Must read : Time Share Scam Awareness! Don't be the next victim!

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

ellylily

Timeshare

Hi, Wanted to know anyone been call by AX Holding Pte Ltd? Anyone knows abot this company? Please advice asap

Hi, received call from AX Holding, wanted to buy my GOLDCROWN Timeshare which was successfully terminated. Was told that the timeshare has value and wanted to meet me and appraise the timeshare.
Please advise...

ellylily

members, please take note, found this from dirrerent website,
Low
May 7, 2011 - 1:26 am
Hi Dickie,
No, this AX Holding company called us, well we also don’t know where the hell, they know ur no, before go to their office located at burlington square #01-75, They will send someone to yr place and meet up with you, telling you they need to do a valuation of your membership,than a took about 2weeks or longer to come back to you telling they want to buy over the membership. That is how we arrange to meet up last thursday, dis guy says our company is investment company. They want us to upfront a 23k inorder to tie down with the investment account in order for them to buy ur membership (this amount included the legal fee, transfer ur membership to them as a trustee, in order for them to rent, of cos he mention tt we must do a Power atternoy that is to protect our interest etc) The AX company is willing to offer us the amount to buy over our membership but this amount is tie with this investment act, they will oni pay u once the membership is being transfer, by end of of the process drag 3mth to 6mth, after that you close down your account and take a chq of yours 23k + the amount they offer you! Does it make sense or even to risky? i feel that if u really want to buy over my memebership u should upfront the cash and not me, course imagine that this membership as what he says with 1x of rental they have a huge profit, So y can they upfront the $$$, instead of us, as we are the victims, how to believe that!!!

http://www.timesharepages.com/world...r-group-warns-against-worldex-timeshare-firm/

lijun07

end of story is: never go to CASE, their inaction or even worse, dubious 'advice' only serves to harm you the scam victim more.

SCT looks like the tiger for Consumers now.
$10 fee is very affordable to recover the hundreds and thousands scammed off.

Does gg to SCT really work? even if we have signed to pay those fees to the company? we expressed to terminate within 1day of signing the papers...

Any advise on what to do next?

Kendoall

Received call from this Herold International, was trying to search for detail of anyone gone there but last i manage to find was someone recommend to go there but did not give detail ......can anyone share some light on this

Promusic

Received call from this Herold International, was trying to search for detail of anyone gone there but last i manage to find was someone recommend to go there but did not give detail ......can anyone share some light on this

Low here, i did received their called too on tuesday, a malay girl who called. Just ignore them. She said she is from investigation department of this Herold Internationl, if we wanna to terminate our membership by any 3rd party we must go through them. so ridiculous. If i'm not wrong their company also runing by the ang mo. Talk till the end, still want the $$$ from us. Cos i threw her back a question, if u don't earn $$$ where you get your pay , than she shut up!!! Just don't ever believed in them to fake liao...:s16:

crntbs

For those that haven't sign up for timeshare,
Any calls using attractive free gifts to bait you, ignore... it's a waste of time and there's no free lunch in this world.

For those folks who have just sign up,
you can terminate the contract within the 5days (or 7days, sorry couldn't remembered) cooling period irregardless what is stated in the contract. It is compulsory by sg law that they have to refund you as long as you terminate within the cooling period.

For those folks who have pass the cooling period,
If you really felt that you have been scammed, you could lodge thru SCT to get back the money as long as it doesn't exceed certain amt (think it's 10k If i'm not wrong).

For those folks who are holding on to your cert or whatsoever,
just utilize it to the fullest. Do not believe whatever crap from another company saying they'll help you get back your money or offer to takeover your membership.
Thumb of rule: never ever give up your original cert. If you want to go thru legal actions to get back your money, you will need the original cert.

For those folks who have given up your certs and have paid other companies offering to help you or take over your membership, WAKE UP!!!
Do not be blind by greed and be prepared that you will not be able to get back the money unless you're willing to go thru the hastle and stress.

Also, please be aware that not all timeshare companies are scams. You'll just have to do alot of research before signing up. Do not sign on the spot. Insist to take back the contract to read and make sure you understand the terms and clause in the contract before making the decision.

Kendoall

For those that haven't sign up for timeshare,
Any calls using attractive free gifts to bait you, ignore... it's a waste of time and there's no free lunch in this world.

For those folks who have just sign up,
you can terminate the contract within the 5days (or 7days, sorry couldn't remembered) cooling period irregardless what is stated in the contract. It is compulsory by sg law that they have to refund you as long as you terminate within the cooling period.

For those folks who have pass the cooling period,
If you really felt that you have been scammed, you could lodge thru SCT to get back the money as long as it doesn't exceed certain amt (think it's 10k If i'm not wrong).

For those folks who are holding on to your cert or whatsoever,
just utilize it to the fullest. Do not believe whatever crap from another company saying they'll help you get back your money or offer to takeover your membership.
Thumb of rule: never ever give up your original cert. If you want to go thru legal actions to get back your money, you will need the original cert.

For those folks who have given up your certs and have paid other companies offering to help you or take over your membership, WAKE UP!!!
Do not be blind by greed and be prepared that you will not be able to get back the money unless you're willing to go thru the hastle and stress.

Also, please be aware that not all timeshare companies are scams. You'll just have to do alot of research before signing up. Do not sign on the spot. Insist to take back the contract to read and make sure you understand the terms and clause in the contract before making the decision.

Can share more on SCT way, any experience ?

newlyhere2011

Many thanks to people here giving valuable advices, though a few years late for me.

I also took member with discovery8 many years ago and still paying now. I almost finished paying the huge sum of $$.

Frankly speaking, I feel stupid. I don't even know how to make use of whatever they were selling me even after I will be soon finish paying. Why did I even sign on in the first place?

I think I'm just the meek one who just want to settle all payment and just accept my foolishness and hope the nightmare is over.

Not too sure if anyone is like me.

After I made full payment, I won't be down for any more extra payment right?:(

That is my main concern and fear as I fear this nightmare will never end.:(

I really hope more people will not be like me and be so easily convinced and find it hard to say no. I learnt a valuable lesson. Although I still find it hard to reject people, I often just say no more firmly to no matter whatever call there is offering anything.

Please learn from me!

crntbs

Can share more on SCT way, any experience ?

not very sure... my friend went to CASE, and CASE gave her the form and advice her to submit to sub court for SCT. However, sub court rejected her case because the amount was too hugh. They advise her to go thru legal action... however, after seeking legal advise from the lawyers (you can get free legal advice from community centre.), they couldn't advice much as my friend has given her original cert to one of the companies. In the end, she has to forget abt getting back her 50k.

AllYourBase

Hi There, Thank you very much for all those timeshare scram sharing...
Did anyone go to Asian Fair Trade Advisory Group ? they call me for the passed 3 days asking me to make an appointment with them. I asked she are they belong to the scram group too. she said no ! and insisted I go and meet them.
I told her if I need them will call them dont need them to call me.
Can you share if you have meet up with them.

Thank you ! have a great day !:)

These are the same clowns running Ferguson Lang, Worldex, Colonial Strategies, Concord Developments, Realty Access, Boston Ventures, and several other scam companies. They are currently basing their operations in OCBC Centre #25-05. I wonder how OCBC can conveniently close their eyes to the fact that crooks operate blatantly out of their premises. It makes me think twice about using OCBC now. Anyone working in OCBC kind enough to alert their bosses?

Check out timesharepages dot com (I can't post links yet) and look for those referring to Worldex and Citycorp Media. They refer to these same people.

AX Holdings sounds suspiciously like the same type of operation. They set up a few legitimate companies as a cover but sell you all kinds of hot air and "forget" to advise you of your rights as a consumer while making you sign totally rubbish documents then use them to squeeze you for more money. They hate publicity because that means more people will be alert to their tricks, so go out there and give them their moment of fame. Over and over.

More people need to know about these con artists.

chex

D8

I also stupidly sign the agreement with D8, about 3yr plus ago. I made a deposit of 1k and made 2 monthly payments. After that I did not pay anymore.

The slimy thing D8 do is they just slip the notice to cancel paper into the envelope without even telling you. If you don't see it, you don't even know abt it. I only found out abt it after 1 yr when they chased me for payments and I search the forums. By then it's too late. Even a fellow forumer recommended a lawyer who deal with D8 cases said my chances of refund is low, cos they did give that paper. They thing is they did not inform me personally.

Another thing not consistent abt D8 is the use of their service. While some people here say they make bookings after they paid the deposit, I have to pay 50% before I can use. And it's pretty confusing. The activation of membership is actually activating the 10 free nights/yr for 10 yrs. But you can dun activate and just use the so call extra advantage which let you book a room for 3 nights at 120USD+booking fee. So why some people can use the service after they pay deposit??

For 2 yrs it has been silent...until recently they called again to chase payment. I told them i want to cancel and now still negotiating. Hope i can get out of this mess.

anka_83

Victim - needed advice

I have not many to talk with, would like to get advice from you all.

was call by elite network corp too, they promise to clear my timeshare.
I have promise anything yet.

Did anyone happens to clear a GSI timeshare?

Should I go SCT?

Any advise would be appreciated

anka_83 hotmail com

Kendoall

Just receved another call, from a company called Titan Asset Management 62261396, claimt that they are authorised by Holiday Plus to terminate membership here and get back your initial investment .....anyone heard of this and when down ?

Shanice78

I also stupidly sign the agreement with D8, about 3yr plus ago. I made a deposit of 1k and made 2 monthly payments. After that I did not pay anymore.

The slimy thing D8 do is they just slip the notice to cancel paper into the envelope without even telling you. If you don't see it, you don't even know abt it. I only found out abt it after 1 yr when they chased me for payments and I search the forums. By then it's too late. Even a fellow forumer recommended a lawyer who deal with D8 cases said my chances of refund is low, cos they did give that paper. They thing is they did not inform me personally.

Another thing not consistent abt D8 is the use of their service. While some people here say they make bookings after they paid the deposit, I have to pay 50% before I can use. And it's pretty confusing. The activation of membership is actually activating the 10 free nights/yr for 10 yrs. But you can dun activate and just use the so call extra advantage which let you book a room for 3 nights at 120USD+booking fee. So why some people can use the service after they pay deposit??

For 2 yrs it has been silent...until recently they called again to chase payment. I told them i want to cancel and now still negotiating. Hope i can get out of this mess.

hi there,

u jsut told them u wan to cancel the membership n they still ok to nego wth u on this issue?

me too buy frm discovery8 few yr back.. pay half the amount n wan to cancel the membership..

thking of gng to small claim to settle this issue. hope to gather a few group of ppl who got scram by discovery8 to go together as a group.

u can drop me an email hslim780 (@) hotmail.com

Shanice78

Many thanks to people here giving valuable advices, though a few years late for me.

I also took member with discovery8 many years ago and still paying now. I almost finished paying the huge sum of $$.

Frankly speaking, I feel stupid. I don't even know how to make use of whatever they were selling me even after I will be soon finish paying. Why did I even sign on in the first place?

I think I'm just the meek one who just want to settle all payment and just accept my foolishness and hope the nightmare is over.

Not too sure if anyone is like me.

After I made full payment, I won't be down for any more extra payment right?:(

That is my main concern and fear as I fear this nightmare will never end.:(

I really hope more people will not be like me and be so easily convinced and find it hard to say no. I learnt a valuable lesson. Although I still find it hard to reject people, I often just say no more firmly to no matter whatever call there is offering anything.

Please learn from me!

hi there,

u jsut told them u wan to cancel the membership n they still ok to nego wth u on this issue?

me too buy frm discovery8 few yr back.. pay half the amount n wan to cancel the membership..

thking of gng to small claim to settle this issue. hope to gather a few group of ppl who got scram by discovery8 to go together as a group.

u can drop me an email hslim780 (@) hotmail.com

ellylily

members, very interesting articles , must read !!

AllYourBaseAreBelongToUs
May 30, 2011 - 4:31 am

Citycorp Media, Realty Access, Boston Ventures, Concord Developments, ARTAG, Worldex, etc. David G Grimes (who identifies himself as “George”), another who identifies himself as “Mitch” and a bunch of other UK and local people are all one and the same. Currently operating in OCBC Centre #25-05.

They use all kinds of pressure tactics to get you to sign documents that are not what you agreed to. But because they know where your vulnerable point is they will keep pressing it and delaying you until you either give in or get pissed off and push your way out of all the “bouncers” they station at the door to stop you from leaving. Ethical? No. Professional? Definitely.

I checked up on them online and found surprisingly little information. All the listed websites required logins and passwords, which is nonsensical for a company trying so hard to sell itself and claiming to have hundreds of thousands of subscribers. I only found them when I Googled “Singapore holiday scam”.

I noticed on the web:
1. They change company names many times to avoid detection – all legally set up companies in Singapore (usually utilising their local employees signing up as Directors so that they can’t be traced).
2. Google searches on them lead to deadends, unless you know specifically that it is a scam or target search the names of the UK men.
3. Blogsites and third party sites suddenly suspend user accounts when the user reports them as scams (but sometimes you get to see the cached version if it was done recently). Probably someone threatening a defamation suit.
4. Some personal sites reporting their scams get mysteriously vandalised and taken down.

I consulted a very senior legal professional, and who took the trouble of reading through their documents in detail for me and here are some interesting points:
1. A lot of what they say during the presentation is not reflected in the documents.
2. The amount that you agree to pay as one sum for the purchase of one product is chopped up to be paid to several unrelated companies, making it harder for you to trace your money.
3. They set up agents to be agents of agents, who are agents of agents, etc. Essentially making it impossible for you to hold one person responsible, especially when they are overseas.
4. They word their terms very carefully, making sure they sound like what they promise you but actually meaning something else. Definitely the work of a lawyer, and not an honest one. E.g. they will verbally tell you that the agreement is governed by Singapore law. But what it actually says in the document is that they “respect” Singapore law but are under no obligation to submit to it.
5. They know they are legally obligated to explicitly inform you of the 5-day cooling off period but they hide it in a small paragraph stuck between a thick stack of useless information and make you sign a document that says you have read through the whole thing and understand and agree to it.
6. They know they have to refund your money within the 5-day cooling off period so they make you sign the deposit away as a “purchase” for some non-refundable deal that you didn’t want but they will tell you it’s the same thing but it isn’t at all.

After you ink the documents, all attempts to talk to them to get your money back will be useless. They will try to stall you until after the 5-day period is over. If you refer to anything that they claimed during the presentation, they will tell you that the only things that are binding are what you signed with them. In other words, “You are screwed”.

There are several ways you can try to get your money back:
1. File a police report
2. File a complaint at CASE
3. File a complaint to ACRA
4. File a complaint to their building landlord.
5. File a complaint to Singapore Immigration and Registration. These foreign talent give others a bad name.
6. Lodge your claim via Small Claims Tribunal
7. Engage a law firm and back it up with a lawsuit if you have to.
8. Go to their office during their presentations and let the people going in know what happened to you.

Options 1 to 5 are straightforward and add weight to your case but won’t get your money back. Option 6 seems attractive for most people and I hear of several people succeeding in getting their money back. Option 7 can be costly unless you have connections but if you show them that you are willing to cause them pain and let them become public knowledge, they will probably back down. Option 8 takes a special breed of personality but I also hear of people who manage to get their cash back on the spot. If they threaten to call the police, take out your police report and challenge them to call so that all the people there at the presentation can hear of what happened to you.

I recently heard of “AX Holdings” at Burlington Square. They always claim to be different but I doubt it when the telemarketer gets aggressive when you question their credentials.

It’s surprising that so many people in Singapore lose so much hard-earned cash and yet there is still so little information available on the web about these “professionals”.

If it’s too good to be true, it probably is.

http://www.timesharepages.com/world...arns-against-worldex-timeshare-firm/#comments

FreDeRicK

It’s surprising that so many people in Singapore lose so much hard-earned cash and yet there is still so little information available on the web about these “professionals”.

I guess most of us don't air our dirty linens in public. We all want to save face.. made a bad decision, keep quiet and lay low, no one will notice..

i_hate_liars

Just receved another call, from a company called Titan Asset Management 62261396, claimt that they are authorised by Holiday Plus to terminate membership here and get back your initial investment .....anyone heard of this and when down ?

I am new to this website and was searching online for Titan Asset Management when i came across this forum. I was told by Titan too that they will be able to terminate my Viva Le Concierge membership and recover back the investment. I am not sure if i should believe them so i would appreciate if anyone can advise me if they had managed to recover back any of the monies

For the information of all timeshares owners, i did an ACRA search on Titan Asset Management. They are a limited exempt private company which is just incorporated on 10 May 2011 with a paid up capital of $100.

On top of that the sole director of the company is actually the director of ELITE NETWORKs CORPORATION PTE LTD which is also another timeshare company located in Ngee Ann City. Hope the information helps for other time share owners

japelo

Im stucked with a GSI agreement also that I signed in 07.

I was called by elite networks too. anka_83, did you go down? I have not and I have my doubts of what they can do. SCAM I suspect.

For SCT, I read on the website if your claim is less than 10k and within a year since you signed the agreement, then you can try. Mine is a few year already, looks like I can forget about SCT.

I have tried defaulting on my payment as well, but end up getting a registered mail threatening me to pay up before they send me a legal letter. So I went back to my GIRO payment again.

Anyone have actually successfully get rid of their agreement? I don't care if I can get the money back or not. I just want to get rid of it.

Have anyone:
1) Default payment totally and nothing happens, even after those threats of legal letters.
2) Get SCT's help?
3) Get one of these so call timeshare buyers' help successfully without getting money cheated again.

Thanks very much.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.