• The HardwareZone forums will be temporarily unavailable on January 21, from 5:00am to 6:00am (+8GMT) while we perform scheduled maintenance.

Must read : Time Share Scam Awareness! Don't be the next victim!

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

bbmars1128

my colleague told me recently when I asked her about her TS plan which she had been using for years. All along, I thought she was happy with it when I asked her few times in the past. However, recently when I asked her, she told me she had paid the agent and sold it back to the company which sold her the TS. Just wonder what is going on? Pay them some more.

If you want to fight your way out without using CASE, its better you search through blogs and forums, gathered all these people and engaged a lawyer to serve these companies a legel letter. I was formerly on one such forum several years ago and asked another colleague to join that group and submitted a lawyer letter to stop her payment. It was a collective effort, otherwise, it would be too expensive. She paid $1K for legal fees (each member pay that amount) and since then, had not pay any other $$ apart from those initial payment already done before serving the lawyer letter. Unfortunately, by then, I had already completed my payment, so could not do anything for myself.

silentjin

my payments was through GIRO and the good thing about GIRO is, you can terminate the arrangement and they need to have your consent to put it back.

No experience with Credit Card, but like those 0% installment plan, you owe the bank money, not them. Perhaps you can talk to their bank officers about it.

I don't think the bank will terminate my payment as it is already paid to DVIII. I have went to CASE and they have help me draft a letter send for a request of termination and full refund. Now waiting to see what is their respond.

KO008a

You can exercise your rights to cancel the contract within the 5 days cooling period. File a dispute with CASE against the TS company within 5 days or preferably immedately if the TS company refuse to accept or tries to delay your termination request (till the cooling period over).

It is likelyhood that the TS company will not reply to CASE. You can file a claim at Small Claim Tribunal if you want to get back your (huge amount) deposit .

Jack_Chen

You can exercise your rights to cancel the contract within the 5 days cooling period.

Just a word of caution on the 5 day cooling period. D8 or iDiscovery or whatever they want to call themselves now have been known to act blur, say manager not around, stall stall stall, on any attempts to serve them the notice to terminate. They will turn their words and may even persuade you to sign lesser amount but still suck money.

Serve them a termination using registered post or Courier service. As registered post require a signature to acknowledge receipt and Courier service will request company stamp as proof of delivery.

If you have paid by CC, copy the termination letter to CC company and pray for the best. Seriously, I don't know how if the customer exercise the rights to cancel the payment, how long before the company actually reimburse you monies paid out by CC.

The bank tee siao, the scammer tee gong and CASE come in to play mahjong with your time and hard earned money, then they will form the unholy trinity of taiji, swing left, swing right.:s11:

Saddyperson

Idiscover shareness

i replied u via PM already. check ur inbox.

it's only 2 months, u still can tell them u want to terminate ur case. u still can try to refer ur case to CASE for termination. meanwhile try to stop all ur payments to prevent more loss.

Hi there, i am new member here. I have the same problem here with iDiscover. I jin them past two months not knowing them enough. So stupid to have signed up and i paid a deposit of 500dollars not knowing that this is a scam... i am trying to terminate the contract but they say i cant do that as the contract clause already written no termination. They say send them a letter and they will forward to management level and they will consider but its been two wks no reply from them and i have to start paying instalment to them this july onwards... i do not want to pay as i cant afford to pay them when i have many other people to support. At first i tot i can afford but now things change. What should i do...how do i terminate this contract. Why must i go to CASE and is there any possibility to terminate? Im stressed with all these happen and they are very good at hiding what is behind all the things they say...help me...

st_sg08

I got a call from idiscover 3 weeks back... cause eng eng knowing its a scam i still went down cause i m curious ... i manage to tok cock sing song with the chiobu presenter for 3 hour ... n i was rewarded $50 ntuc voucher (as long as u stay for more than 90 min u get it)... she was damn tulan when i dun wan to join haha. If you guys free n nothing to do can try wat i did LOL.

But seriously NEVER buy anything if u are not sure u need or not. payment by credit card is a one way path no return til u pay all since its between u n ur credit card company ... the company had received the money from ur credit card company when the transaction is approved. Remember the spa incident when lots of ppl take up package but shop close down still paying for the instalment.

Any one know reporter ... shall let ppl know the existence of such company.

Jack_Chen

Any one know reporter ... shall let ppl know the existence of such company.

no point lah, SPH will still ask CASE to make a public statement. And if you look at our previous posts, several pages ago, CASE has openly admitted in the news that Timeshare companies form the largest group of complaints for 6 years running.

Supposedly they are pushing for legislation to make certain aspects of the business illegal (not happen yet).

As far as Timeshare is concerned, they are legit and they are still sucking money.

You can see Sunshine Empire and to date, the court is still looking at it. All the money already disappear into their pockets.

If our authorities are so 'efficient', the Minibond saga would not have happen.

cscs3

my payments was through GIRO and the good thing about GIRO is, you can terminate the arrangement and they need to have your consent to put it back.

No experience with Credit Card, but like those 0% installment plan, you owe the bank money, not them. Perhaps you can talk to their bank officers about it.

You are right on the credit card portion. Once you sign. the company get full payment from bank, then the bank charge you as now you are the one own the bank money. Never use credit card to pay something like this.

Jaypct

Guys....

Most Timeshare payment via credit card is in the form of GIRO, so dun worry. All you need to do is to terminate the credit card, either by totally cancel it or change to a different card type. Eg. citiback clear card request to chane to citibank dividend card.

All payment via credit card will be stop and you will need to re-apply for all GIRO payment.

skeptical

hi guys,
my contract is with ERI.
recently received a letter for us to sign and acknowledge a confirmation letter regarding our contract and outstanding amount to be returned to Don Ho and Associates. any one receive similar? should i just ignore it? a quick checkon the web reflects that Don Ho & Associates is a 'corporate restructuring specialist' coy.

silentjin

Hi there, i am new member here. I have the same problem here with iDiscover. I jin them past two months not knowing them enough. So stupid to have signed up and i paid a deposit of 500dollars not knowing that this is a scam... i am trying to terminate the contract but they say i cant do that as the contract clause already written no termination. They say send them a letter and they will forward to management level and they will consider but its been two wks no reply from them and i have to start paying instalment to them this july onwards... i do not want to pay as i cant afford to pay them when i have many other people to support. At first i tot i can afford but now things change. What should i do...how do i terminate this contract. Why must i go to CASE and is there any possibility to terminate? Im stressed with all these happen and they are very good at hiding what is behind all the things they say...help me...
Did you send in the cancellation within the 5 days cooling period? At least you paid 500..I paid 5K..plus another $4k of installment for the next 2 years to the bank. Sadness...I guess I have no way of getting the money back..will take it as a lesson learnt in life and be mindful in my future transactions especially with money.

june10

no, you do not ignore.

have you tried to downloading your membership?

hi guys,
my contract is with ERI.
recently received a letter for us to sign and acknowledge a confirmation letter regarding our contract and outstanding amount to be returned to Don Ho and Associates. any one receive similar? should i just ignore it? a quick checkon the web reflects that Don Ho & Associates is a 'corporate restructuring specialist' coy.

june10

Downloading successful?

my side of story:

I'd been approached by Chevalier Don Associate for the downloading in 2008.

Later they refer me to GCR for the recovery by right dec 2009 should have gotten the recovery but was later informed that the director actually using our certificates to get those money instead - been told later by Austrasia Goldmon and that this was insured so therefore there is still hope of getting back....

Then Edward from the Australia Unit Trustee came in the picture. The reason was they were people who actually travel all the way to autralia to find out - guess the issue rolled bigger. He actually investigated and that was why in 2010 Jan? he called my mobile and ask me to proof myself by providing the certificate. of course i couldnt as the director has already utilized my/our certificates already (there were about 80 people who were affected - those of which after sep 2009).

So edward recommended Austrasia Goldmon but who knows within within 3 months - from Feb 2010 till April 2010 the company was???? suspect due to US Goldman Sachs Group Inc fraud case as s'pore office is now stop operation! have yet got the time to make a trip to the cantonment police station....to find the outcome....

Last Sat, received a call from this holiday programme? was informed that my membership is still reflect in their database!

seriously I'm now a a loss.....

skeptical

no, you do not ignore.

have you tried to downloading your membership?
june,
what do you mean by downloading membership.
we have not fully paid up the amount yet. while we have option to activate membership after we paid 50%, we decide to just let it sit there cos if we activate have to pay maintenance fee. where to find so much money :s27:

june10

I didn't finish paying my membership. Now i got another pro as CDA & GCR never do a proper job - they never do a "warrant to act" on my behalf eventhough I paid them the lawyers fees! They only do 1/4 of the job!
My suggestion is maybe you want go down to herold internationl for advise. I went yesterday n shall update next week upon my meeting with lawyer.

june10

herold intnl act a a legal adviser. they are different from harold intnl - pls take note.

orangetulip

LGM/Concepts CASH BACK PROGRAMME

Need help.
Had signed with LGM the 5 yrs cash back programme and recently started to redeem the cash reward. However i've got a email reply from Concepts Programme saying that I'm not eligible to claim because i did not submit proof of purchase or invoice for the contract I bought. I don't remember receiving any invoice from LGM 5 yrs back. Now i'm trying to contact LGM at 6834 0217 stated in my contract 5 yrs ago but it has become invalid. Anybody has the updated contact number of LGM???? Hope to call them asap to find out how to get the invoice now!!

anybody out there have the same situation??

orangetulip

LGM/Concepts CASH BACK PROGRAMME

To add, I would have gone down to LGM if I can but I'm overseas now and won't be back till Sept 2010. By then it will be too late..

So anybody who knows anything abt the LGM's cash back or their updated contact number would be much appreciated.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.