CPF Account Value Thread 2026

sohguanh

they probably based it on the retirement age, 1 july 2026 retirement age will be 64 years old.

but allow withdrawal at 60 the amount will be much lesser. cos the minimum sum at age 55 is to let it compound for 10 years till 65 years old. so if withdraw at 60, you short of 5 years of compounding so the amount would be quite negligible anyway as it would be exponentially lesser.
Because I don’t know my life span can hit 65 or not, much less health span

Above is what reader post so asking can start at 60 or not.

Euqorab

I hope cpf life can be more flexible to allow earlier start date, like 60 years old with lesser monthly payout of course.

I mean, it’s just actuarial science after all right. They can calculate a fair value to payout at an earlier age, then cpf members can asses for themselves whether they want to delay or start, like those that don’t want to start at 65 but 70, ane vice versa.

Because I don’t know my life span can hit 65 or not, much less health span.
They have to cater to the majority no choice
Help you quote the correct user you are replying to.

Andrew833

Just to inform in case ppl are not aware. Upon 55 when RA is created the FRS is count based on your monies in OA SA they DO NOT COUNT your cpf investment returns outside!!! This is ridiculous my cpf investment are using my OA SA so why their returns cannot be counted? OA SA interest (returns) they give you annually is counted though so funny ruling.

While cpf does not force me to sell my cpf investment they forbid me to do withdrawal of my cpf investment return until FRS is fulfilled. So in a way you may need to sell some of your cpf investment to top the RA to FRS.

Conclusion the FRS (or BRS) is the holy grail all must satisfy then can do other stuff of your own liking with your own monies.
CPF only see what is the amount left in your OA and SA. That's why I take profit some of my investment.

Andrew833

There some adverse selection here. People who would suggest earlier payout

What happens if you don't liquidate your investment after RA is formed?
Then don't liquidate, just hold. Only thing is your RA is below FRS, you can only withdraw $5k.

sohguanh

CPF only see what is the amount left in your OA and SA. That's why I take profit some of my investment.
I don't get the logic.
1. We invest our cpf we get returns all no count
2. We let it stay inside cpf they give us annual interest aka returns is counted

royalmix

I don't get the logic.
2. We let it stay inside cpf they give us annual interest aka returns is counted
Why you never question CPFB the logic when people were happily executing SA Shielding to hide their SA/OA monies in their CPF Investments to prevent it from being moved into RA? :ROFLMAO:

It is a "loophole" created by "the scholars" but now CPFB had to close SA to stop it!

Because the CPF rule state cash or savings in the SA/OA! Anything not in the SA/OA cannot be transferred as preprogrammed in the system!

If they force sell your investments at a loss, will you be happy? There is no CPF rule to allow them to do so! :ROFLMAO:

Not happy, write in to complain!

Welcome to the 55 club!

Andrew833

I don't get the logic.
There are many people lose their capital, that's why they need to see the money. Even if we sell example UT, agent bank may hold the money then transfer to your CPF, the process is slow.

Andrew833

what will u do at 55?
  • frs and liquidate cpfia to reinvest under cash?
  • liquidate cpfia to ers?
  • continue to hold cpfia until 65, then liquidate to ers?
  • others..
What I did;
FRS, liquidate any investment that I can do in cpfia.
Withdrawal and use cash for investment.
If really want ERS, can wait till 64, since interest earn we cannot get it. It's goes to the premium. (CPF still not so clear on this)

wutawa

There are many people lose their capital, that's why they need to see the money. Even if we sell example UT, agent bank may hold the money then transfer to your CPF, the process is slow.
yes, the process is slow. that's why I plan to sell all my oa investment just before 55yo.
poems hold my ut. i will sell and transfer to cpfia uob. then transfer from uob to OA. since my SA will not have frs, cpf will transfer my oa to ra at 55yo. then I will cash out by pledging my property leaving BRS.
poems → uob → OA → RA → cash

Andrew833

yes, the process is slow. that's why I plan to sell all my oa investment just before 55yo.
poems hold my ut. i will sell and transfer to cpfia uob. then transfer from uob to OA. since my SA will not have frs, cpf will transfer my oa to ra at 55yo. then I will cash out by pledging my property leaving BRS.
For stock, Poem is very fast, For UT, I use Endowus, also quite fast. Only the agent bank very slow.
I did this 3-4 months before I reach 55.
At 55, SA is closed, OA and SA transfer to RA. You can do property pledge after RA is created.
I still not decided on FRS or BRS :LOL:

BBCWatcher

If really want ERS, can wait till 64, since interest earn we cannot get it. It's goes to the premium. (CPF still not so clear on this)
1. There's nothing specifically magical about age 64. The default CPF LIFE payout starting age is 70. If you want CPF LIFE payouts to start earlier, you have to take action.

2. Funds deposited in RA currently earn at least 4.0% p.a. interest, and they're shielded against creditors and adverse court judgments. You could deposit funds later rather than earlier, but you'll have to deposit that many more dollars later (including what you would've earned in interest) to get the same CPF LIFE payout increase. If you think you can reliably earn more than 4.0% p.a. interest, OK, that might be a sensible thing to do. This approach assumes that the Enhanced Retirement Sum (ERS) is not a relevant, binding limit in terms of what you're trying to accomplish.

All CPF LIFE payout amounts are computed inclusive of interest effects on your premium.
It's possible you'd miss out on tax relief if you take this approach. Cash top ups to RA might qualify for tax relief. SA/OA to RA transfers don't. In other words, consider injecting some cash into your RA as part of whatever you're trying to accomplish (which isn't clear).

sohguanh

Suppose we provide statements of our cpf investment and it is positive will it then be counted?

sohguanh

For stock, Poem is very fast, For UT, I use Endowus, also quite fast. Only the agent bank very slow.
I did this 3-4 months before I reach 55.
At 55, SA is closed, OA and SA transfer to RA. You can do property pledge after RA is created.
I still not decided on FRS or BRS :LOL:

I wonder you all cpf investment has been how long? Mine is 25+ years the compounding amount is very high and for me to sell just to top to FRS I feel a bit 不甘心. I research and invest so many years not willing to let go at 55.

royalmix

I wonder you all cpf investment has been how long? Mine is 25+ years the compounding amount is very high and for me to sell just to top to FRS I feel a bit 不甘心. I research and invest so many years not willing to let go at 55.
U dun have to sell, CPFB does not force you to sell! You can only withdraw 5k if you dun fund your RA to FRS, and if you are still working with mandatory contribution, your "SA portion" will go to RA.

You have a happy problem, I will pump cash into RA and keep the investments! Best of all trade-offs!
:ROFLMAO:

You just need to exercise you own trade-offs!

Suppose we provide statements of our cpf investment and it is positive will it then be counted?
U should ask CPFB. U can try your luck , but I can tell you based on the CPF rules, only savings in the SA then OA are counted for transfer to RA. How do you expect CPFB to transfer your investments to RA?

Why CPFB took more than 10 years to act on SA shielding hack and finally closed SA? Thanks to the new PM!

Andrew833

Cannot leh, CPF don't care. At 55, they see what amount inside, directly transfer to RA, remaining in OA.

Andrew833

Mine started from a friend introduced ILP, after buying then Dotcom bubble burst.
I invested the most is in Covid Crash till now.

I don't know which market you are in, now market is on the peak, I think it's ok to take profit. Up to you to decide.
If below FRS, you can only withdraw 5k.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.