CPF Account Value Thread 2026

royalmix

Finally I get my answer. Your post is logical. Now I agree with cpf definition. As of current I met FRS with some spare so will plan accordingly moving forward. And it is getting harder as my SA contribution is getting bigger and there are very limited options for SA investment.
There is one more thing included or counted in the definition, if you qualify:

"You can set aside your Full Retirement Sum (FRS) with a mixture of CPF savings in your Retirement Account (RA) and CPF savings used for your property. At age 55, if your RA savings is less than your FRS, the CPF savings used for your property (including accrued interest) will automatically be counted towards meeting up to half of your FRS."

trave1er

From the policy maker's perspective, they probably just want to ensure each person has a reasonably sufficient amount of $ in their CPF for their retirement needs.

Property has been allowed as an exception since 1987 (those days it was Minimum Sum). Probably it was an acknowledgement that many people had (and still do) a lot of their net worth locked up in their property. The Lease Buy Back scheme is another manifestation of this "issue".

If one has CPF funds invested via CPFIS and has made a nice profit, that's all well and good. But paper profit can suddenly shrink like already pointed out. Why should it be difficult to liquidate some CPFIS investment to meet the FRS or BRS?

If it is truly an issue to liquidate for some reason, then maybe should think about how liquid one's investments are.

royalmix

If it is truly an issue to liquidate for some reason, then maybe should think about how liquid one's investments are.
Someone holds "sentimental value", another did not kill the golden goose for nearly 40 years!

Property can also have -ve equity, risk dependent on market too! But the "boss" has the final say on their definitions. Investment is better a "loophole" to create, but killed!

Using property if you qualify can be a good solution too, at 55, u dun need to do anything until much later.

BBCWatcher

Property can also have -ve equity, risk dependent on market too! But the "boss" has the final say on their definitions.
The home equity isn't the first consideration. The key difference is that you can live in a home. You can't live in a bond or stock fund. Minimum retirement income needs are higher when you haven't substantially prepaid your housing.

Long-term housing aside, you haven't adequately insured against longevity unless and until you've insured against longevity. Billionaires are subject to the same CPF withdrawal guardrails. It doesn't matter if you have $6 billion worth of diamonds or $18 billion worth of land in Texas. Those are assets, not longevity insurance. You can obtain longevity insurance either by adequately funding your CPF Retirement Account. Or you can do that by buying (or having) some other valid longevity insurance policy. Unless and until you adequately insure against longevity (when you have a durable legal right of abode in Singapore), OA and RA withdrawals will be limited. It's all very logical and reasonable.

chiokcc

Any idea what will be the FRS/ERS from 2028 onwards ? CPF has until 2027 only .....

Will using a 4% pa per year be a good estimation for projection for the next 10 years or so?

BBCWatcher

Any idea what will be the FRS/ERS from 2028 onwards ? CPF has until 2027 only .....
Will using a 4% pa per year be a good estimation for projection for the next 10 years or so?
We don't know yet. The CPF Board hasn't announced any BRS, FRS, or ERS figures for 2028 onward. Here are the recent past and announced CPF Full Retirement Sums along with percentage increases (rounded to the nearest hundredth of 1 percent):
  • 2020: $181,000
  • 2021: $186,000 (+2.76%)
  • 2022: $192,000 (+3.23%)
  • 2023: $198,800 (+3.54%)
  • 2024: $205,800 (+3.52%)
  • 2025: $213,000 (+3.50%)
  • 2026: $220,400 (+3.47%)
  • 2027: $228,200 (+3.54%)
Given this recent history I suggest you use a 3.5% annual growth rate for your BRS/FRS/ERS forecast. But that's just an estimate, not a guarantee.

sohguanh

I like to give buffer based on historical known numbers. I will also put 4%. Then when announced lesser easier for me as that mean I got more free up cash than earlier planned.

Andrew833

Pre-covid is about 3%, after that increase alot due to inflation. 3.5% should be around there.
ERS is FRS x 2.

chiokcc

Thanks for all the replies ... I am also in the view of using 4%pa should give enough buffer for planning purpose .....

marcoyeo

Turning 46 in next few months. Still 9 years to 55, then 19 years to 65. Done FRS.

I using 3.5%, 4.0% and 4.5% for my planning. Rather to have more options and worry less down the road.

Potent

Turning 46 in next few months. Still 9 years to 55, then 19 years to 65. Done FRS.

I using 3.5%, 4.0% and 4.5% for my planning. Rather to have more options and worry less down the road.
Does it mean if reach frs, will always be frs yearly with the accumulated interest?

marcoyeo

Does it mean if reach frs, will always be frs yearly with the accumulated interest?
Yes.
On this condition:
SA value > prevailing FRS

Since SA 4.0% interest, the interest can cover to prevailing FRS for that year. Since I am still contributing CPF, SA still > prevailing FRS for 2026.

Unless the increase of prevailing FRS is greater than SA value before 55 years old, then I have not meet the prevailing FRS in that year.

Potent

So before you are 55, let's say 54 yo, will you transfer all ur money into cpf which will go tomoa for 2.5?
Yes.
On this condition:

Since SA 4.0% interest, the interest can cover to prevailing FRS for that year. Since I am still contributing CPF, SA still > prevailing FRS for 2026.

Unless the increase of prevailing FRS is greater than SA value before 55 years old, then I have not meet the prevailing FRS in that year.

Andrew833

Yes.
On this condition:

Once SA account reach FRS, the limit is cap liao, you can't do any top up or transfer from OA. SA compounding interest will be more than 4%.

Andrew833

So before you are 55, let's say 54 yo, will you transfer all ur money into cpf which will go tomoa for 2.5?
OA 2.5% is very safe, good for those who don't know how or where to invest.
I don't know how much you can top up, you can try using CPF app to check now.

Potent

Once SA account reach FRS, the limit is cap liao, you can't do any top up or transfer from OA. SA compounding interest will be more than 4%.
Oh dear. I do wrongly. I transfered oa to sa.. should keep as oa... I have cash to top to frs actually.

Andrew833

Oh dear. I do wrongly. I transfered oa to sa.. should keep as oa... I have cash to top to frs actually.
If your MA is not max, can top up MA, excess will overflow to OA. (if SA already reach FRS)

BBCWatcher

Yes.
On this condition:
It's possible the first year your SA reaches the FRS that, starting on January 1 of the following year, you'll have some room below the new FRS. It depends on when your SA reached the FRS. If that happened later in the year, it's more likely there will be some room below the FRS starting on January 1.

Historically the SA interest rate (plus bonus interest) has exceeded the FRS growth rate. But that's not guaranteed.

For CPF Retirement Accounts it changes a little. For purposes of determining whether your RA is "adequately" funded (and therefore whether you can make lump sum withdrawals in any amount from your OA) your age 55 FRS is used. For purposes of determining whether you qualify for tax relief for cash top ups the current FRS is used on a principal only basis. And the current Enhanced Retirement Sum (ERS) is the RA limit (not the FRS), also on a principal only basis.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.