately when session ended, and then a bit more when reach home, then 1-2hrs later a good solid full meal.

Coz the study showed @ 3hrs mark it already makes a significant difference, so probably within 1hr it already starts to make notable diff.

Maybe for the really long endurance sessions of 2 hours, literally at near the end of the session can start to eat something that you can eat/drink out there while mobile, like a bar or some sweet beverage from 7-11 or mcdonald's soft serve or something......esp so if one is not fuelling during the session simply coz they dont like to bring things along (like how some doing 21k dont fuel one), dont let the body "starve" so to speak.

For me, since the beginning of when i started to play with training , i cannot tahan no fuel one, so really try to eat even while outside, usually is mcdonald's soft serve coz it's the cheapest out there..... and also the soft flasks in running belt with 100 plus etc even for my 10-12k runs, bare minumum is 1 x 420ml and sometimes 2 x 420ml but first 2-3km i already consume the first 420ml lol 🤣 ....when the vast majority of runners wouldnt even bring plain water along. But srsly i think i also didnt fill it up to the brim lah, maybe 300-350ml.

WussRedXLi

Also, it's good cross training anyway. Even runners like Ben from Ben is Running channel and Ben Bridges from The Messi Happi decided to cross train recently (cycling specifically) and got pretty good results, helped with their injury.

Volume might be king in quite a number of cases, but there are instances in which it isn't, or you just cant afford to put that much solely into 1 basket.

edit - actually, for me i personally also can attest to that. I am only doing 1 somewhat short running workout (LT2) of within 5km distance, really chapalang zone 2 runs (commutes between home and officer for morning/evening and also during lunch time, now is ~ 25km/week running, my running performance didnt slide too much.
Last time i was running up to 70km/wk......before i started cycling.
But even for cyclists, the converse is also true, it is quite fruitful to run as there is potentially more carry over benefits from running to aid cycling, dont even need much running volume comparatively.
Else, if just wanna train via cycling solely and really improve to advanced or even sub-elite performance levels, the number of hours needed to put in is lagi even more than what is needed in running. We are talking at levels upwards of 10 hours per week, i have read some touching 20-25hrs.

Here :

I8NPC5a.jpg

Looks like i am not the only one. Those interested, can really give it a try if you plateued for long or your training program just could not work one way or the other.

Literally the mirror image of me, age.....distances, nature of training between run : bike ratio, timing also same :
And then there are folks who run so much mileage and train so much more....but unfortunately cant hit goals due to various reasons. Sometimes maybe it also depends on the individual responses on the stimulus or something, or end up injuriing themselves and need to back track, and then train again, then backtrack, then train, then...... vicious cycle

@rachaeljelliott

1 month ago
I know I’m not anywhere as quick as you, but I used to run 17s and 18s for 5k in 2008-9, and had to give up due to plantar fasciitis and switched to cycling.

I’m now blind and have got on the world class programme for Great Britain for paratriathlon. I now run between 25-30km a week only, but I’m now running 18 minute 5ks again - despite being 47 and only doing little mileage - but LOTS on the bike. Like Alex Bell, there’s a real place for the bike in improving your training and allowing you to train a lot more time with minimal impact. Thanks again for the videos. I make videos of my guided parkruns each week but they’re not a patch on yours!!

WussRedXLi

It feels very manageable, I didn't get any significant muscle soreness the next day. Though if I were to stretch my hips, I can feel the ache. When I run, don't feel anything off as compared to when I did continuous box jumps up the stadium with no rest (100+).

The jump height is 45cm measured.

Maybe is outlier eg, but still....... 11% for 5k in 8 weeks is MASSIVE

2nd video, can do it as short as 6 mins with that specific protocol. And yes, same 2X a week, same as what i have been accustomed to, dont over do it esp for the middle aged folks. (same for strength training, per muscle grp)

But i missed out what the second vid mentioned, which might be quite applicable for the others here if not doing strength. There needs to be basic level of strength first. Or just really slowly progressive load it up (lower reps per set).
For you is good, not even soreness (other than hips) after first session, even with no progressive loading. That means your circuit training etc has some strength benefits as well....or maybe you have also been doing strength as well.

I wish i had known such things sooner when in 2022/2023 i was doing much higher running volume. Might have been able to reach even faster PBs.
Wah lan, that time i really used so much time to improve so little, making excuses that old liao etc.

Or maybe not

WussRedXLi

Not many videos made on this......
Is fairly basic knowledge, but still interesting vid seeing it played out in real life race and nicely documented.

podad518

Looks like i am not the only one. Those interested, can really give it a try if you plateued for long or your training program just could not work one way or the other.

Literally the mirror image of me, age.....distances, nature of training between run : bike ratio, timing also same :
And then there are folks who run so much mileage and train so much more....but unfortunately cant hit goals due to various reasons. Sometimes maybe it also depends on the individual responses on the stimulus or something, or end up injuriing themselves and need to back track, and then train again, then backtrack, then train, then...... vicious cycle

@rachaeljelliott

1 month ago
I know I’m not anywhere as quick as you, but I used to run 17s and 18s for 5k in 2008-9, and had to give up due to plantar fasciitis and switched to cycling.

I’m now blind and have got on the world class programme for Great Britain for paratriathlon. I now run between 25-30km a week only, but I’m now running 18 minute 5ks again - despite being 47 and only doing little mileage - but LOTS on the bike. Like Alex Bell, there’s a real place for the bike in improving your training and allowing you to train a lot more time with minimal impact. Thanks again for the videos. I make videos of my guided parkruns each week but they’re not a patch on yours!!

Just curious, how much cycling training are you doing? I just started cycling as well and I figured that I can cycle more than I can run. I run slightly less, 5KM 4 times a week and one of them is a parkrun which I would treat as a higher intensity or even max effort run.

WussRedXLi

Fast guy. 9:51 3K for his friend

This is also the race track where they run the 24 hours duration ultra marathon

Mystyque

Is not jogging Motivation thread.
Is Jogging And Motivation thread. 🤣

I agree cross training can help. Decades ago, I was stuck at around 9:50~10:00m for 2.4km no matter what. Started playing squash for a few months and didn't do much running training during the period and didn't even bother to time myself when I did. On the next IPPT, I went down below 9:20 ( can't remember the exact timing, too long ago :s13: )

WussRedXLi

Just curious, how much cycling training are you doing? I just started cycling as well and I figured that I can cycle more than I can run. I run slightly less, 5KM 4 times a week and one of them is a parkrun which I would treat as a higher intensity or even max effort run.

Mon-Thur nights total 2-3hrs. 1 night of which is workout as intervals either VO2max microburst 30-40 secs type, followed by some zone 2/recovery.

Fri = SIT, strides run intervals or just a fast run as run workout.
Also Mon-Fri i run to work and back for commute/lunchtime 4 times per day, just to rack up mileage for run muscles, on the way back home I do 1 x stride or hill sprint, this way i can rack up run mileage of 4km per day.

Sat and Sun i go out with kid, during cool months like Dec to now (ending soon tho) would be 4-6 hours but in between there are many multiple breaks. Recently my kid getting fitter so i think good for me also as i can hit zone 1 at least. If not earlier on when he first started cycling, was zone 0 for me.
My kid last weekend clocked max sprint speed of 38 kmh, clocked at the Sentosa speed radar near Palawan Beach so that is his current "cycling sprint strength" :crazy:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.