jogging and motivation thread

sph777

WussRedXLi

Surprised the yellow girl's back never broken after a fall from like 1 storey height and landing on her backside.
After that still stood up and continued.

The pink colour one went off the rails similarly, but landed differently. I think gg and potentially career ending.

WussRedXLi

Actually it's not only total duration but also the duration of slow wave / deep sleep. That's where all the good stuff like HGH significantly get released and cortisol significantly drops esp wrt when you were training, marking a contrasting period where your body starts to truly recover.
If you do not consistently go to bed (early enough) at the same timing, you are cutting short this stage of your sleep.

REM sleep is where you truly lock in and cements the neuro aspect of your skills in your sports.

Luckily for me, totally no issue......and during some days (nowadays not common, used to be somewhat common a few years ago during covid period) whereby i experience difficulty falling back asleep after peeing, i take fast dissolve melatonin under the tongue.

Remember, all the satki A-Z training plans and workouts that we are are doing only accounts at best 50% of the whole picture.

WussRedXLi

Coach Perry channel explains the cons of not fuelling in the morning for your sessions here.

For me is pretty standard, banana(s) and a bit of Kang Shi Bo honey green tea. If really long session then i'd cook some buckwheat noodles + soba sauce (complex carbs).

GlassDoor

Coach Perry channel explains the cons of not fuelling in the morning for your sessions here.

For me is pretty standard, banana(s) and a bit of Kang Shi Bo honey green tea. If really long session then i'd cook some buckwheat noodles + soba sauce (complex carbs).

Not that I disagree (generally I do not take that channel as giving good advice). But fueling in the morning before the session does not work for me.
If I plan on doing a workout or tt or even a long run with effort the next day morning. I will load up on carbs the day before lunch and/or dinner.
If it's a easy daily run or steady run under 90mins, I tend to run fasted. Black coffee with some hydration while lacing up is good for me.

WussRedXLi

Not that I disagree (generally I do not take that channel as giving good advice). But fueling in the morning before the session does not work for me.
If I plan on doing a workout or tt or even a long run with effort the next day morning. I will load up on carbs the day before lunch and/or dinner.

Oh if from this pov, then i am doing both. ie everything all in. Like 2 bananas the night just before sleeping and then 2 bananas in the morning or even soba or sometimes instant noodles. But generally this is more for my weekends, coz they use the most energy......usually is over 3000 cal and going over 4k at times (not saying that all these are accurate with the algo, but just a rough ballpark). In between munch oreos, bananas, kit kat or kang shi bo.......then session end is somewhere a decent meal near my home.

xllms

for me I cannot eat anything solid (bread, bananas, noodles, etc) anything before run, will feel having indigestion issue halfway in the run. Liquid based is still ok. Nowadays I will down a bottle of electrolyte before a long run that goes beyond 1.5hr. People used to tell me to eat bananas before runs, which i tried when i was young, somehow just doesn't work for me.

WussRedXLi

BTW if running near Geylang / Kallang PCN or Sports Hub and need a meal after session, can do this as well.

My kid and I alternate between Geylang Lor 10 and this new spot at Geylang Lor 12. Quite decent tasking and very huge portion of carbs and like 5 big pieces of beef at $6.50. Get the beef noodles (with chilli)......the mala and peppercorn flavour is just mild, quite flavourful.

AHVAweqMDM4xU1bvlmu4xGb0cfD5BUrjUHdLz5i4SlMF8oEu5aydGoMbuWYgWuBJmcDhzZ-JEDh_BXZ4oA_jG2OvtVTCD04cQVLGXCNjYcmilb7320DnCBp86pgsad6iA4RlexooDzFobNHGDLzq=s680-w680-h510-rw

WussRedXLi

for me I cannot eat anything solid (bread, bananas, noodles, etc) anything before run, will feel having indigestion issue halfway in the run. Liquid based is still ok. Nowadays I will down a bottle of electrolyte before a long run that goes beyond 1.5hr. People used to tell me to eat bananas before runs, which i tried when i was young, somehow just doesn't work for me.

Think might need to be trained. For the long sessions, my kid and I would be dining breakfast (porridge, ba chor mee) even just 10-20% into the session and after that continue the session. Occassionally need to have another meal at 9-10am thereabouts. A few times even had to makan another time at 12 noon if going really far....3rd major stop. This is in addition to any pitstops at any places like petrol kiosk to eat the snacks / bananas. So far no issue.
But then these weekend sessions are never hard.......ie i guess not that much different from more recreational not-so-serious runners doing marathon kinda RPE. For my kid is of coz higher RPE than me but so far still no issue for him also.

But i know the indigestion feeling, if i designate a night workout and then prior to that i hoot even whey protein powder, i did feel discomfort.....then had to dial back a little. Few times already.
But if is just dinner (my dinner very zhun one, 6.15-6.30pm) then no issue even if it is a big meal.

GlassDoor

Oh if from this pov, then i am doing both. ie everything all in. Like 2 bananas the night just before sleeping and then 2 bananas in the morning or even soba or sometimes instant noodles. But generally this is more for my weekends, coz they use the most energy......usually is over 3000 cal and going over 4k at times (not saying that all these are accurate with the algo, but just a rough ballpark). In between munch oreos, bananas, kit kat or kang shi bo.......then session end is somewhere a decent meal near my home.
agree.. your exercise duration needs fueling top up. But if u look at that video that's not whats it's advocating. A lot of the contend on that channel also use a single point and extrapolate into an entire video for the eye balls. Again imho I will not use that channel as a source of good advice.

GlassDoor

while I do not have issues with food intake before sessions (except for a few incidents of da bao and spicy wantan noodles). It does not do anything for me for that session.
however if you are targeting FM, fueling and training you body to digest food during a run is essential.

WussRedXLi

agree.. your exercise duration needs fueling top up. But if u look at that video that's not whats it's advocating. A lot of the contend on that channel also use a single point and extrapolate into an entire video for the eye balls. Again imho I will not use that channel as a source of good advice.

Hmm.... i might not be correctly getting what you are saying.

I posted the video with the timestamp so that it starts at the point regarding eating before going out in the morning, if the video is clicked then it starts @ 2:39 timestamp. ie specifically on higher HR and elevated cortisol levels.
I just checked on google / AI and this seems to be true from some sources.....so i dont think the vid is terribly misleading.
Just very general websites for the layperson....but i dont think it's fundamentally wrong info
eg https://www.healthline.com/health/exercise-fitness/running-on-an-empty-stomach#drawbacks
https://www.health.com/fasted-cardio-8380393

If it's for any other snippet of info that the video is on (the vid has multiple points)....... then of coz my post is not meant for that lah.

xllms

while I do not have issues with food intake before sessions (except for a few incidents of da bao and spicy wantan noodles). It does not do anything for me for that session.
however if you are targeting FM, fueling and training you body to digest food during a run is essential.
Indeed one needs to learn to fuel during long distances runs. for FM in the future, in my context, i will fuel via liquid based, or at most gels. Had gels before, no adverse effect so far based on limited trials. Solid food, most likely end up puking out.

WussRedXLi

for FM in the future, in my context, i will fuel via liquid based, or at most gels. Had gels before, no adverse effect so far based on limited trials. Solid food, most likely end up puking out.

ie i guess not that much different from more recreational not-so-serious runners doing marathon kinda RPE. For my kid is of coz higher RPE than me but so far still no issue for him also.

Once i stuck my watch on my kid...... was @ LCK (to and fro = 16k, 8k each dir). After first meal at West Coast hawker liao......(the Ming Kee porridge opens before 6am, super early) His HR 180-190...... no puking. heh...... But of coz he is just a young teen lah, so HR naturally is high. Not sure what is his MHR tho. I was pulling him at over 30kmh (he is quite a fair bit less fit than me). I can hear the HR stats often coz i set the HR limiter to be at 180 (meant for me) so it reports on my bluetooth speaker. 🤣 If i am not wrong, every 1 min report HR

But not recommended for anyone new to such things, really can spoil the whole session one.

WussRedXLi

Indeed one needs to learn to fuel during long distances runs. for FM in the future, in my context, i will fuel via liquid based, or at most gels. Had gels before, no adverse effect so far based on limited trials. Solid food, most likely end up puking out.

Just some rather layperson info....... btw i am not a user, but just something that i have come across.
Quite a number iof triathletes and cyclists use liquid nutrition.

For me, liquid = Kang Shi Bo, 60 cents per 500ml over here in SG (I think China even cheaper), PET bottle......can fit 2 bottles easily in the jersey pockets, nice few flavours you can pick and no gas, what is there not to like. Bananas provide fair bit of potassium (over 300mg for 100g), sodium from other stuff.
I don't climb one, the added weight no issue for me.
Freeze it and then let it slowly melt along the ride. Then in my insulated bottles = iced water semi frozen.

Maltodextrin powder
https://sg.iherb.com/pr/nutricost-maltodextrin-unflavored-64-8-oz-1-815-g/143010

GlassDoor

Hmm.... i might not be correctly getting what you are saying.

I posted the video with the timestamp so that it starts at the point regarding eating before going out in the morning, if the video is clicked then it starts @ 2:39 timestamp. ie specifically on higher HR and elevated cortisol levels.
I just checked on google / AI and this seems to be true from some sources.....so i dont think the vid is terribly misleading.
Just very general websites for the layperson....but i dont think it's fundamentally wrong info
eg https://www.healthline.com/health/exercise-fitness/running-on-an-empty-stomach#drawbacks
https://www.health.com/fasted-cardio-8380393

If it's for any other snippet of info that the video is on (the vid has multiple points)....... then of coz my post is not meant for that lah.
i agree it's not wrong info. It is info presented in a manner as if it's the "one and only correct way" that turns me off. And it's even worst if u watch the entire video.
Pardon my bias against that channel, It also stems from numerous other videos on it's channels. But hey.. it's a free world. believe what you will.

WussRedXLi

i agree it's not wrong info. It is info presented in a manner as if it's the "one and only correct way" that turns me off. And it's even worst if u watch the entire video.
Pardon my bias against that channel, It also stems from numerous other videos on it's channels. But hey.. it's a free world. believe what you will.

Oh i see.

Well, for me i am not that super serious a runner and also not really into squeezing more performance out and going onto next level in running like going for a 1:20 HM or 2:55 FM those goals (heck i dont even run those long distances in the first place that pure runners dig so much)...... so i think such generally vids with its snippets of info shd more or less ok and work for me lah.

Even for the calisthenics/strength world, some vids i know wont work for me. I also needed to self DIY something from various vids and then concoct something that i think gives me sustained gains. (I did plateau quite a few times these 2 years).

xllms

Think might need to be trained. For the long sessions, my kid and I would be dining breakfast (porridge, ba chor mee) even just 10-20% into the session and after that continue the session. Occassionally need to have another meal at 9-10am thereabouts. A few times even had to makan another time at 12 noon if going really far....3rd major stop. This is in addition to any pitstops at any places like petrol kiosk to eat the snacks / bananas. So far no issue.
But then these weekend sessions are never hard.......ie i guess not that much different from more recreational not-so-serious runners doing marathon kinda RPE. For my kid is of coz higher RPE than me but so far still no issue for him also.

But i know the indigestion feeling, if i designate a night workout and then prior to that i hoot even whey protein powder, i did feel discomfort.....then had to dial back a little. Few times already.
But if is just dinner (my dinner very zhun one, 6.15-6.30pm) then no issue even if it is a big meal.
i do wonder how to be trained
1) small amount: 1 x banana before a 12km run. Felt the indigestion within first 3km. Slowed down the pace, continue the run until no longer feeling it.
2) full meal: spaghetti bolognaise lunch @ 1230hrs. Run during evening at 1700hrs. Felt the indigestion within first 3km. Had to slow down and let out a few burps before feeling better.

WussRedXLi

Heh.......actually yesterday morning my kid and I did reach Loyang (able to see opp Ubin) and near Ubin jetty, was googling at a bus stop how much it costs to go Ubin, but knn it's $4 + 2 per pax each way. No budget, u-turned and proceeded west bound liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.