jogging and motivation thread

xllms

already a good achievement. what were your mileage during those days.

i can still remember the X-country team runners in my sec sch doing 5km runs daily (before or after school) and 12-15km during one of the weekends at macritchie reservoir during non-competitive period (barest minimum). Towards national cross country races, they have to clock 100km/week.
paiseh, old liao memory not so good, i think 100km/week isn't correct, more likely around 70km/week

WussRedXLi

Top movement that causes the most falls for age > 50 leading to fractures or even death, data gathered from studies.

The going downhill or stepping down movement.

That means involving an eccentric contraction of the quads and of coz stabilization of the glute med, further aided by our usual hamstrings and then calves of coz.

Solution : slow controlled rep for the negative portion of your squats. Concentric, as usual, best to do it explosively for seniors. Can also do slow controlled rep for step-downs.

The other one, the turning movement, that one need to be trained via dynamic balancing exercises.

WussRedXLi

Not sure if you guys noticed or not, how many instances of older workers in your office (or even relatives) start to have issues getting up after they have squatted down or sat on the floor......needing assistance from others or need a nearby chair/table and yes definitely for sure need to knee, it's not a clean smooth natural action.

In my office i probably seen no less than a few dozen instances (quite the old folks home here), usually is the connection of power plugs as the sockets are situated at the bottom of the cubicle at the feet area. Esp the laptop charger plug......like later this evening where folks would bring home their laptops.

And oh yeah, also the cleaning auntie (late 60s), in which she needs assistance from others to plug in and out the vacuum daily, coz she cannot even get down (ie if get down then no need to get back up already). This one daily affair.

rECKleSSfElla

This evening saw 2 reps from Dynafish at Bedok Reservoir.

Should be in collaboration with Tampines Safra running club.
Think recently i saw in some PRC influencer video Dynafish is actively looking to partner with agents outside of China, especially in western countries, to promote and sell their products. Currently they are still new and a fully online brand and i feel the natural progression, other than to release more products and ramp up production to meet demand, is to transition to having a presence in-stores(aka offline) so that people have a chance to view and try on their products before purchase.

Sidenote, Li Ning Feidian 6E and Redhare 9U prices dropping like flies......My pair of 9U have not even reach china consolidation warehouse but i see prices for my size 45 have drop by around 60rmb compared what i paid for......sianzzzz..........

WussRedXLi

Training for IPPT......

T1CSGla.jpg

14 weeks out full IM Philippines @ Subic, bloody hot race with heat index of over 40 deg C during the 42.195 run leg. Confirm warmer than SCSM.
Think high chance capable to hit 4:20-4:30 for zone 2 then....he said he aiming for 4 flat but possibly at tempo.

He never mentioned if he is going to be doing T100 Singapore in late Apr tho...... (also bloody hot for the 100km triathlon)

WussRedXLi

@sales69

Just conveyed info to my father to do the chair squats with concentric motion as explosively as possible (neuromuscular) and then eccentric slowly for step-down training. For now, of coz as usual progressively increase the explosivity up slowly.......coz after all he 80+ already

Kuudere

Old man here now. That was 24 years ago. last time never track these things.

Coach say run, we just run. Training was at 3 times a week on weekdays and then a weekend long run at macritchie at least 5k up to 12k.

That was my most successful year, scrapped a medal position in x-country, won a gold and bronze and national tracks and fields c'ships.

Then I fell out of love with running pretty quickly after that and the decline followed :s13:
Huge respect to that, I went through the same. 1 interval session, 1 longer run outside of the school. Long run do on my own. I ran 2 other days as short easy runs.

It was a good experience, glad that you managed to get the experience.
Means you around 38-40? Doable la to regain your peak if you really want. You got the athletic ability already haha
It doesn't work like that, especially if he did it in secondary school.

I had a discussion with my former cross country team mate when I was coaching him. He told me he ran his 2.4km PB 8.20 at 14 y.o. He is nowhere close to that now. Why?

1. He is gym build, hybrid runner right now. Only runs 3 times a week and gyms the other days. Still manages to run sub-10 min 2.4km, close to 1.45 HM recently. So, BMI changes make it harder to achieve his PB times.

2. Most people switch to HM/M later on, doesn't matter their current speed. If you switch to longer distance races, then you would be doing longer intervals at slower pace. Run longer sustained long runs. Lose the explosive power.

3. PB pace difference is also another factor. If PB is sub-20 minutes, it's a lot more attainable than PB sub-18 minutes.

4. Injury risk from high intensity. I don't think this is talked about a lot. In the pursuit of sub-18 minutes 5k, my bro increased his mileage and did crazy workouts. E.g. 1k x 6 at 5k pace but with 90s rest, compared to the usual 2 min rest interval. 1.2k x 5 at 5k pace. Quite a number of his workouts ended up in failure midway throughout the session. Before his actual race, he got injured and raced through the 4.8k with a PB time. Afterwards, he barely ran for 2-3 months, since his season was over and eventually recovered from his injury.

Tudo88

Huge respect to that, I went through the same. 1 interval session, 1 longer run outside of the school. Long run do on my own. I ran 2 other days as short easy runs.

It was a good experience, glad that you managed to get the experience.

It doesn't work like that, especially if he did it in secondary school.

I had a discussion with my former cross country team mate when I was coaching him. He told me he ran his 2.4km PB 8.20 at 14 y.o. He is nowhere close to that now. Why?

1. He is gym build, hybrid runner right now. Only runs 3 times a week and gyms the other days. Still manages to run sub-10 min 2.4km, close to 1.45 HM recently. So, BMI changes make it harder to achieve his PB times.

2. Most people switch to HM/M later on, doesn't matter their current speed. If you switch to longer distance races, then you would be doing longer intervals at slower pace. Run longer sustained long runs. Lose the explosive power.

3. PB pace difference is also another factor. If PB is sub-20 minutes, it's a lot more attainable than PB sub-18 minutes.

4. Injury risk from high intensity. I don't think this is talked about a lot. In the pursuit of sub-18 minutes 5k, my bro increased his mileage and did crazy workouts. E.g. 1k x 6 at 5k pace but with 90s rest, compared to the usual 2 min rest interval. 1.2k x 5 at 5k pace. Quite a number of his workouts ended up in failure midway throughout the session. Before his actual race, he got injured and raced through the 4.8k with a PB time. Afterwards, he barely ran for 2-3 months, since his season was over and eventually recovered from his injury.
If their lifestyle changes, then it will be hard. But if they dedicate themselves back to running again, I think they can achieve close to their peak providing no injuries.

Kuudere

If their lifestyle changes, then it will be hard. But if they dedicate themselves back to running again, I think they can achieve close to their peak providing no injuries.
Depends a lot on which distance race they are currently gunning towards.

I achieved sub 19 min 5k when I focused on 5k training block, was averaging only 60km at end march. Switched to HM training and was averaging 70km/week but barely ran at 5k effort during the training. Was pacing another bro for his 5k sub 19 min attempt. By 2km in, I felt tired. 😂 If I was doing marathon block, my speed will be a lot worse off.

GlassDoor

DNF my run this morning. maybe its the heat.. maybe it's just mental fatigue. stopped at merlion less than 10k into run. got a drink and sat at merlion steps for quite a while looking at the world go by and then took bus home.
as they say 明天会更好

WussRedXLi

So interesting.

1) dead hang 60 sec
2) farmer's walk hold
3) inverted row hold
4) static dip hold
5) horse stance hold
6) glute bridge hold
7) wall sit hold <- this one i prescribed for my father

WussRedXLi

DNF my run this morning. maybe its the heat.. maybe it's just mental fatigue. stopped at merlion less than 10k into run. got a drink and sat at merlion steps for quite a while looking at the world go by and then took bus home.
as they say 明天会更好

I wanted to post this morning's heat also just now.....but i held back coz dont wanna be seen as kpkb , i wanna see how's tmr morning as well to confirm if the effect is real.
My kid did mention it as well just 60 mins in, just at around 7am. And we also made a wrong choice while fuelling mid-session, we ate hot porridge.

I think it takes maybe a week or 2 to get used to the heat again.......coming from the cooler weeks/months. (past week also got rain over several consecutive afternoons)

After returning and showering and pumping in hydration (kang shi bo tea), whole late morning + afternoon in AC room , now going to cook some hokkaido snow pork and soba to eat.

Kuudere

as they say 明天会更好
Finished my run, started late at 8am, ran till 9am. Was tough, my HR towards the end of the 17km run was around 180bpm.

My HR remained quite high during cooldown.

Screenshot-2026-02-28-165638.png

Screenshot-2026-02-28-165857.png

I wanted to post this morning's heat also just now.....but i held back coz dont wanna be seen as kpkb , i wanna see how's tmr morning as well to confirm if the effect is real.
My kid did mention it as well just 60 mins in, just at around 7am. And we also made a wrong choice while fuelling mid-session, we ate hot porridge.

I think it takes maybe a week or 2 to get used to the heat again.......coming from the cooler weeks/months. (past week also got rain over several consecutive afternoons)

After returning and showering and pumping in hydration (kang shi bo tea), whole late morning + afternoon in AC room , now going to cook some hokkaido snow pork and soba to eat.
I was able to run through 8am, but started to get bad at 9am. The 9am heat is too much for me. I probably should start running earlier at 7am. If I did longer run, maybe wake up at 6-6.30am.

WussRedXLi

I was able to run through 8am, but started to get bad at 9am. The 9am heat is too much for me. I probably should start running earlier at 7am. If I did longer run, maybe wake up at 6-6.30am.

I just checked Sentosa, Clementi, Scotts Rd and Kim Chuan area on NEA MSS. Actually it's wierd, even at 8.30am, the heat index temperature was "only" like 33 deg C. Definitely not cool, but it's not super warm. April will be slightly warmer, 35-36 deg C heat index possible....in fact by just 10am it can get till 39 or even past 40 for areas like Marina Barrage.
Think more of acclimitisation, like how ang mohs would drop even at 22-24 deg C even at 50% RH in marathons coz of "sudden" temperature spikes, coz they have zero heat tolerance/training.

Kuudere

I just checked Sentosa, Clementi, Scotts Rd and Kim Chuan area on NEA MSS. Actually it's wierd, even at 8.30am, the heat index temperature was "only" like 33 deg C. Definitely not cool, but it's not super warm. April will be slightly warmer, 35-36 deg C heat index possible....in fact by just 10am it can get till 39 or even past 40 for areas like Marina Barrage.
Think more of acclimitisation, like how ang mohs would drop even at 22-24 deg C even at 50% RH in marathons coz of "sudden" temperature spikes, coz they have zero heat tolerance/training.
I still can tolerate 8.30am heat, but beyond 9am is terrible.

But it's not too bad, I can wake up earlier to avoid the heat.

GlassDoor

I still can tolerate 8.30am heat, but beyond 9am is terrible.

But it's not too bad, I can wake up earlier to avoid the heat.
I woke up late today. Only left house around 9.30am.. i think i ran like for 45+mins only before I stopped. HR was elevated... legs felt heavy.. and the body was sweating boatloads.... and then I ran pass merlion.. with all the "beautiful" people around.. and decided.... WTF... I am going stop and enjoy the scenery :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.