CPF Account Value Thread 2026

royalmix

Now the "insider" is leaking more "loopholes" to the public!

I think I should write to the PM to complain! :LOL:

wutawa

I wonder you all cpf investment has been how long? Mine is 25+ years the compounding amount is very high and for me to sell just to top to FRS I feel a bit 不甘心. I research and invest so many years not willing to let go at 55.
my cpf investment started in feb 2026. I am eager to encash it because cpfis is subjected to too many factors under cpf & agent bank (eg. oa daily withdrawal limit & policy changes, agent bank quarterly fee). investing the money as cash is much simpler.
u can choose to keep your cpf investment as long as u live. cpf will not force u to sell under the current rule.

Andrew833

my cpf investment started in feb 2026. I am eager to encash it because cpfis is subjected to too many factors under cpf & agent bank (eg. oa daily withdrawal limit & policy changes, agent bank quarterly fee). investing the money as cash is much simpler.
u can choose to keep your cpf investment as long as u live. cpf will not force u to sell under the current rule.
Every time need to check stock limit before I made a trade, very troublesome. Now I don't need to check liao, my stock limit is negative :ROFLMAO:

laokorkor

2. Funds deposited in RA currently earn at least 4.0% p.a. interest, and they're shielded against creditors and adverse court judgments.
True, except AI says CPF funds are not shielded against adverse divorce judgement.

Nevertheless, the protection afforded by CPF is already good enough.

BBCWatcher

True, except AI says CPF funds are not shielded against adverse divorce judgement.
Fair, but you can easily avoid such outcomes in a very simple way: always try to make sure your spouse's/partner's CPF accounts are (also) at least reasonably well funded. For example, if you're receiving maximum CPF bonus interest every year, but your spouse isn't, help your spouse at least accomplish that much.

If your spouse is younger and in decent or better health then he/she could easily outlive you. Which makes it all the more important for your younger spouse to have his/her own independent CPF savings (and associated longevity insurance).

sohguanh

Cannot leh, CPF don't care. At 55, they see what amount inside, directly transfer to RA, remaining in OA.
Don't care or dun wanna check despite providing is big difference. Since they are the boss then they take the don't care option like you say.

henrylbh

I wonder you all cpf investment has been how long? Mine is 25+ years the compounding amount is very high and for me to sell just to top to FRS I feel a bit 不甘心. I research and invest so many years not willing to let go at 55.
I started CPF investment in Sep 1988 with 3,000 UOB shares at $5 each.

If I have kept them all till today, it would be an understatement if I say the total value is less than 400k. Over the years especially earlier years, all banks were generous in giving bonus shares, rights issues and the dividends that kept on growing.

henrylbh

Just to inform in case ppl are not aware. Upon 55 when RA is created the FRS is count based on your monies in OA SA they DO NOT COUNT your cpf investment returns outside!!! This is ridiculous my cpf investment are using my OA SA so why their returns cannot be counted? OA SA interest (returns) they give you annually is counted though so funny ruling.

While cpf does not force me to sell my cpf investment they forbid me to do withdrawal of my cpf investment return until FRS is fulfilled. So in a way you may need to sell some of your cpf investment to top the RA to FRS.

Conclusion the FRS (or BRS) is the holy grail all must satisfy then can do other stuff of your own liking with your own monies.
Most should know that only SA followed by OA monies are counted in meeting FRS at 55. Any subsequent inflows into CPF will go to make good shortfall in FRS. If you do not meet FRS at 55, you cannot close your CPFIS account so that money will go back to OA/SA to make good shortfall in FRS.

Any monies/investments outside CPF, no matter how much are not counted to form part of FRS and cannot be used as pledge (except housing) for withdrawal of CPF at 55.

Monies/Investments outside CPF also do not form part of CPF nomination and are not protected from creditors. Similarly CPF money used for housing is not part of CPF nomination and not protected from creditors upon member's death.

sohguanh

Most should know that only SA followed by OA monies are counted in meeting FRS at 55. Any subsequent inflows into CPF will go to make good shortfall in FRS. If you do not meet FRS at 55, you cannot close your CPFIS account so that money will go back to OA/SA to make good shortfall in FRS.
If you read one my earlier post annual interest given to cpf OA SA is deemed as returns why then they are counted? Outside cpf returns not counted?

Another reader mention they don't care even if you provide proof of your outside cpf returns and I mention boss decide what count and what is not counted. To me the logic is not logical but becuz I can never challenge the boss I accept their definition although inside me very buay song.

Andrew833

If you read one my earlier post annual interest given to cpf OA SA is deemed as returns why then they are counted? Outside cpf returns not counted?

Another reader mention they don't care even if you provide proof of your outside cpf returns and I mention boss decide what count and what is not counted. To me the logic is not logical but becuz I can never challenge the boss I accept their definition although inside me very buay song.
Buay song also no choice, CPF goes by the book. Just LL follow lol.

BBCWatcher

I'm confused why you're confused.

Isn't it simple enough? Setting MediSave aside, the CPF Board hopes you (when the time comes) fund your Retirement Account at least to the Full Retirement Sum, or at least to the Basic Retirement Sum with a valid property pledge/charge. The CPF Board will try to do that for you in a few ways starting with the age 55 "sweep." Unless and until you've met this RA funding threshold your withdrawals from OA and from your CPF Investment Scheme assets will be restricted.

What's to count? The only relevant dollar values for these purposes are the FRS and BRS in your Retirement Account, not elsewhere. If you've averaged 8% per year net returns on your CPF Investment Scheme assets, great. If you've averaged 3% per year, OK, whatever. But only funds actually landed in your RA, in a sufficient quantity, can release your OA and CPF Investment Scheme assets for unrestricted withdrawal. Pony up first (for your retirement self), then have whatever champagne bash you want to have with whatever is left over.

Funds in OA, MA, SA, and RA earn published CPF interest rates on a whole calendar month basis. Funds held elsewhere obviously don't.

What am I missing?

royalmix

You may be right that CPF should count CPFIS investments for FRS. But if CPF had done that, SA shielding would never have worked.

SA shielding existed precisely because CPF distinguishes between SA balances and CPFIS investments when forming the RA at 55. Many people benefited from that for years by keeping more in SA earning 4%.

So CPF has actually been consistent. If CPF had treated CPFIS investments the same as SA balances, there would’ve been nothing to shield, and less reason for SA to be closed after 55.

The existence of SA shielding already shows CPF did not treat CPFIS investments as SA balances.

It’s less about logic vs illogical, more about how CPF defines what counts for RA formation.

reddevil0728

Because they decide it to be that way lor.

policy decision.
Different people diff logic lor.

sohguanh

You may be right that CPF should count CPFIS investments for FRS. But if CPF had done that, SA shielding would never have worked.

SA shielding existed precisely because CPF distinguishes between SA balances and CPFIS investments when forming the RA at 55. Many people benefited from that for years by keeping more in SA earning 4%.

So CPF has actually been consistent. If CPF had treated CPFIS investments the same as SA balances, there would’ve been nothing to shield, and less reason for SA to be closed after 55.

The existence of SA shielding already shows CPF did not treat CPFIS investments as SA balances.

It’s less about logic vs illogical, more about how CPF defines what counts for RA formation.
Why is the term SA shielding brought in? I invested my cpf for 25+ years so there is no shielding concept at all. Do not assume ppl always use shielding. As you say it is about definition and in this case CPF own definition aka govt definition.

royalmix

Why is the term SA shielding brought in? I invested my cpf for 25+ years so there is no shielding concept at all. Do not assume ppl always use shielding. As you say it is about definition and in this case CPF own definition aka govt definition.
I’m not assuming everyone intentionally did “SA shielding” as a strategy.

I used the term to describe the CPF rule at 55 where SA balances and CPFIS investments are treated differently in RA formation. Whether someone planned for it or not, the same mechanism applied.

So it’s less about intent, and more about CPF’s definition of what counts for RA/FRS purposes. (y)

tehhalia

This is my take:

coz investment can go south and it’s not guaranteed, if include investment, 1 moment you may attain FRS, the very next moment you might not even attain BRS. It’s “paper gain”, not realized gain.

you can make it become counted by selling it (or a portion of it to reach FRS) and realize it into real dollars, which is guaranteed by gov

sohguanh

This is my take:

coz investment can go south and it’s not guaranteed, if include investment, 1 moment you may attain FRS, the very next moment you might not even attain BRS. It’s “paper gain”, not realized gain.

you can make it become counted by selling it (or a portion of it to reach FRS) and realize it into real dollars, which is guaranteed by gov
Finally I get my answer. Your post is logical. Now I agree with cpf definition. As of current I met FRS with some spare so will plan accordingly moving forward. And it is getting harder as my SA contribution is getting bigger and there are very limited options for SA investment.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.