Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Habrosus

Latest info I've is the new MyNIISe E-Gates will also accept clearances using Passport Scanning
That will encourage us to try out the app, coz any possible failure would mean we don't need to get out to a different eGate to use our passport. 👍

hwsstx

That will encourage us to try out the app, coz any possible failure would mean we don't need to get out to a different eGate to use our passport. 👍
A year ago when I first saw their QR E-Gates, they weren't equipped for both.

Then I was thinking what a 🤦 system. I mean to queue for so many minutes just to find out QR doesn't work & have to go to Manual or Passport Scanning.

I've not been given the liberty to assess their newer E-Gates 😂

Garlic & Butter

any car drivers here been using MyNIISe for clearance? How's the reliability and which are the lanes to use for BSI?

I only saw (when exiting BSI), MyNIISe available at the left zone? How about entering BSI?

hwsstx

any car drivers here been using MyNIISe for clearance? How's the reliability and which are the lanes to use for BSI?

I only saw (when exiting BSI), MyNIISe available at the left zone? How about entering BSI?
Read for zones
MyNIISe Updated Lanes...just updated

BSI
KSAB
Read for reliability
My experience was like 👍 I use once, first time few weeks ago & I never went back to using E-Gates for passport scanning. My passport is now always in a zip lock bag in my pocket 😂

Only problem with MyNIISe at BSI (I've no experience at KSAB) is difficult to login due to poor internet coverage (no WiFi provided) - need to login to generate the QR Code.

To overcome this I'll do screenshot of the QR Code before I leave home - QR will expire in 6 hours after generation.

But sometimes MY's Immigration Officer says the screenshot of the QR isn't "legible", if this happens (never experienced this before) then I'll login in Offline Mode & generate another QR.

However nothing is perfect as even Offline Mode sometimes cannot generate QR Code - don't know why & I've not experienced this before at the Immigration Counters (only at home I see this issue).

MY currently has 2 QR Code apps for Immigration Clearance: MyNIISe & MyBorderPass.

MyNIISe will finally be adopted officially. I suspect the latter will be dropped very soon - Foreigners cannot use the latter too

The strange behavior among (bus paxs) users of QR Code is they prefer MyBorderPass. I think near 100% of QR Code users use MyBorderPass while like no one uses MyNIISe.

At the Immigration Hall each app has their own Counters (for MyNIISe at BSI Counters 9 & 10, KSAB Counters 8 & 9 - for both Entry & Exit), so you can see MyNIISe like no one is using. The 4 designated Counters are specially assigned from the same ones for passport stamping but with a red light scanner atop the Counters, not specially made Counters.

I think 99.99% of SG taking bus don't use MyNIISe, most are still using E-Gates with their passports.

SG QR Code users are mostly bikers or cars.

dao

Have been using MyNiise when driving. Very fast as compare to passport. Reliable too. Just remember to login and generate QR code before you reach custom, as the 4G/5G signal at custom not good.

Must take notes of the lanes. Going there, Zon D is easy to get in as most people don't like to use Zon D. Coming back to get into Zon B is always a challenge. Most people want to get into Zon B.
556845290_10240499076036705_7095474848838916264_n.jpg

Meemoosaa

Have been using MyNiise when driving. Very fast as compare to passport. Reliable too. Just remember to login and generate QR code before you reach custom, as the 4G/5G signal at custom not good.

Must take notes of the lanes. Going there, Zon D is easy to get in as most people don't like to use Zon D. Coming back to get into Zon B is always a challenge. Most people want to get into Zon B.
556845290_10240499076036705_7095474848838916264_n.jpg

I don't drive - but can you guys not screen grab before hand ?

I hear issues about connecting to internet when at the custom etc... Just curious.

Meemoosaa

screen grab gave a black screenshot. QR code not captured. for my iPhone. not sure android phone can capture or not.

Oh interesting. For those of us who go on foot, we often screen grab our QR code for Singapore side but I haven't tried the Mynaiise app yet.

I find internet at custom always a bit iffy.

Aaagogo

screen grab gave a black screenshot. QR code not captured. for my iPhone. not sure android phone can capture or not.

a few weeks ago, i took a picture of the group QR code and used the picture to scan and it worked back then

that was during the times when single QR screenshot worked but group QR screenshot does not.

YMMV

Habrosus

Few weeks back I did it from my iPhone 12 Pro without issue, but now can't from the new iPhone Air. :unsure:

Oh interesting. For those of us who go on foot, we often screen grab our QR code for Singapore side but I haven't tried the Mynaiise app yet.

I find internet at custom always a bit iffy.
I find Simba most reliable auto-roaming across the borders. :grin:

Andrew833

Few weeks back I did it from my iPhone 12 Pro without issue, but now can't from the new iPhone Air. :unsure:

"I find Simba most reliable auto-roaming across the borders."
Locally can make it?

hwsstx

I don't drive - but can you guys not screen grab before hand ?

I hear issues about connecting to internet when at the custom etc... Just curious.
For my Android I've been screen shooting since I downloaded the app, 23Jan, but I understand the version before didn't allow screenshot.

Screen shooting is only possible for individual QR Code, Group QR still tak boleh. So for Group QR get another in the Group to take a picture of the QR.

If at the counter the Officer says your screenshot is not "legible", then do Offline login (if your phone has issue connecting) & generate another QR...but be warned, sometimes even Offline Mode failed to generate a QR Code.

Habrosus

"I find Simba most reliable auto-roaming across the borders."
Locally can make it?
Can, but close to barely sometimes. I use a backup line for my primary phone's local use just so the parent won't go "why I call you no sound one?" :s13:

Same reason I use it so I don't have anxiety issue each time I cross the borders. Auto-switch smooth like butter.

But I use the data-only plan for my iPads with barely any connection issue...

Meemoosaa

I'm on Eight and the cross-border connection is pretty amazing, but occasionally it doesn't connect so well at Tuas custom.

Habrosus

Only scare it becomes 1:2 :s13:

On a serious note, I try to put on mask at crowded area
I'm actually waiting for 1:2. Less crowd would be better.

But with the RTS I'd think sinkies will still go over JJCM.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.